Dillard's Cosmetics Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Dillard's Cosmetics Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
8%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Dillard's CEO Bill Dillard II
Bill Dillard II
10 Ratings
  1. "Dillards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You work hard for them and you will move up fast

    Cons

    Dillards is a little dated with how it does things

    Dillard's2017-04-14
  2. "Don’t Waste Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was $13 to start out - however you only get a raise once a year and if you switch departments, you then have to wait another year before you get the raise

    Cons

    Management, scheduling, high sales goals, little foot traffic, never a pat on the back, call in sick and expect to be wrote up or fired, micromanaged and high turn over rate

    Advice to Management

    Stop discriminating against people who have children, who aren’t white, who are limited availability, and actually do the background checks on people before you hire theif after theif!

    Dillard's2019-03-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Building relationships, pay for retail, training

    Cons

    Having to hit goals or possibly losing your job when there are several others fighting for a sale. And not much availablitily for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Lose the sales goal

    Dillard's2019-02-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Dillard's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay with commission

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, no room for advancement, management does not try to get to know employees, doesn’t help employees better themselves

    Dillard's2019-01-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cosmetics Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in McAllen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They paid very well and gave very good hours even though I was part time. They trained me very well.

    Cons

    The main downside is that the cosmetics section at Dillard's doesn't have as much traffic as it used to be. Stores like Ulta or Sephora, even the Impulse section at Macy's, put the Dillard's cosmetics section to shame. It is a very dated way of selling cosmetics in an evolving industry. Not only that, but the other associates who worked there for years and years seemed to hate their job and it reflected to clients....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the way you sell cosmetics. The industry is changing, keep up or go out of business.

    Dillard's2018-11-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Perks, Clueless managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice discounts Gratis for online product training Flexible hours

    Cons

    Snooty & clueless managers Catty employees

    Advice to Management

    Please get some managers who actually emphasize with their employees and knows how to respect and speak to their workers.

    Dillard's2018-07-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetic Sales Associate in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no real good reasons to work at Dillards. The pay isn't worth being miserable over. Time off is easy to be approved for, but not without them asking you to not take if even after it's been approved. Health benefits for full timers...super expensive. I'm not kidding, there is a downside to literally every 'pro' this company may have. The only good thing to ever come from this company would have to be the people...

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything. But I sure will go into specifics. MICROMANAGEMENT. But the most ineffective form of micromanagement I've ever seen. Sometimes it might be necessary. But Dillards as a whole is unnecessary so it makes sense. Sales quotas. Literally impossible to meet. And if you don't, you get a wage deduction. And if you keep not meeting your numbers, they'll fire you. You're just a number to this company. I've seen...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop. Just stop. Recognize that this company is failing. Unless you'd like to take a pay cut so the CEO can fund advertisement, I'd just stop. Quit. Find something else for less pay, you'll be happier and less stressed. I promise you.

    Dillard's2017-08-03
  8. "Good pay but upper management is unprofessional and does not follow through with their word."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and discount. Benefits decent and enjoyed working with some of the employees.

    Cons

    Very few weekends off and employees are back stabbers. Do not work in cosmetics. Management unprofessional, gossips about other employees to other employees in the department and not to be trusted.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to know what is going on in their stores and listen to employees and not just management.

    Dillard's2017-04-15
  9. "Save your soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There weren't too many pros to be honest. i was a bit desperate for a job so I disregarded the reviews, but really its better if you found another place to work.

    Cons

    Worst experience of my life- it really is a dying industry- the mall industry and it was very condescending and dis organized management.

    Dillard's2017-03-09
  10. "Pay was great, culture was horrible!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Glen Allen, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, 401k, commission, reasonable employee discount, hour lunch break. These things sound like a dream for a retail job, however....

    Cons

    Severely micromanaged, co-workers were very cutthroat, unrealistic sales goals, outdated policies and decor. People at my store would fight over sales. I understand the element of healthy competition amongst your peers but it would get ugly on a regular basis. The customers could sense that they were just just a number and they, as well as management, would encourage malice by messing with the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Catch up with the times and treat your employees and your customers like they are more than a number on the sales board; you might continue to exist.

    Dillard's2017-01-15
Found 29 reviews