Direct Line Group "dlg" Reviews | Glassdoor

Direct Line Group Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance Friendly atmosphere/environment Motivated teams with great work ethic Everyone is so helpful and lovely Exciting events and fun prizes/games on a daily basis throughout the company 100% recommend being a part of DLG Company contributes to the environment by volunteering and completing 1 day events (bag packing, gardening etc.)

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now

    Direct Line Group2018-12-05
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Proactive, Diverse and Supportive Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team Leader in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking business with a passion to make things much easier for our people and our customers. With great benefits, career progression, compensation and a wonderful atmosphere where hierarchy isn't the be all and end all but is inclusive DLG is hands down the best employer I've ever had the pleasure to work for.

    Cons

    I really enjoy working here but if I'm being picky there are certain repetitive tasks that are expected in the role.

    Advice to Management

    Management really embrace people for who they are, they are supportive coaches and inspiring leaders who take the time to learn their role to help their teams be the best they can be.

    Direct Line Group2018-12-03
  3. Helpful (8)

    "16 years and still going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture which enables employees to perform their best.

    Cons

    I have non for DLG.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going. Continue to invest in your people and we will pay it back in loyalty and ultimately value.

    Direct Line Group2018-11-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Support Deak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Work/Life balance Friendly Atmosphere and welcoming environment Motivated Teams with great work ethic Everyone is so helpful and lovely Exciting events and fun prizes/games on a daily basis throughout the company 100% recommend being a part of DLG

    Cons

    No cons - can't think of any

    Direct Line Group2018-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    The best thing about DLG is definitely the culture, especially as it is such a a big company it is refreshing to have an environment where you always feel welcome and everyone supports each other.

    Cons

    The systems used could be better/ faster

    Direct Line Group2018-12-10
  6. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great people that really care and want to make a difference, the buzz you feel when you walk in on a morning or go home on an evening is fantastic. The people make this company a great place to work

    Cons

    Technology is the biggest concerns but finally we are just about to launch the systems that will support the mission that dlg want to achieve

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the people they come up with some fantastic ideas to make it a better place for everyone

    Direct Line Group2018-12-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Customer service advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Really good management and flexible company to work for with major working benefits.

    Cons

    There isn’t any cons at dlg

    Direct Line Group2018-11-11
  8. "Too good to be true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some work technicalities if you are in insurance business

    Cons

    Too many positive reviews mostly articulate and well chosen words ... Too good to be true - It must be your last resort to work ! In my office I have seen it all - bullying, harassment, some degree of racism . The Manager got promoted out of no where after used to be normal customer guy !?suddenly to be in charge of over 100 employees that's a challenge . So many good competent colleagues driven out and as many other colleagues mentioned in their reviews, lack of professionalism and ethics is a major problem in DLG and this affects employees and customers .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of trying to influence some reviews and almost cut & paste your broken clichés of great office etc etc try to make some real changes in your manners and management . Nevertheless, good managers attracts good employees and vice versa.

    Direct Line Group2018-12-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great dynamic and innovative FTSE 100 Insurance Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interview process has changed in recent years, I joined the company 2011. Company management is forward thinking, good working environment, teamwork and the business tends to celebrate success in many ways. Multi brand and multi channel insurance group You can also get support for further studies etc. I would recommend DLG

    Cons

    career opportunities in certain segments were limited during my time, it may well have improved now.

    Advice to Management

    invest more in people and have more engagements to enable committed and driven individuals with proven success to progress within the Group

    Direct Line Group2018-10-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist Recruitment Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The culture - you’re able to come into work in casual clothes, there are many different platforms to put forward ideas and give feedback, DLG live by their values, the leadership team are all approachable and look after their employees. Benefits - extra 9% pension contribution on top of your base salary. 50% off car, home and pet insurance and free travel insurance and breakdown cover.

    Cons

    I have worked here for 10 years and it just keeps getting better and better. Honestly struggling to think of any cons!

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the journey we are on. We are constantly evolving and living up to being a market leader whilst keeping our customers and employees at the heart of everything.

    Direct Line Group2018-10-18
Found 52 reviews