Dixons Carphone Reviews | Glassdoor

Dixons Carphone Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1756 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Dixons Carphone CEO Alex Baldock
Alex Baldock
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice working environment with great people(in 82 reviews)

  • "Good pay with fairly relaxed environment(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "Currys Management sometimes too involved with Carphone Warehouse(in 64 reviews)

  • "High turnover, long hours retail takes over your life(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I enjoyed it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Earth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close knit teams. Mainly good managenent. Decent in store training if youve got a manager whos driven. Usually a nice atmosphere, cant particularly remember any instances where I dreaded going into work. They take care of their employees. I was seriously ill and they did far more for me than I would ever expect. Especially from such a large company. Good opportunities to progress if you're there for a career. You'll...

    Show More

    Cons

    Split days off. A lot of standing up. Some managers didn't have the same passion as others but that's more to do with the individuals. Targets can be difficult but that's like any job in sales.

    Advice to Management

    To be honest the only thing I would suggest is have a look at some of your managers and how they're treating their staff. My first one was fantastic and I have a lot to thank him for but the second was horrendous and made it difficult for me to progress due to their inexperience and lack of passion. To finalise though, I think you guys are a great employer and a good company to work for. I look back on my time at...

    Show More
    Dixons Carphone2018-11-07
  2. "Lead man"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone full-time

    Pros

    New company to grow with

    Cons

    New company still learning the trade

    Advice to Management

    Not much, great supervisors

    Dixons Carphone2017-08-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dixons Carphone

    Pros

    great con job, paints a nice picture, but is not accurate.

    Cons

    Overworked, underappreciated, unethical, nasty culture - JV with Sprint - Sprint Connect - avoid like the plague.

    Advice to Management

    Change your culture and your ethics or you will never be successful in the US

    Dixons Carphone2017-04-17
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I think is a great opportunity to work with an ambitious team and do a great job working together. I would love to work there

      Cons

      Long hours . challenges and some times you have to just have the patience necessary to work things out and make it work

      Dixons Carphone2016-02-19
    • "Greay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Dixons Carphone

        Pros

        Its a great business for now

        Cons

        early starts and weekend working

        Advice to Management

        keep going

        Dixons Carphone2015-11-25
      • "senior sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dixons Carphone

        Pros

        team,discount,learning,wage,growth and develpoment thats all i can say

        Cons

        there isnt any cons at all

        Dixons Carphone2015-10-15
      • "Product Support"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yonkers, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dixons Carphone

        Pros

        Good pay, trainings, flexible work hours , possibility of OT

        Cons

        lack of contract-temporary job,lack of benefits,difficult development career path

        Dixons Carphone2015-08-26
      • "Samsung Consultant - Alright for part time work only"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Dixons Carphone

        Pros

        Good team spirit, competitive hourly wage for young workers, access to newest technology, comprehensive training provided. Taught me many things about sales and this job definitely is trial by fire for those who have never sold before! Develops confidence once

        Cons

        DIFFERENT TO REGULAR CARPHONE WAREHOUSE - Absolutely rubbish commission structure, long shift expectancy, require 5 out of 7 days availability even for part time work, breaks are disjointed. Management in the business are so disconnected from the workers on the ground, and introduce difficult targets that are pretty unrealistic to meet. LOTS of difficulties with payments, many of my colleagues either didn't get paid...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay attention to the needs and suggestions of the employees that deal with the public face to face all the time.

        Dixons Carphone2015-09-08
      • "Good for part time work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Samsung Consultant 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Dixons Carphone part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Pretty good wage and decent training, the best part of being in my store was the camaraderie with my colleagues. Good experience working with the newest gadgets but this is limited.

        Cons

        Company is quite demanding of your time, sales targets were very unrealistic for my store, lots of upper management decisions made with little interaction with the people on the ground. There are lots of things asked from you for being low wage earners. Essentially the company expects a lot from their workers but treats them like potential criminals or children at times.

        Dixons Carphone2015-08-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Disorganized"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Dixons Carphone full-time

        Pros

        It is a great company to learn things, for people who just graduated and are willing to get some experience.

        Cons

        The company offers no room for personal growth.

        Advice to Management

        Delegate tasks properly. Everyone is always doing everything, which means nothing is done right.

        Dixons Carphone2015-07-28
      Found 1756 reviews