Dillard's "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dillard's Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4133 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Dillard's CEO Bill Dillard II
Bill Dillard II
1971 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great push from management to do your best(in 396 reviews)

  • "Lots of good stuff to offer for customer and I love the employee discount as well(in 385 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customers are rude, there are wild sales goals you have to meet or else your pay is cut(in 525 reviews)

  • "Conflicts between coworkers regarding sales quota(in 265 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A hard working sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Benefits, Paid Every Week, Employee Discount Bundles with Sales

    Cons

    No merchandising crew, Expected to meet sales goals on top of tasks, customers wait for end of the month sales, low customer traffic

    Dillard's2019-05-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not enough pay or help for expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Fitter in Columbus, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    if you are able to get full time the benefits are decent, the employee discount is really amazing with 40% off most anything.

    Cons

    hours are not flexible due to skeleton staffing, if you work in specilty areas such as lingerie they expect you to spend time at home and off the clock preparing and coordernating events for the store even when you are not management and are paid their base hourly rate, they hold you to high sales goals that create friction and animosty between coworkers

    Advice to Management

    dont require non management level employees to be off floor coordiating events while holding them responsible for sales goals. hire enough to have proper store coverage.

    Dillard's2019-05-09
  3. "I really love working specially the store offers a lot of designer stuff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cactus, AZ

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of good stuff to offer for customer and I love the employee discount as well.

      Cons

      Just works hours can't pick time for schedule.

      Advice to Management

      Environment is fairly toxic,this is the result of incentives that are only individual base not team base, if they have goals for a team that would increase team work and collaboration.

      Dillard's2019-04-19
    • "Sales Quota"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Tampa, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Schedule, employee discounts and perks

      Cons

      Sales quota, schedule, physically demanding

      Dillard's2019-05-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Dillard's part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The pay is decent for retail. They hire people without experience and really do promote and reward good salesmanship and relationship building. The basically unlimited 25% discount is pretty great and so are the extra employee discounts of 25% + 20%. It would be nicer if the employees were not required to apply for a credit card to access the discount though.

      Cons

      Pay is no longer much higher than other stores, upper management has put some bad scheduling policies in place. By the time I left, management had gotten too demanding of part-timers. There was a policy that part time employees could NEVER have a weekend off (when I started we would get a full weekend off about every 6-8 weeks, unless we preferred to work weekends) and that part timers HAD to work 5 shifts, while...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Allow store and department management more flexibility with their scheduling as it was in 2014 and 2015. At the time I left, my department manager was trying to get me to stay but I couldn’t stand the ridiculous scheduling policy changes. Also update the Clientele @ Dillard’s system — it’s extremely clunky and hard to use — or allow/encourage sales associates to keep their customers’ information on their cell phones...

      Show More
      Dillard's2019-04-13
    • "Nice work environment, and great co workers."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Jewelry Sales Associate in Monroe, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee discount, first look at new merchandise, can advance if your sales are steady or aggressive,, most of my co workers were really great to work with, if you are helpful and friendly you will have repeat customers who will specifically ask for you, or ask that their purchase goes toward your sales if your at lunch or gone for the day, ( if you have talked or helped them earlier that day, don’t know if that still...

      Show More

      Cons

      Worked many long weekends, sales can be very competitive (as in co worker taking your sale/customer before you get a chance to finish helping them), was called in many times on my day off due to scheduling conflict or co workers calling in sick, standing the whole time.

      Advice to Management

      Don’t let other employees consciously steal their co workers sales, I understand it’s business and the goal is to earn for the store and department, but it can get pretty cut throat depending on who your working with. Try to be fair and flexible when scheduling employee’s work on the weekends, hours, and work time as in day or night hours. If a situation arises or employee has to take another job due to driving long...

      Show More
      Dillard's2019-04-05
    • "Not a bad company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Dillard's full-time

        Pros

        Great employee discount on pretty much everything in the store

        Cons

        Schedule had not flexibility / only one day off out of the week sometimes

        Dillard's2019-03-26
      • "Okay for getting into sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Dillard's

          Pros

          Great employee discount They pay very well The manager mostly know everyone by name not just the employees in the department they manage

          Cons

          Sales Goals raised during busy season but not lowered during slow season Its very hard to move to different departments

          Dillard's2019-03-18
        • "okay place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Selling Specialist in Houston, TX
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good employee discount and opportunity for career growth within the company.

          Cons

          Like most retail jobs, you are required to work long holiday hours and weekends.

          Dillard's2019-03-12
        • "Stay far far Away from Dillard's."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Men's Sales Associate in Collierville, TN
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Dillard's part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Above average pay per hour. Descent employee discount.

          Cons

          If the 2008 to 2018 "247WallStreet" Annual Surveys done for Glassdoor where Dillard's is included each year as one of the worst companies in the country to work for, say it all. Forget about being an extremely productive individual with nearly 10 years experience as a buyer for a much bigger competitor if you don't meet your Sales Quotas, you could? either get a cut in hourly pay or fired.

          Advice to Management

          From 2008 til 2018, the same summary of why one of the Worse Companies is all always the same, Sales Quotas. Plus making sales floor associates not only put out shipments; but also merchandise it; and than carry out all the countless markdowns from season to season, a major change in the Corporate culture is needed.

          Dillard's2019-04-16
        Found 4133 reviews