Dimensional Fund Advisors Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Dimensional Fund Advisors Associate Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
David G. Booth
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "CEO's and COO need to clean up the I.T. department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package and awesome rank and file employees. Great fringe benefits only because the morale within the firm is extremely low. The firm's extracurricular activities are needed in order to retain what top talent they have left.

    Cons

    Management, management, management. As with any newly hired I.T. VP, first thing they want to do is clean house of all the old timers and bring in their own people. No need to keep and retain employees who actually have the skills and know-how to keep a large global infrastructure running like a well cared for machine. Forget about learning the business, understanding all the system dependencies or identifying department...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Executive management needs to eradicate current Sr I.T. managers. Hire new management that actually have leadership skills, who can provide guidance, and can motivate a demoralized department. DFA needs to do away with the self-serving I.T. managers and get the department back on its feet again.

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2013-08-13
  2. Helpful (12)

    "The IT department needs a makeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful facility, good compensation. Great for financial types.

    Cons

    This company can't keep IT staff. The turnover rate in IT is beyond bad. The infrastructure team has about 30 positions and over 50% of them have quit in the past 12 months. Any project IT tries to do is over complicated and the individual contributors can't do their job because management makes all the decisions. Usually very poor ones at that. There are many things wrong with the IT department. Here's just a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The IT department needs to trim down on the number of managers. Get rid of the terrible middle managers or you will continue to lose talent. Let the individual contributors do the job they are paid to do. Fix the issues or there will be no more IT department in the future.

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2013-08-15
  3. "Good entry-level Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors

    Pros

    Great entry level position Got a good idea for finance as a whole

    Cons

    Dogmatic about the philosophy (it's not a bad one), but I would hesitate to tell anyone that I explore active investing as well

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2012-02-27
  4. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance and nice people

    Cons

    Lack of independence of Uk office

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-03-31
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Travesty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time

    Pros

    I can't think of any

    Cons

    Management are arrogant and ignore and exclude the majority of staff. Its a them and us situation. There is no career progression to speak of. DFA is a sick cult. It even has a network of Freemasons who promote each other. My advice would be don't touch it with a barge pole.

    Advice to Management

    Advice? How can you give advice to a company which actively employs Freemasons?

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2017-06-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Poor progression opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors

    Pros

    Good sales story for financial advisors Fun colleagues Clever people to be working with in all departments of the offices

    Cons

    Progression opportunity very limited unless you have been at company for long time and they like you a lot Management is weak and not interested in developing people

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2016-06-26
  7. "It is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors

    Pros

    Access to the greatest finance minds in the world!

    Cons

    Technology lags behind light years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that are in the trenches.

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2012-05-17
  8. Helpful (21)

    "If you enjoy being in an academic institution that has its roots deeply embedded in Chicago University fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors

    Pros

    One of the few companies that will still give a lunch allowance in Mayfair, fairly attractive pay for new associates, academic approach to investing that is rooted in Nobel prize winning financial theory, investment performance is a non-issue given the nature of its investment philosophy.

    Cons

    Little prospect for growth for analysts and associates, poor management in place due to the homogenous backgrounds of senior management, very pro-chicago university oriented. Not particularly in culture, and very conservative. Dont expect to get what you see. Being a model-based fund, work is mostly operational. Legacy systems are archaic and inefficient. Still has a long way to go to develop its infrastucture.

    Advice to Management

    Favouritism to Chicago U graduates can be disincentivising. Empower your junior staff, or don't expect any of them to remain when the economy rebounds.

    Dimensional Fund Advisors2009-09-10
Found 28 reviews