DiscoveRx Reviews | Glassdoor

DiscoveRx Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Todd R. Nelson
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Very Positive, Enjoyable Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoveRx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DiscoverX is a great company to work for. My hiring process included thorough interviews with several key employees I would be engaging with, giving me a chance to get to know people before I decided to accept a job offer. The job offer was determined quickly and professionally. Since I have started here, I have DiscoverX to be a really enjoyable place to work. Everyone is very collaborative and open to new ideas...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are three different sites, so you do need to learn how to communicate remotely with colleagues if they are not in your building every day.

    DiscoveRx2016-03-21
  2. "If you love science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DiscoveRx full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    This place provides a great opportunity to grow as a scientist. Everyone loves science at DiscoveRx, and management is top quality. Sales and marketing are some of the best the industry has to offer, and if you're in R&D, the liaison between R&D and Sales is great at communicating the scientific background and managing deadlines.

    Cons

    Pay is lacking, but if you love science, you'll get great job satisfaction! Money can't buy that!

    DiscoveRx2018-08-06
  3. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DiscoveRx full-time

    Pros

    Not many to speak of

    Cons

    Disorganized and lack of integrity

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect and appreciate their contributions

    DiscoveRx2018-01-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great biotechnology workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoveRx full-time

    Pros

    Great smart colleagues. Fascinating work. Opportunity to be involved with and learn a lot about different parts of a business. Chance to make a difference. Good work life balance. Good culture.

    Cons

    Plenty of work, can be too much at times. Not always someone there to tell you how to do it. Compensation tends to be a bit low (but reasonably good benefits and work life balance).

    DiscoveRx2017-07-12
  5. "scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DiscoveRx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company location is good. Not a good company for everyone

    Cons

    Not much care for employee. High turnover

    DiscoveRx2017-02-17
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Not a fairy tale at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ops in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DiscoveRx full-time

    Pros

    It's not all fairy tales at DiscoverX. Actually, it never was from the beginning from when I first started 'til the end. I've worked at DiscoverX for couple of years, AND the best thing about that company was how easy it was to make friends and enemies. Your friends at the company were basically the entire non-management. Your enemies were, of course, the upper-management (group leaders, supervisors, boss). Nonetheless,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Everything about this company is wrong. Let me list a few. - Poor pay (at least 40% less from the average in the bay area). - I heard they implemented employee appreciation day... to build company culture and stabilize "bridges." That doesn't work 'cause management (group leaders, supervisors, etc) talk negatively and badly behind your back (the employees know). AND the way they treat their employees is just awful....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, and truly appreciate them. In return, your employees will do the same. Let the employees learn valuable experiences instead of just labeling, formulating and packaging 1000+ bottles and kits. AND hire more people. I know you guys are seriously understaff.

    DiscoveRx2016-07-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Scientist in Fremont, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DiscoveRx full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Many brilliant, passionate people across the company who put aside their ego to achieve common goals. Lay back work environment, GREAT co-workers, free snacks, good health benefits. Good NEW upper management team.

    Cons

    Immature, incapable, boastful, and very dis-encouraging MIDDLE management often talks politics and puts self-interests before the department and the company. Lacking upward mobility, and very slow career progression. Pays below market value.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management, please give dedicated people a chance to work on challenging projects and meaningful assignments; please use the right talents in the right places, and reward them.

    DiscoveRx2016-05-10
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Terrible and Depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at DiscoveRx full-time

    Pros

    The people whom you work with are nice and help you make it through the day. Great coworkers. Health benefits aren't bad. There's also free snacks: chips, crackers, nuts, fruits, etc.

    Cons

    Upper management ignores your concerns and opinions. They undermine and override your explanation on issues that are affecting the function of work. In efforts of saving money they don’t replace employees who have left and instead transfer voluminous amounts of duties onto already existing workers, exploiting and overworking them to the point of desiring termination. Instead of listening to workers about real issues,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value and listen to your employees, so that you don't lose them and have to pay people to write positive reviews about your company.

    DiscoveRx2016-04-27
  9. Helpful (11)

    "a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoveRx full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    people are really nice and knowledgeable, especially junior and middle management. Casual atmosphere. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Salaries are at least 30% less than market value. No career opportunities at all. Hard work or accomplishments are not rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    upper management does not take any advice from anyone, but if it would: listen to people.

    DiscoveRx2015-08-31
  10. Helpful (5)

    "long term not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoveRx

    Pros

    Some coworkers are brilliant, all are nice and easy to get along with. Very casual atmosphere. Junior management is genius, for all it's worth. Tasty lunch for Halloween, Holidays and under the new CEO, also for some people's anniversaries.

    Cons

    Lowest compensation ever. Nearly everyone is looking for another job or has given up and is just sitting there, feeling sorry for themselves. Major accomplishments are not rewarded. Career advancement isn't possible.

    Advice to Management

    start rewarding people for good work or they'll go elsewhere.

    DiscoveRx2015-07-29
Found 18 reviews