Dimensional Fund Advisors Reviews | Glassdoor

Dimensional Fund Advisors Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
David G. Booth
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difficult to get recognition if you don't sit in Austin(in 13 reviews)

  • "DFA is in the process of merging their institutional sales and financial advisor teams(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Coordinator 

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time

    Pros

    Awesome company, founders, board of directors and ethos

    Cons

    Some management can use additional training

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-07-30
  2. "Great company with a solid future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Automation Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great

    Cons

    Not much room for growth on the technical side

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-07-23
  3. Helpful (8)

    "This place could be a lot better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The food and the 401k benefits.

    Cons

    Each department is different so I can't speak for everyone or every department, but I can say that many people throughout the company had the same complaints or concerns. The Legal Dept. is toxic in the sense that they stunt your growth in your career and have a hierarchy in place that you learn about very early on. Moving on to my new job has made me realize just how much DFA and the Legal Department crippled my growth. Everything (no matter how small - obtaining a headset, for example) had to go through a ludicrous approval process. I had been in my field for 8 years when I first joined DFA and I was not allowed much freedom in my job or given the responsibilities that I requested many times. There was very little freedom to do much of anything: dress code is business only, even though we were provided laptops we were not allowed to take those to another location in the building to work in peace which was sometimes necessary since they created the open seating, no flexibility in your work schedule, no ability to work from home, etc. Many of the current managers are only managers due to seniority and not talent or ability to manage. There was a serious lack of communication throughout the Legal Department which created hostility and lowered the moral. In my short time working there, ten people had quit from the Legal Department and I have heard that a few more are actively looking right now. They do try to get you to stay by stating that the pay cannot be beat, but I have managed to find a few other positions in my field offering $10k+ more than DFA.

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-07-18
  4. "A different investment manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dedicated client base. Solid investment philosophy. Not an asset gatherer for the sake of it.

    Cons

    Communication around medium and longer term strategy can be improved.

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-07-05
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Toxic work environement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    unlimited bottled water and soft drink, nice looking office and surrounding gardens, great career potential if you can get toxic middle management onside

    Cons

    The company misleads new employees during the interview process, and the culture of toxic middle management still exists even though the CEOs are making an attempt to combat it. There is a double standard when it comes to promotions and recognition for work, definitely not based on merit but rather how well you suck up to before said toxic middle management.

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-06-06
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Dead in the Heart Update"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time

    Pros

    They spend a week each year - Dimensional Week - genuinely trying to get the whole organization excited about the mission of the firm. Lots of updates on what the firm is doing, etc. They do these small group dinners, hosted by senior execs, which are pretty cool. It's all about doing what's right for the customer.

    Cons

    They conclude this otherwise cool week with a presentation where the chairman comments on how much overhead is spent on the week and the Co-CEO telling the team if you don't double down and sell more than 125% of what you've done in the last two quarters everyones' firm based comp will be cut by about 15-20%. Remind me not to invite them to my 40th birthday party because at the end they will say "happy birthday! but get ready to die!" and poke me with a fork. Par for the course with a firm that has some positives, knows how to execute a trade, and has no clue how to manage people.

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Headed in the wrong direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The office space is beautiful.

    Cons

    The company is more concerned about margins than it is in investing in its people and the future success of the firm. Decisions take months at times, and oftentimes are never made. While the company culture is good, it has diminished over the years and is no longer enough to keep employees. It's a shame to watch a company held in such high regard slowly crumble.

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-04-26
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Don’t work here!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’m honestly shocked at how many positive reviews there are. They have to be fake ... The only positives are superficial things like they have good food in the cafeteria and the building is nice (though you’ll have to see it every day, since you’re not ever allowed to work from home). It’s a great place to work if you’re a white male though! They seem to love those!

    Cons

    No focus on career development. No focus on diversity or inclusion. Strongly against working remotely.

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-03-31
  9. "Fantastic work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor Services Associate Inter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dimensional Fund Advisors for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great people to work with -Above average pay for interns in industry -Growth opportunities for individuals

    Cons

    -Times where work load vary extremely -Final projects are randomly assigned

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-02-23
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dimensional Fund Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Filled with intelligent and knowledgeable people

    Cons

    None that I have yet to report

    Continue reading
    Dimensional Fund Advisors2019-02-19
Found 192 reviews