Doctors Hospital of Sarasota Reviews | Glassdoor

Doctors Hospital of Sarasota Reviews

Updated Mar 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Doctors Hospital of Sarasota CEO Robert Meade
Robert Meade
5 Ratings
  1. "PBX Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PBX Operator in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good employer. Honest and reliable managers. Great benefits and room to grow. Exercise equipment on site for employees to use.

    Cons

    Have to work overnights, weekends, and, holidays.

    Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2017-11-30
  2. "Enjoy working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They value employee satisfaction

    Cons

    Promoting within is difficult

    Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2018-02-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Be careful..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some really great people. It was a good job, but things changed, and it became a very uncomfortable place to work.

    Cons

    Started out as a nice place to work. However, if you decide to participate in their union, you will be targeted. If they decide to get rid of you, they review security cameras trying to find reasons. Oh, they won’t tell you this, but I had people telling me they were doing this to me before I left. I had to leave to keep from being fired. This is a big business, and they do what they want... You have no rights as...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start spending your energies on making it an enjoyable place to work, and not listening to gossip brought forth by employees just trying to get ahead!

    Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2018-03-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time

    Pros

    nice, clean facility with supportive management

    Cons

    cost of living in Sarasota is high

    Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2017-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with great people with great work ethics

    Cons

    The benefits are awful. High premiums, out of pocket, and deductibles. We only get one time off bank and it has to be used for everything. We get one day of PTO per month. We have no sick bank or vacation time. I am job hunting now for a better job

    Advice to Management

    Offer a benefit package that let's the employee know that you care about their life and their health. You are a billion dollar conglomerate and offer your staff nothing. Give more than the one $25 Target gift card for Thanksgiving/Christmas "bonus". It is so insulting (and it's taxed).

    Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2017-06-20
  6. "Best Hospital and Best Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time

    Pros

    This hospital staff is the most caring, most knowledgable and skilled staff with which I have ever worked. Truly committed to high quality care and employee satisfaction.

    Cons

    none. Its the best kept secret in the county- possibly the state!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. You're doing it right.

    Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2017-04-25
  7. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota

      Pros

      Good environment., small hospital = big family. If you are willing to go above and beyond, learn new things, this a good place to be. Easy to move up.

      Cons

      Benefits are so so. The union is awful, protect the people that doesn't deserve to be protected. Benefits were a lot better prior to having a Union

      Advice to Management

      Keep the good work.

      Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2016-10-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Okay, not great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Sarasota, FL
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great teamwork, free parking, free food when working holidays

      Cons

      understaffed, focus on patient wants instead of patient health needs, money put into renovating hospital floors instead of adequate pay

      Advice to Management

      support/trust your staff, have their backs

      Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2015-09-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Awful place for nurses to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff RN in Sarasota, FL
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Doctors Hospital of Sarasota full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      3 day work week which is the standard for RNs.

      Cons

      Disorganized . Cheap and antiquated equipment . A general lack of supplies. Poor compliance with infectious disease prevention standards. Poor support of nursing staff. Generally two PCTs on floor for 40 patients . Poor moral among employees and a high turn over rate. Appears to be driven by a culture of fear and punishment from the Chief of nursing all the way down. Terrible pay with pitiful or no raises. Chief of...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You have your focus in the wrong place. You are not a hotel that provides medical care. You should strengthen your medical foundation first and foremost . You will not be able to fool the public in the long term by offering them warm cookies at 3pm when Grandpa dies of a hospital acquired infection or medical error at 7pm.

      Doctors Hospital of Sarasota2013-07-16
    Found 9 reviews