Direct Line Group Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Direct Line Group Manager Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Outdated methods and poor management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Bromley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits aren’t bad, company overall has a nice community feel to it.

    Cons

    Outdated practices and lack of true innovation. CEO doesn’t inspire confidence. SLT is very cliquey, and even managers are unable to obtain an audience. Poor people management, both micromanaging and disengaged, very political. Senior managers often take credit for their staff’s work without giving credit to the original person/team. Frustration is a key theme due to lack of delivery. Systems are awful and there are... few decent processes/controls.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. You hire us because we are experts, yet you prefer to ignore our suggestions. Focus on the new systems is far too heavy, and not solving the issues.

    Direct Line Group2019-09-10
  2. "Fantastic Company | Fantastic People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Great location Flexible working Agile WoW

    Cons

    DLG Salary < Central London Salary

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Direct Line Group2019-07-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Currently work at DLG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Chilled.

    Cons

    Compensation is relatively poor. Old school company and very British.

    Advice to Management

    Be more efficient and pay the smart people better.

    Direct Line Group2019-07-22
  5. "Great career development and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family. Career training and development within company and externally. Inclusive company with down to earth employees who are all experts in their field, who are very collaborative. Benefit of working within our award winning PR and Marketing teams.

    Cons

    Our IT systems need upgrading.

    Direct Line Group2019-04-17
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, plenty of challenge, customer focused culture

    Cons

    Can be a bit bureaucratic - hangover from the RBS days

    Direct Line Group2019-04-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Half price car insurance

    Cons

    Shocking company to work for. Managers are not supportive in the slightest. No support with issues outside of work that maybe effecting you! The office and the job makes you depressed

    Advice to Management

    Need sacking

    Direct Line Group2019-03-05
  8. "Strategy Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, pension is good

    Cons

    Lots of office politics, so many suck-ups in this organization

    Direct Line Group2019-02-12
  9. "DLG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The culture at direct line group is amazing, you can feel such a great atmosphere as soon as you enter the building. Every staff member is valued and appreciated and it is such a strong, solid working unit where opportunities are endless and everyone works together and strives to achieve and be the best they can be. Great career and progression opportunities where you can really plan out and live your future.

    Cons

    Canteen could be open longer

    Direct Line Group2019-01-15
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Procurement Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, people and general place to work.

    Cons

    I have no negative comments about Directline - was simply time for a new challenge for me.

    Advice to Management

    Look internally before going external for senior positions, there are great people there who are passionate about the business.

    Direct Line Group2019-01-11
  11. "Very friendly, everyone cares about each other. Supportive culture. Progression is continuous if you work for it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture Support Personal growth Recognition

    Cons

    More flexible working patterns and hours

    Direct Line Group2019-01-03
Found 51 reviews