Direct Line Group Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Direct Line Group Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
7 Ratings
  1. "Good bunch of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    not adequately lined up to the business

    Cons

    too little tech knowledge at the heart of things, too much politics

    Advice to Management

    sack some middle management and advance technicians

    Direct Line Group2019-10-16
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Great Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of friendly and talented people

    Cons

    A little bureaucratic and difficult to get things done

    Advice to Management

    Empower more

    Direct Line Group2019-10-08

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Fab little review. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts! :)

  3. "4 weeks in, and so far, so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, working from home, relaxed dress code, paid 18th of the month.

    Cons

    IT system a bit slow on occasion, but this will be fixed as part of IT Transformation program of work.

    Advice to Management

    Nice touch with the on-boarding text from CEO, new employee gift, and welcome event.

    Direct Line Group2019-09-04

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thanks for your review, great that you're enjoying your new role at DLG! We are constantly working to make improvements to our systems so be assured that these will get better. All the best in your career here at DLG :)

  4. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, relaxed, friendly staff.

    Cons

    Risk Adverse, takes a lot of effort to make a change

    Direct Line Group2019-09-13
  5. "Great company that provides opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People, positive & supportive management culture.

    Cons

    Silo working still evident in some business areas. Upcoming changes planned should help with this.

    Advice to Management

    Clear & transparent talent management programme needed.

    Direct Line Group2019-08-14

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 24, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for your lovely review :)

  6. "A company that cares about people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of good opportunities to grow and show your worth. Lots of very knowledgeable people who take their job seriously. Very good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Infrastructure of the Bromley building is very poor.

    Direct Line Group2019-08-14

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 24, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for your review and that you enjoy working here. :)

  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer centric organisation Competitive reward package Lots of opportunity to make a difference A rapidly changing environment

    Cons

    None but people who don't like working with ambiguity or change may not enjoy themselves

    Direct Line Group2019-08-07

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for such a great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you love about DLG.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Outdated methods and poor management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Bromley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits aren’t bad, company overall has a nice community feel to it.

    Cons

    Outdated practices and lack of true innovation. CEO doesn’t inspire confidence. SLT is very cliquey, and even managers are unable to obtain an audience. Poor people management, both micromanaging and disengaged, very political. Senior managers often take credit for their staff’s work without giving credit to the original person/team. Frustration is a key theme due to lack of delivery. Systems are awful and there are... few decent processes/controls.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. You hire us because we are experts, yet you prefer to ignore our suggestions. Focus on the new systems is far too heavy, and not solving the issues.

    Direct Line Group2019-09-10

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 24, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, thank you for leaving your review and for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you have not had a great experience and will pass your feedback on to the team. Thank you and all the best

  9. "Fantastic Company | Fantastic People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Great location Flexible working Agile WoW

    Cons

    DLG Salary < Central London Salary

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Direct Line Group2019-07-10
  10. "Currently work at DLG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Chilled.

    Cons

    Compensation is relatively poor. Old school company and very British.

    Advice to Management

    Be more efficient and pay the smart people better.

    Direct Line Group2019-07-22

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you're able to strike the right work life balance at DLG - we really value your wellbeing.

Found 48 reviews