Dillard's Reviews | Glassdoor

Dillard's Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4139 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Dillard's CEO Bill Dillard II
Bill Dillard II
1978 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It’s not a good job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dillard's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing at all don’t work there.

    Cons

    Everything. Working there is terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Close the store down.

    Dillard's2019-06-09
  2. "Steady Job, no personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fragrance Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job security and discounts and good place to learn customer service skills

    Cons

    Very Busy holidays, expect to work overtime

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding

    Dillard's2019-05-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great family owed company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Store Manager 

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time

      Pros

      Great family owed company to work for

      Cons

      Retail hours are always tough

      Dillard's2019-05-22
    • "Decent job with good pay, but very strict about credit solicitation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good starting wage with standardized review schedules and performance based raises. Managers were usually understanding of scheduling conflicts and could sometimes be very accommodating.

      Cons

      Managers were very strict about credit solicitation. Some frequently implied failing to meet credit application goals could result in termination. Some sales quotas were unrealistic, and managements understanding of such unrealistic expectations was typically lacking.

      Dillard's2019-05-24
    • "Ok Company to Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Representative 

        I worked at Dillard's part-time

        Pros

        Weekly pay Good pay for a entrance into the work field

        Cons

        Unrealistic sales goals Sales don’t count toward commission, must reach these unachievable goals in order to keep from getting fired

        Dillard's2019-06-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "False Promises"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Handbag Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Dillard's full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good pay, thats about it

        Cons

        Terrible company culture No flexibility for scheduling or vacation time No communication with management

        Advice to Management

        Care about your employees

        Dillard's2019-06-05
      • "Fun place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sale Associate in Charlotte, NC
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dillard's part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fun place to work, very good benefits

        Cons

        You have to strive really hard to meet a certain sales goal

        Dillard's2019-05-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Only as good as your numbers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Selling Business Manager 

        I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Associates are good people for the most part.

        Cons

        In my opinion, the position of selling business manager is one of the most difficult in the company because it's really two jobs at once.

        Dillard's2019-06-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Everything"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Beauty Advisor 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Pay time and a half , overtime , hour lunches , employee discount

        Cons

        No personal life vs work life balance

        Advice to Management

        Value the people that work hard and don’t criticize them the moment they get down

        Dillard's2019-05-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Dillards expects EVERYTHING!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The discount and Benefits are great

        Cons

        Some of the Management above you know nothing about how Dillards is run, I was told there is not a training process. When I transferred to a new region they had a company training standard and were surprised I hadn't been through it.

        Advice to Management

        Get it together

        Dillard's2019-05-20
      Found 4139 reviews