DiscoverOrg "hard work" Reviews | Glassdoor

DiscoverOrg Employee Reviews about "hard work"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
DiscoverOrg Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Henry Schuck
Henry Schuck
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "Executive Recognition: Hard work does not go unnoticed(in 29 reviews)

  • "Overall bottom line, this company is growing so fast that employees are constantly able to find opportunities to grow(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "So far I have no cons I could give(in 10 reviews)

  • "Adding in a work from home policy/flexible work schedule would be really nice(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Lots of momentum and energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since I started working at DiscoverOrg over 4 years ago, the company has grown tremendously. We went from 2 offices to over 5 offices and 1k employees. - Great benefits! Flexible PTO with amazing healthcare options and 401k matching - Growth Potential: If you're looking to learn new skills, take on more responsibility and move to a new team - this is the place to be. - Executive Recognition: Hard work does not... go unnoticed. DiscoverOrg's CEO and executive team make time to mentor talent and show recognition regardless of tenure and position.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hard work: If you're looking for a standard 9-5 where you get to slack off for long lunch breaks daily, this isn't the place for you. We thrive on hard work and dedication!

    DiscoverOrg2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is nice to be surrounded with a bunch of smart, hard working individuals.

    Cons

    I do not really have anything to say here.

    DiscoverOrg2019-08-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place to work in Downtown Vancouver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Working in a team environment + Direct feedback from Managers/ Supervisors + Culture promotes team work + Rewarded for hard work and extra effort

    Cons

    Parking in downtown can be hit or miss.

    DiscoverOrg2019-01-15
  4. Helpful (20)

    "ethically questionable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DiscoverOrg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location. Great restaurants in the Vancouver area. The company has a great idea that in the right hands could be a great tool for several industries.

    Cons

    Ethically questionable practices and behavior from upper management leadership. They spend a little too much time belittling and berating employees and not enough time investing in the development of great employees. I have also seen them overuse employees off-hour time. If you want to work around the clock for elitist people who do not even like you, go to Discover Org. If you do not mind lying to companies to... collect internal contact details then Discover Org is probably for you. If you value integrity and ethics and are looking for a place where hard work is appreciated and not abused, then keep looking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not certain there is help from the systemic issues that traverse down from the top position. A culture of bashing, screaming and cussing when things are not going well does not inspire greatness. Fear is not a motivator unless you suck at your job.

    DiscoverOrg2019-01-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Honest review from a current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I've had a lot of opportunity for growth and to move up - Coworkers/managers are amazing. It's kinda of a young crowd which can be a little annoying at times but a lot of the employees here are nice, interesting people. Made some of my closest friends since working here. - A lot of activities, praise, and cool prizes in the department. They try to make it fun and motivate/reward people for hard work. It's nice... to see them planning fun stuff (like a trip for 2 to Hawaii)because they do ask you to work pretty hard.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The wages are competitive compared to other jobs that have the same experience level requirements. That is pretty nice actually (no college experience needed). BUT I still think that for the work effort they are asking for, we deserve to be paid more for how successful the company is. - It's a work hard play hard environment which is really fun but also tiring. It's not always intense but when it is, you have to... be ready to bust butt. It's not necessarily a con but just something to think about if that isn't your style

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep making change and listening to what your employees are telling you. And I think that people on all sides need to remember that big change doesn't happen immediately.

    DiscoverOrg2018-10-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time

    Pros

    The company is great to work for. You won't find a better group of hard working, intelligent, and fun people.

    Cons

    There are no Cons, Apply

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    DiscoverOrg2018-10-05
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Solid business with some weird culture but hey, maybe that's your thing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DiscoverOrg full-time

    Pros

    - Good place to start your career and make a name for yourself. DO has grown tremendously in a short period of time, but is still small enough that with hard work, you can advance much more quickly than at a larger company. - Solid product that you can support and sell with genuine confidence and pride. - Successful company with a proven foundation and likely positive future. - Organized and... process-driven; lots of good sales enablement tools

    Show More

    Cons

    - PTO and other benefits are not competitive with industry standards, including among other non-Silicon Valley backed startups. - Sales leadership is often unprofessional, even to clients. Speaking to a client who was unhappy with their current agreement following the RainKing acquisition, a manager used profanity and said "too bad, should have gone with us to begin with" (paraphrasing and not including the... original language). That type of attitude/behavior wasn't an isolated incident. - The cronyism among upper management seems borderline incestuous and is pretty weird if you're on the outside looking in. If you overlap the org chart, Henry's family tree, and Henry's top 8 MySpace friends from college, it would look like a classic Venn diagram. - Work/life balance is poor, but it goes beyond that (see above) since it seems you have to not only work long hours to get ahead (normal in sales), but spend a lot of time outside of work with co-workers. Would upper management feel differently about this if they weren't working with their closest friends and family members? - Totally medieval WFH policies. - Much of the research team seems unhappy and resentful of other departments. - Definitely not the only company to do this, but the overly positive Glassdoor reviews always ring false.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None of the cons listed above are things you haven't heard before. Consider taking them to heart instead of giving the kinds of excuses you have in the "Ask Us Anything" sessions. People obviously ask annoying/redundant questions in that forum, and many of them are superficial. But there are also some substantive issues it would be nice if you considered more seriously. You're going to continue to be successful... if you don't, but it would be nice if you did. I believe you can be successful and show you value your employees through your actions if you so choose.

    Show More
    DiscoverOrg2018-02-01
  8. "Somehow this place keeps getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DiscoverOrg has a workplace energy that is unlike any office I've been in. People are excited about sales intelligence, contact research, and grinding out a hard days work. Employees are respected and recognized. If you're smart and hard-working, you will ascend at this company. Your co-workers become your friends at DiscoverOrg.

    Cons

    With the company's growth, it's becoming difficult to find cheap parking around the office. Also, DO is such a fast-paced environment so things are always changing. That might not fit certain people very well.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping DiscoverOrg's culture is really important as the company grows. Bottle it and keep it around for as long as possible.

    DiscoverOrg2018-02-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Great Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Management teams that care about helping you and the company succeed, together - Culture that promotes teamwork and rewards you for your hard work. At DiscoverOrg, you get what you put in. If you have an idea, and run with it and implement something new - you receive a lot of recognition and reward for it. - The people at the office are awesome. You go into work everyday looking forward to seeing your... coworkers and peers. - Open door policy with senior executives and management.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Like any young company, there are growing pains and challenges. But your ideas to tackle those challenges are always valued. - It's hard work, but you learn professional skills that go a long way.

    DiscoverOrg2018-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager, Sales Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DiscoverOrg full-time

    Pros

    I can't speak highly enough of this company. Fast-growing tech company right here in sleepy Vancouver, WA. About 2 years ago we were at 200 people, we're over 500 now. We have a hard-working staff, innovative product, and even better leadership. With this growth comes opportunity. There are new positions opening up all the time (WE ARE HIRING) and we mostly promote from within.

    Cons

    If you're afraid of hard work, this may not be the best place for you to work. The city of Vancouver wasn't ready for us. Parking is tough. The local parking lots have seen our growth and increased parking fees.

    DiscoverOrg2018-01-17
Found 30 reviews