Dillard's Sales Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Dillard's Sales Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 258 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Dillard's CEO Bill Dillard II
Bill Dillard II
168 Ratings
  1. "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really loved working at Dillards we got great discounts and I had a great group of managers to work with

    Cons

    You have to be ambitious to work at Dillards

    Dillard's2018-08-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dillard's has far more opportunity to grow than other retail companies. You get what you put into it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is better than most other stores in the industry. Promotions are attainable. Someone who is coachable and flexible can go far.

    Cons

    Sales goals can be hard to reach, especially in commission based positions. Not necessarily a con but you must present yourself well and stay on trend.

    Advice to Management

    Pursue modern forms of advertising and community outreach.

    Dillard's2019-06-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Dillards expects EVERYTHING!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount and Benefits are great

    Cons

    Some of the Management above you know nothing about how Dillards is run, I was told there is not a training process. When I transferred to a new region they had a company training standard and were surprised I hadn't been through it.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together

    Dillard's2019-05-20
  4. "Don’t waste your time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employee discount would be the only beneficial thing about working here.

    Cons

    First of all, ZERO work life balance. Dillard’s will require you schedule your life around their needs. Many times requests are denied, couldn’t have two days off, even small little holidays would be blocked off, very excessive. Secondly, upper management and store management is terrible, truly does not value their employees or care to support them. So much discrimination, politics and favoritism involved. Very unprofessional...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house, start with your district managers and then store management, too many people who DON’T CARE. Value the employees and appreciate what they do!

    Dillard's2019-05-22
  5. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at Dillard's full-time

    Pros

    Loved the people, you become like family

    Cons

    not very much work-life balance

    Dillard's2019-04-15
  6. "Hello"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Manager 

      I worked at Dillard's full-time

      Pros

      Bonuses People Customer interaction and sales

      Cons

      Schedule Management Growth Company policies

      Dillard's2019-04-17
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Ability to exhibit creativity and leadership. Perfect environment if you are a motivator and encourager.

      Cons

      No bonus potential, Long hours during peak season. Very little work life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Recognize and acknowledge success along with opportunities.

      Dillard's2019-02-28
    • "BSM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Sales Manager 

      I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -great coworkers and great sales

      Cons

      -management is the worst. Constant turnover.

      Dillard's2019-03-05
    • Helpful (3)

      "Overworked, underappreciated, but nice discount"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Manager in Overland Park, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -amazing discount in the store. Hardly an exclusions and your discount was good on sale too -Can be a fun work environment based on your associates and area (and if you are doing well) -not a desk job

      Cons

      -horrible corporate upper management that trickles down to store level -chastised & embarrassed if your sales are doing poorly -little direction or help to turn around sales from store manager (could be personal experience) -no training program

      Advice to Management

      -don't let good employees go because they aren't hitting sales numbers from previous years. Especially when previous sales managers were using "cheats" and unhonest practices to maintain those sales numbers. Try new approaches.

      Dillard's2019-01-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "RUN! DO NOT WORK HERE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The only pro is a paycheck once a week

      Cons

      There is ZERO work life balance, they will disrespect you left and right. Your days off will constantly be changed, working 10-12 days in a row is the norm. If you call out upper management will give you dirty looks and make you feel guilty so people show up to work sick and they don't care. I got threatened with termination and written up because I missed work on a day we had a corporate visit even though I was in the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees better, like you actually care about them. We have personal lives, too. Your "mission statement" is "the best customer care anywhere" and nothing the company does backs that up. DO NOT OVERWORK YOUR STAFF, I can't even believe I have to say this but: MORE HOURS WORKED DOES NOT EQUAL PRODUCTIVITY, i'll say it again...MORE HOURS WORKED DOES NOT EQUAL PRODUCTIVITY. Working your managers and associates...

      Show More
      Dillard's2019-03-06
    Found 258 reviews