Doherty Enterprises Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 174 of over 191 reviews

4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Doherty Enterprises Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Ed Doherty (no image)
Ed Doherty
108 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with great values

    Apr 26, 2022 - Manager in Allendale, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a newbie to the restaurant industry, I find my coworkers and supervisors extremely supportive of my professional growth. They are constantly looking for learning opportunities for me and both push me out of my comfort zone while being extremely receptive to my outside point of view. I feel extremely valued. On a more general note, Doherty seems to be very employee focused. There is a strong culture of acknowledgement and appreciation at every level that is continuously expressed. Doherty really is a great place to work.

    Cons

    None that I can see.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Doherty Enterprises Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We take great care to ensure that all of our employees feel valued and that their professional growth is nurtured and encouraged!

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Lacking in values. No work/life balance

    Feb 16, 2022 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hard to say what the pros are. Yes, you have a job with what seems like a good salary, but that's about it.

    Cons

    Little to no work/life balance. Managers get 1 weekend off a month (if you aren't short staffed) and only 2 sick days a year. You are advised early on in your career that using sick days is "frowned upon" so if you are sick, you just switch your day off. Also, God forbid you're sick, be prepared to beg and borrow to get your shift covered. Managers are always living in fear of losing their jobs as you are only valued by what your assessment scores are. Little opportunity to develop yourself or Managers as there is no time for development because budgets do not allow sufficient floor coverage. Company is very involved with the community but only for the photo ops and tax write offs. Hourly supervisors start at $13/hour and are asked to cover shifts for bartenders and servers. Taxes on their tips errode their actual check. You will be forced to drive in to work (even in a blizzard) and wait to see of you open/cloee the restaurant.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Experience To Grow

    Feb 9, 2022 - Server/Trainer/Neighborhood Expert in Valley Stream, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work for your tips, with an instant pay out.

    Cons

    High School drama tends to be a running theme in the work environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Hard work but great company

    Dec 11, 2021 - Bartender in North Fort Myers, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Above average benefits -Easy, cheap spot for regulars to come in and hang out -Steady business throughout slow season -Company offers decent training and is always willing to cross train employees -This location is one of the busiest Applebee's in Florida -Company offers great opportunities to move up

    Cons

    -Out dated and overly complicated POS system -Checks are low so tips are lower than average for the area -A lot of new servers in high volume resteraunt, so smaller sections during high volume times -Clientel is older and extremely resistant to any kind of change -Most daily business comes in during shift change

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Poor pay, poor benefits, only lateral opportunities

    Oct 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy to get a job with this company

    Cons

    Impossible to both be a good employee here and grow and succeed. You are taken advantage of and left in positions that benefit the employer but never show growth or opportunity for the employee. The management pits people against each other and you essentially fight over scraps. Low level employees are blamed for numbers when management drops the ball on slow kitchen times or mistakes. Overall a poor example in the service industry.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing company culture

    Sep 16, 2021 - Marketing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company does a fantastic job at focusing and improving the culture. Constantly fundraise to help organizations. You receive great discounts at their restaurants.

    Cons

    Although there was possibility for growth it was difficult to learn more about your field unless you requested to attend a conference.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Doherty Enterprises Response

    Director of Recruiting

    Hello. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about the company during your time working here. Giving back to our communities surely is a cornerstone to our foundation thanks for speaking to that.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ups and downs.

    May 17, 2021 - Assistant Manager Applebees 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You have a job. Pay isn't bad at first There are some decent benefits with the company.

    Cons

    Company will try to suck you in with their family mentality but truly only goes one way so will give you a decent illusion of being respected / wanted until you try to ask for advice or help. Review after review I would say most managers (This did not happen to me) would be passed up for a raise or promotion if they had any issues in the past of the company. As the reviewers would always go back to the event even if it was corrected and years ago. Hours claimed to be 55-60 like many managment positions. Be prepared to work 65-80 weekly. By the time it is all said and done your salary really isn't worth it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good

    Oct 25, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are great Pay is fair

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Doherty Enterprises Response

    Director of Recruiting

    Thank you kindly for sharing your insights.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work

    Jul 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Allendale, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cares about employees and strives to do best by them

    Cons

    Restaurant industry has taken a hit but Doherty continues to prevail

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Doherty Enterprises Response

    Director of Recruiting

    Hello, and thank you for your feedback! We couldn't agree more, our employees are the heart of our business and this past year we were thankful that we could be there for each and every one of them. We are stronger because of our people.

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Poor Loyalty to Employees

    Oct 12, 2021 - Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company was previously upstanding in their industry.

    Cons

    Do not demonstrate loyalty to employees. Unfair management. Poor management decisions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 174 Reviews

Doherty Enterprises Reviews FAQs

Doherty Enterprises has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 191 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Doherty Enterprises to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Doherty Enterprises employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Doherty Enterprises. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

89% of Doherty Enterprises employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Doherty Enterprises 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Doherty Enterprises to be culture, benefits, career development and the cons to be work life balance, management.

Popular Careers with Doherty Enterprises Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Doherty Enterprises? Share Your Experiences

Doherty Enterprises logo
or