Doeren Mayhew Reviews | Glassdoor

Doeren Mayhew Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
Chad Anschuetz
0 Ratings
  1. "Culture and Work Life Balance are Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the work life balance outside of busy season (something quite rare in public accounting). The people and the teams you work for great. I feel I am working with friends and people I trust. I am always learning. The company is growing each and every year.

    Cons

    There really isn't a con at this company. If you like public accounting and you like to learn every day this is the company for you.

    Doeren Mayhew2019-01-11
  2. "Best place to work in my career thus far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, benefits and coworkers. Very mindful of work/life balance.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any so far. Maybe some updated software is needed to make my dept more efficient.

    Advice to Management

    Look into getting a better software for accounts payable/receivable dept. Way to much back and forth for the approval process. Invoicing should be coming from the approvers - the step of trying to find the person that needs to approve it, and then have it approved by CFO, enter in system, to get it paid in 5 days takes WAY to much time.

    Doeren Mayhew2019-03-25
  3. "Great place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Shareholders are nice & open door policy -Free snack (dinner) every day during the tax season -Friendly workplace environments -No suit and tie at the office, offer Jean Friday -Summer BBQ event, Christmas party, Volunteer days -keep growing

    Cons

    -They try to but still, it not a really diversity group -They offer training, but lack of consistency and effectiveness. The way to approach shouldn't be on an academic basis. Needs to be more hands-on -The senior didn't take the responsibility to pass by their knowledge or care down to the lower level staff

    Advice to Management

    Except senior is too busy on his/her own work, everything else is great!

    Doeren Mayhew2019-02-07
  4. "Senior Tax Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance and easy going atmosphere.

    Cons

    Nothing to include since good place to work

    Doeren Mayhew2018-11-27
  5. "Houston Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      flexible work schedule, great employee perks, growing company. Looking forward to the future.

      Cons

      communication can always be improved.

      Doeren Mayhew2018-07-11
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Doeren Mayhew full-time

      Pros

      Flex time outside of busy season

      Cons

      Difficult to advance if not hired in directly from college

      Doeren Mayhew2018-05-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great culture, management is genuinely concerned about making sure you are learning what you need to in order to keep pace, and making sure you are satisfied.

      Cons

      Lack of cohesion among management team, as matters move up the ladder.

      Doeren Mayhew2017-08-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "OK place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      people are friendly, benefits are good

      Cons

      top-down approach to management with too many folks at the top; dated style of management and culture; boy's club

      Advice to Management

      adapt to the times

      Doeren Mayhew2017-07-03
    • Helpful (11)

      "Doeren Mayhew in Houston"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      There is a lot of ambition to become a bigger, better Firm in Houston, which could make great progress if the right people were in place. Unfortunately, nepotism and unskilled persons in top roles prevent real progress, as well as a managing partner on his way out and not concerned with how his legacy is being treated. Work / Life balance can be good here (not great) depending on the group you are assigned to. Perpetual...

      Show More

      Cons

      Lots of talk, very little action when it comes to making positive change inside the company. Much time is wasted in repetitive meetings rehashing what needs to be accomplished to make change, just to see absolutely no action occur. Unfortunately, this branch of Doeren Mayhew is no comparison to the Troy, MI branch. Management is not cohesive and there is way too much infighting for this to be a productive place to...

      Show More
      Doeren Mayhew2017-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great firm who cares about their employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Michigan in Troy, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Doeren Mayhew full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Open Door Policy. You can go talk to anyone at anytime without question. The Shareholders of this Firm want happy, productive employees. They do listen and try to implement whatever is possible (within reason) to make the work/life balance a good thing.

      Cons

      We have been growing steadily year after year and I find I don't know everyone here like I use to when we were a smaller firm. However "big" and "small" can be relative terms.

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening to your employees, both old and new. We may have inside info on the day to day operations that you might not be aware of.

      Doeren Mayhew2016-12-22
    Found 33 reviews