Direct Line Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Direct Line Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 16 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family(in 51 reviews)

  • "Really good company with a lot of room for progression with really good benefits(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bromley is a bit tough to get to(in 23 reviews)

  • "DLG Salary < Central London Salary(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A company that cares about people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of good opportunities to grow and show your worth. Lots of very knowledgeable people who take their job seriously. Very good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Infrastructure of the Bromley building is very poor.

    Direct Line Group2019-08-14

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 24, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for your review and that you enjoy working here. :)

  2. "Great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, not what you would expect for an insurance company! Plenty of career development opportunities. Flexibility to ensure you can fit in the important things in your life, along with a great work life balance The People you work with, there really are great teams of people you work with here, that make coming to work enjoyable. Wellbeing

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Direct Line Group2019-07-16

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for such a fantastic review!

  3. "Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Business Partner in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great people,

    Cons

    i really could not say anything bad about working here

    Direct Line Group2019-07-08

    Direct Line Group Response

    July 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thanks for such a great review! It's so nice to hear that you have a great team around you. The people really are what makes DLG such a fantastic place to work.

  4. "Currently work at DLG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Chilled.

    Cons

    Compensation is relatively poor. Old school company and very British.

    Advice to Management

    Be more efficient and pay the smart people better.

    Direct Line Group2019-07-22

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you're able to strike the right work life balance at DLG - we really value your wellbeing.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Go somewhere else if you want your salary to keep up with inflation and your effort recognised, not your brown nose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DL4B and Personal Lines in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible working and good work/life balance. - Good company values, shame you won't go far if you happen to follow them.

    Cons

    - It used to be a good place to work until a senior hiring was made in DL4B marketing department, now it's all run by nepotism and favoritism. - Personal Lines is no different, when a position opens it will be given to a friend, with internal candidates ignored without the chance of an interview. - Extremely rigid structure with lots of politics involved. - Totally averse to change despite all they say. Changing... something costs so much effort and time that it's not worth it. - No career progression and salaries are dictated by a very rigid old fashion HR system not in touch with the market, which means that you may work extremely hard one year and they will tell you that your salary increase will be 0.05% because you are already being paid the correct amount according to how they benchmarked the position some time 10 years ago... So you will effectively lose purchasing power since salaries won't keep up with inflation. - Always running behind targets which are set up unrealistically high and without considering that the products don't keep up with the competition so everyone will be stressed out but there will not be much they can actually do and colleagues will be laid off because it's the easiest thing to do

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get new management.

    Direct Line Group2019-06-24

    Direct Line Group Response

    July 3, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for sharing such an honest review. We’d like to think that our people can speak to their managers to resolve any issues or frustrations they might have at work. However, if you feel that you’re unable to do this we’d encourage you to get in touch with the HR team.

  6. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Good people, friendly environment, good work-life balance

    Cons

    IT could improve but I guess that is the same for any big/long established company.

    Direct Line Group2019-06-02

    Direct Line Group Response

    June 24, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your review :) the fantastic working and environment is all thanks to our people!

  7. "Great career development and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family. Career training and development within company and externally. Inclusive company with down to earth employees who are all experts in their field, who are very collaborative. Benefit of working within our award winning PR and Marketing teams.

    Cons

    Our IT systems need upgrading.

    Direct Line Group2019-04-17

    Direct Line Group Response

    May 20, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for such a great review. We're really proud of our My Life policy and it's fantastic to hear that you and your family are benefitting from it. You're right, we really do have the best people working here! You'll be pleased to hear we're constantly looking to make improvements to our systems and servers to make sure our people have the tools they need to continue to deliver amazing work.

    Show Less
  8. "Great company but needs to pay better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and people. Great opportunities, work life balance, flexible, diverse, get to wear own clothes.

    Cons

    The pay is less than other London companies and this has left slit of employees disgruntled. Some managers have poor people management but the company is trying to change this.

    Advice to Management

    Review the pay as otherwise this will drive staff away. It has caused lots of people to leave the company already.

    Direct Line Group2019-02-04

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 6, 2019Specialist Recruitment Consultant / Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you so much for this lovely review! Our pay does differ slightly as we are outside of London, but we hope that the easy commute (15 mins from Victoria) and all the fantastic benefits we offer make it up!

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance Friendly atmosphere/environment Motivated teams with great work ethic Everyone is so helpful and lovely Exciting events and fun prizes/games on a daily basis throughout the company 100% recommend being a part of DLG Company contributes to the environment by volunteering and completing 1 day events (bag packing, gardening etc.)

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now

    Direct Line Group2018-12-05

    Direct Line Group Response

    December 19, 2018Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for your review! Love that you enjoy the atmosphere here at DLG and the team your work with. :)

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Support Deak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Work/Life balance Friendly Atmosphere and welcoming environment Motivated Teams with great work ethic Everyone is so helpful and lovely Exciting events and fun prizes/games on a daily basis throughout the company 100% recommend being a part of DLG

    Cons

    No cons - can't think of any

    Direct Line Group2018-12-03

    Direct Line Group Response

    December 19, 2018Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there! thank you for your lovely review. Glad you are loving being part of the team :)

Found 492 reviews