Discount Dance Supply Reviews | Glassdoor

Discount Dance Supply Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
Brian D. Hill
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment. Gain a lot of knowledge about the dance world

    Cons

    I have no cons for the job

    Discount Dance Supply2019-02-28
  2. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply part-time

    Pros

    As a dancer, it was nice being able to see all of the new shoes and dancewear that would come out. The discounts on top of everything already being discounted was awesome.

    Cons

    Its retail and dance moms can be out of control!

    Advice to Management

    Minimum wage is a little low for all of the dance moms you have to deal with. Maybe pay employees a bit better.

    Discount Dance Supply2018-12-22
  3. "Rancho location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This job was very relaxed at times when you have a good manager. The hours are awesome you don’t have to worry about getting off to late. Good for a first job that’s minimum wage

    Cons

    Old computer system takes months to feel comfortable with it. Hours are based off of favoritism. Hours are never equally distributed, one employee might have 15 hours the other could have 25 etc. with the same availability. The managers I had sat in the back majority of the time even when the store was super busy. The store constantly seemed understaffed and that made you feel like you were constantly running around....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire enough people so that there is at least 3 people at all times in the floor each day during the week. At least 4 on weekends, that’s not including the managers because all they do is sit in the back. So at least make it easier on the associates that actually work. The pay could be better as well. Please update the computer system with something newer that would make it so much easier for new hires to learn!

    Discount Dance Supply2018-11-18
  4. "Unsafe work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Forty Fort, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime, benefits, 401k, hours, $50 bonus

    Cons

    Negativities among employees and management

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and learn to respect your employees

    Discount Dance Supply2018-07-28
  5. "Friendly work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply

    Pros

    Discounts on their apparel and products

    Cons

    Can have some long hours

    Discount Dance Supply2018-06-13
  6. "Customer Service Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, this was one of the most engaged and devoted team I have worked with throughout my professional career. They are driven, energetic and incredibly fun. Working with this team felt like joining a big family with tons of character and I never had a boring day working there.

    Cons

    As with all companies, there are some struggles that are just apart of the process. This team was passionate and determined to face them head on and grow from them!

    Discount Dance Supply2018-05-14
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply part-time

    Pros

    Associates stuck together like family

    Cons

    poor communication between managers, leads, and associates

    Discount Dance Supply2017-11-15
  8. "Look elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forty Fort, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    7-3 or 9-5 shift. Pto is accumulated weekly. Over time

    Cons

    Raises were extremely low for a multi million dollar company, I'm talking 20 cents... favoritism is showed by Human Resources along with management. You are not acknowledged for doing a good job, only mistakes. Human Resources does not keep personal information to herself. She openly talks about employees to other employees. Absolutely no advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Human Resources. Work in better communication skills. Pay your workers the wages they deserve.

    Discount Dance Supply2017-09-29
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Anaheim, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Discount Dance Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall I liked working here. The people for the most part are nice. It's a very diverse group - different ages, experience, etc. - so not everyone ends up being besties but it stays professional. They are open to hearing new and creative ideas you might have for projects too. Management is approachable and reasonable. Benefits, 401k, PTO - all good!

    Cons

    I'm personally not a fan of how "corporate" it felt at times. Their salaries and annual raises are fairly low as well. Some employees would get special treatment because of how long they were there - not quality of their work.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have much advice because my manager was actually great and would always go to bat for you with salary, time off, etc. If there was a way to pay your talent more, I would encourage it.

    Discount Dance Supply2016-12-10
  10. "Dont recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Discount Dance Supply full-time

    Pros

    Good hours, steady pace

    Cons

    Poor safety concern, management does not listen to your concerns, if your not in the "click" your have to follow the rules to the T.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the rules yourself, and stop favortisim.

    Discount Dance Supply2016-09-08
Found 16 reviews