Direct Line Group Sales Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Direct Line Group Sales Consultant Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Sales Consultant 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent hours, relatively easy to hit targets

    Cons

    New starters given the same pay as experienced staff

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2019-07-10
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work great benefits

    Cons

    I can’t find any cons

    Direct Line Group2019-06-25

    Direct Line Group Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you so much for your review and for the great work over your 10 years at DLG!

    Continue reading
  3. "Fantastic Place to work! highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Sales Consultant in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff are truly valued as individuals. Support network is fantastic Atmosphere is great Wages are reviewed periodically, and are at a good standard Career progression is encouraged and nurtured Management, Sr Management and Senior staff are all approachable and friendly, and treat everyone with respect. Regular training refreshers keep staff up to date with company changes Company values customers and staff. Customer journey and business is appreciated, valued and not taken for granted or exploited. Staff benefits are excellent, even for new starters within probation period.

    Cons

    Can honestly not think of any Cons.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2019-04-29

    Direct Line Group Response

    May 20, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Isn't this lovely! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us now what you think makes DLG a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  4. "How it's been going : )"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined DLG in March 2018 - coming up to my Year Anniversary! :D Since I started I have had so many wonderful days here! Too many to mention - some of my favourite days have been around the Christmas period - we had carol-er's :D DLG have given me really good incentives to become the best person I can be here - having welfare chats and ongoing training and support since I started. I do really feel I have become part of a lovely little family- my team have become some of my best friends. My Team Leader is also really supportive and helps me through some tough day. I would recommend joining us here - you will not regret it!

    Cons

    The job role can sometimes be challenging - but there is always help to hand to put me on the right track and reassure me that I can achieve anything.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2019-02-01

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 6, 2019Specialist Recruitment Consultant / Recruitment Marketing

    Happy (almost!) anniversary!! Thank you so much for this amazing review, it's wonderful to hear just how happy all of our colleagues are, and how supportive the team around you are! Hope to see you celebrate many more work anniversaries here! :)

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Sales Consultant in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At DLG, despite the size of company, the open door policy makes all employees feel like they belong. As as consultant, I have just as much access to my direct line manager and his manager and the centre manager as the next person. Because of this, I have never felt the need to put any issues past my direct line manager who is my Team Leader. The business is very customer focused and we are supported to ensure that our customers receive the best service possible. We the staff are not ignored either. We are supported both at work and on a personal level and I personally have never felt that I cannot go to my line manager with any issues, work or otherwise. Make no mistake, the expected standard is really really high and you have to put in the hard work, this is a fair expectation in my opinion and the rewards are fair as well. If you put your heart into your work and do what is expected of you, you will find this a really great place to work. This is coming from someone who has absolutely no background in working at call centres!! The training is thorough and the support is constant. I am generally happy here. I am confident that as long as I do what is expected of me, I have job security.

    Cons

    It is a challenging role, but what isn't? The nature of the job means that you will have many ups and downs. On a personal note, there is nothing out of the ordinary that I would consider a con working here. It is just the normal challenges that come with the role I have.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2019-01-31

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 6, 2019Specialist Recruitment Consultant / Recruitment Marketing

    The reason we can offer the incredible customer service we do, is all because of our amazing colleagues like you! We love to support each other and we're so glad to hear you're having a great time with us :)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good pay good benefits

    Cons

    Awful shifts Very little chance for progression

    Direct Line Group2019-01-03
  7. "Pay good but Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Competitive salary with good bonus 2. Good team culture 3. Some supportive management

    Cons

    1. Long shifts, 8.5-9 hour days, when most of this spent on the phone 1 day can feel like a year. 2. Team leaders are all best mates and most have this idea that they are the best human beings to walk the Earth. They seem to forget they are on the bottom rung of management in a call centre. 3. The worst thing is the clicky/ high school like nature of the building I work in. There are a lot of young people and if you’re not wearing the best clothes or in with the “coolest” people you’re on the outer ring a of the staff.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2018-12-27

    Direct Line Group Response

    January 14, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We will pass your comments over to the relevant teams and want to thank you again.

    Continue reading
  8. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    having worked her for a year and not worked in a call centre before or done sales this was something very challenging. the people are friendly and approachable making it a happy place to work. excellent benefits and bonuses along with an good salary !

    Cons

    at very busy times you are under more pressure and feel like you don't have time to catch a breath, sometime it is difficult to get short notice time off and you cant always book holidays you want. hot desking is something most of us don't like to do, but maybe in the future this will change .

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2018-12-06
  9. "Worst company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay is half decent

    Cons

    No progression, unachievable targets, limited to 4 minutes a day to use the toilet/get a drink, managers have clear favourites, one rule for one and one for another, managers backstab all staff including other managers....the list is endless.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-11-23

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 27, 2017Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    We’re sorry to see that you have not had a positive experience with Direct Line Group. We would like to thank you for your feedback and we will pass your review on to HR colleagues.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Direct Line Group part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Casual dress Slightly better pay than similar roles

    Cons

    High turnover Experienced staff leaving as not being looked after Can be 300+ calls waiting It's a 'if your face fits' culture Micromanaging 30+ targets to manage if cross trained Part time staff are seen as 'odd ends' and not managed properly

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-05-22

    Direct Line Group Response

    May 23, 2017Recruitment Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you’ve not had a positive experience with us. We take all feedback on board and we will pass this onto our HR colleagues.

    Continue reading
Found 23 reviews