Dixieline Lumber Reviews | Glassdoor

Dixieline Lumber Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
Chad Crow
0 Ratings
  1. "Office admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dixieline Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and work environment.

    Cons

    I have not encou tered any so far.

    Dixieline Lumber2018-10-01
  2. "Family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dixieline Lumber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a great sense of team building. Working here is enjoyable and the benefits are good as well

    Cons

    Low pay on a merit-based vice performance pay raise program

    Advice to Management

    Pay your premium employees with premium cash, not with additional assignments

    Dixieline Lumber2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Established company with serious potential lagged behind by the old guard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Solana Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly good coworkers, most have been there their entire working careers, happy to help. Customers are usually a pro here. Good employee discounts and most managers will treat employees very well. Promotions actually happen from within but tenure is a very heavy factor - pro or a con. Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Management has little if any actual skill for effectively running most operations not to mention arguably inappropriate pay. Cost overruns due to old tech and purposeful mismanagement are very evident. There is little awareness competition actually exists. When the acquisition of Dixieline settles, this will probably bring some unwanted attention from corporate - only hurting lower level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Attract educated and productive candidates, not shun them. Listen to your people, and stop fearing change.

    Dixieline Lumber2017-01-05
  4. "Dixieline Lumber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixieline Lumber full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Want to stay for years to come. It's like working with a great family.

    Cons

    Pay rates aren't so good. But it's kind of worth it to stick it out for the long run.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to your employees.

    Dixieline Lumber2016-11-28
  5. "Dixieline Lumber Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work. Great people who are committed to the organization. Many long service employees with 30+ years of service

    Cons

    Parent company has slashed benefits

    Advice to Management

    Restore previous benefit levels

    Dixieline Lumber2016-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dixieline is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was employed by Dixieline many years. they closed my store and laid me off. I worked 20 years for them. It was a good job.

    Cons

    they don't appreciate you. It is a mans club over there. they have called me back even though i have applied to them a few times.

    Advice to Management

    please consider everyone and be geneous

    Dixieline Lumber2016-02-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT company, overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales (Retail & Corporate) in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, opportunities for advancement, 401k, great co-workers, attentiveness to customers, flexibility (depending on dept.), great sales staff (retail and corporate).

    Cons

    Turnover. Majority of retail management is unprofessional (favoritism, lack of character, sexist mentalities).

    Advice to Management

    Respect the company, and your position.

    Dixieline Lumber2015-04-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "after 20 years they let me go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber

    Pros

    everyday was different. I was allowed to take care of my family when needed. has good benefits and 401k

    Cons

    technology is very old. computer system is 40 years old. can not track customer purchase with phone #. transactions processing is very slow. before they laid me off they keep telling me they were looking for spot for me, but they did not keep me. worked hard for this company keep in budget. then when i was looking for a new job i saw a listing at Dixieline La Mesa for receptionist, but did not offer it to me.

    Advice to Management

    upgrade system. when you tell people "we are looking for a place" tell the truth and say look for a new job. very male culture and less diversity in management then there should be

    Dixieline Lumber2015-01-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Dixieline losses its edge after ProBuild buys them out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber

    Pros

    None. They used to be king in San Diego but after the sale to ProBuild they treat everyone as a number.

    Cons

    Sold to ProBuild and everyone became a number. laid off every employee who had any knowledge and was paid more then lesser employees.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue! Listen to your employees on what is going on in the front line. Stop paying for leadership simenars when you don't practice what they teach you.

    Dixieline Lumber2010-07-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company values, poor pay structure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Millwork Sales in Escondido, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixieline Lumber

    Pros

    Good size company, yet is more inclined to family being a part of your life. Decent leadership and a good marketplace for business. San Diego area is a great place to live and work. They do like to promote from within. Many employees have been ther 15 plus years.

    Cons

    Commision base on sales was not competitive to other jobs in the industry. They did not have enough communication with the path for employee compensation. I don't think millwork sales people could ever really succeed. They do take care of their lumber sales people though.

    Advice to Management

    Pay good money for your best talent. You never go wrong by taking care of the right salesmen.

    Dixieline Lumber2008-06-12
Found 10 reviews