Direct Line Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Direct Line Group Reviews

Updated 4 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally, a good work-life balance, the occasional late night but typically the hours are 9-5. Networking is encouraged allowing you to get to know other areas of the business which helps to give you a better understanding of the company. The culture is very friendly and relaxed, great people who make you feel very welcome. In commercial, there is an excellent level of contact with senior management and you feel as if your opinion and work really makes a difference to the business, you aren't given mundane tasks for the sake of doing them.

    Cons

    The company is very large so in personal lines (personal insurance) graduates do not get the level of contact from senior managers which they would like at times. The communication between various departments could be better. The graduate programme could be more organised at times, some graduates received their placement information later than others and there was confusion around where some graduates would be based. However, that being said the scheme is still very young (2 years in) so some teething problems are to be expected.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-11-23

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 23, 2017Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Direct Line Group, we really appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Grad Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fabulous work life balance. Great focus on looking after employees. The application process is managed smoothly and professionally. Great communication within teams.

    Cons

    Size of the business inevitably leads to communication difficulties across the business (in contrast to the high quality communications within teams).

    Direct Line Group2017-11-20

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 21, 2017Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Great to see you love working here, thanks for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate 2017 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great place to work. Good work life balance, and support whilst learning. You get great exposure to the rest of the business, and senior staff, particularly in commercial. Nice office. Free tea and coffee. Good pay, and joining bonus.

    Cons

    Very few! Need more advice on long term development i.e. Professional Qualifications

    Direct Line Group2017-11-17

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 20, 2017Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    We love working here too! Thank you for taking the time to comment, we take all feedback on board.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Generally quite good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company culture & environment. Decent benefits, which are customisable (e.g. pension, 50% discount on car insurance etc.) Good work/life balance. Continual business growth.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up; usually many people move across (e.g. go on secondments & don't always return). Pay is below the average, but this could be traded off by the fact that the company is based in outer London. However, it's still London. Greater focus on the main effort of the business, with much less focus on areas that support it/make it work (e.g. poor IT projects & procurement).

    Direct Line Group2017-11-08

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 17, 2017Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Direct Line Group, we really appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some people are ok others know saying the right thing will get them what they want

    Cons

    Punished for being honest even if you're in the right *I wanted to give work life balance a 0*

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-10-04

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 17, 2017Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We do take all comments on board as it is really important to us. We will pass your review on to HR colleagues.

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing work life balance environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company really understand that its assets are people and create a great environment for it's employees. There is a great emphasis on well being and work life balance. The dress code is relaxed and there is a great atmosphere of fun and can do attitude. The company has gone through an enormous amount a change in the last 4 years and has great plans for the next 4.

    Cons

    The changing environment can be fustrating at time as a lot of changes impact others which means these can be unstable. But seeing the results is very rewarding. If you want to work in a role that does not change much this may not be the best place for you.

    Direct Line Group2017-07-27

    Direct Line Group Response

    July 28, 2017Recruitment Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your great review, your comments really matter to us.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the advantages of working for a large organisation, but with a work life balance. Successful company, that looks after it's people with some great benefits A real drive for putting the customer first, no matter where in the business you work. Lot's of interesting innovation in the offing

    Cons

    Churchill Court is an older building with a gradual refurb in process, you might get lucky and work in a newer area, or you might not

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-06-22

    Direct Line Group Response

    June 28, 2017Recruitment Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your great review, your comments really matter to us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Will take all you've got and more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Home in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The office looks nice since the refurb (wharf) and in the home sales and retention area there are some fantastic team leaders.

    Cons

    No work life balance - if you challenge this you are perceived as being negative and not "living the company values" The team leaders are rushed off their feet and are struggling to cope. Many of them have had time off sick with stress and this is due to pressure from above.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-06-15

    Direct Line Group Response

    June 19, 2017Recruitment Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We do take all comments on board as it is really important to us. We will pass your review on to our HR colleagues.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    SAS Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Direct Line Group

    Pros

    work life balance, good bonus, good employee benefits,

    Cons

    some unreasonable targets, people manager can be unfair when assigning tasks to different team members, pay rise can be unfair between different employees

    Direct Line Group2017-05-24

    Direct Line Group Response

    May 25, 2017Recruitment Marketing Analyst

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Direct Line Group, we really appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "DLG Graduate Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment. People within DLG hold true to the companies values. Good work life balance. Treated with respect and given responsibility from the beginning. Managers take a real interest in your development and progress. Constantly receive feedback and areas for development. To summarise it is an amazing company to work for!

    Cons

    DLG’s first graduate scheme, so the process has not always been smooth and it is not entirely clear what the overall aim for graduates is after they complete scheme. i.e. will they be given managerial or roles with greater responsibility following completion of the scheme? How can graduates continue to progress within DLG following the graduate scheme, continue to better themselves and what opportunities are there? Despite this, it is an extraordinary company and HR who run the graduate programme make every effort to seek out feedback and continually improve the scheme on an ongoing basis. I would highly recommend DLG to any graduate aspiring to be fulfil their full potential!

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2017-05-10

    Direct Line Group Response

    May 11, 2017Recruitment Marketing Analyst

    We love working here too! Thank you for taking the time to comment, we take all feedback on board.

    Continue reading
Found 61 reviews