KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Dolby

Engaged Employer

Dolby

Add a Review

Dolby Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 of over 597 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Dolby President and CEO Kevin J. Yeaman
Kevin J. Yeaman
344 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are great and hardworking(in 70 reviews)
  • "I enjoy having a great work life balance and not spending all my waking hours working!(in 43 reviews)
  • "Good benefits designed towards long(in 43 reviews)
  • "Good culture, treats employees well, solid comp(in 16 reviews)
  • "Market Leader supplying to a lot of leading companies in the industry, innovative company with good pay.(in 14 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Dolby and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company to work for

    Jan 10, 2022 - Associate Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good work and life balance

    Cons

    slow growth and the business model is not easy to scale up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Contractor

    Intstructor

    Mar 24, 2021 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    No cons to mention really

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work at - especially if you're in to audio!

    Nov 20, 2018 - Software Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great benefits, 9/80 plan is incredible. Every other Friday off - Great employee discounts on audio gear, if you're in to that sort of thing - Being surrounded by great audio engineers, and people who are generally very passionate about music/audio/sound - Great location, close to bart/muni so easy commute in the city - Gym on site, and in my experience managers who are flexible in when you can go down there! - Casual company culture, not a total grind like other big firms. I enjoy having a great work life balance and not spending all my waking hours working! Startup life is NOT for me, and I'm ok with that - Awesome HQ building full of audio toys/studios/cool rooms

    Cons

    - Some general bureaucracy, seems like there are some things that no one has a particular handle on, it kind of falls between groups - Seemingly consistent re-orgs and small rounds of layoffs. Nothing that's impacted me, but definitely concerning when they happen. Seems like it happens once a year or so - Until recently, I felt they didn't pay market rate salary, until I got a big raise. You should negotiate and know your worth! The 9/80 schedule kind of offsets this, as what's the price of essentially an extra 5 weeks vacation? (26 Fridays off a year) - Lack of good talent development program. I think Dolby could be doing a better job of getting young engineers in the door. Often it is through a post-graduation internship program, which is a mixed bag due to the fact that it's kind of a leap of faith for the employee. I've put many students from the school I went to up for entry level positions and they were passed up (although maybe I'm just a bad recommender :) )

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Challenging environment

    Jan 11, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Life and work balance is great. Every other Friday is off. Interesting technologies you can have fun working on.

    Cons

    Dolby runs a healthy profitable business that is challenged by the changing the market. The un-open culture requires employees to be aware and careful of the management dynamic.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Increasingly irrelevant

    Jan 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dolby's engineering organization is capable of novel & relevant technology (e.g. CES 2016), but fails horribly to bring the innovation directly to customers. Instead they misguidedly pursue standards committees (like it is 1985) & a licensing model that is increasingly outdated, especially when its partners are themselves struggling 2nd or 3rd tier technology companies, who themselves hope to ride the Dolby brand. Work life balance is decent and the 9/80 (every other Friday off) is excellent!

    Cons

    Dolby is a old engineering boy's club and tragically, there is a very real glass ceiling. The HR team are not employees and are generally not invested nor competent at retaining talent. This of course, hurts Dolby's chances to modernize and remain relevant. I'll be surprised if Dolby makes it to 2020 intact. Your kids certainly won't know the name Dolby.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Sr. Director

    Jan 25, 2018 - Senior Director in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun market and technology. The company pays well and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Like many Silicon Valley companies Dolby makes a futile attempt at work / life balance. Executive management, middle management, engineering and many other disciplines easily log 60+ hours per week. Slow decision making process. Very difficult business model that requires strict disciplines to maneuver and succeed. Dolby has struggled to build the required disciplines resulting in many reorganizations over many years.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Freelancer

    Free

    Jun 13, 2019 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is really good

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Employer, Very Positive Experience

    Feb 7, 2022 - Senior Acoustic Engineer in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Extremely talented, knowledgeable and skilled colleagues Great work life balance • Friendly and fun atmosphere • Progressive company culture • Fascinating work • Loads of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    • Frequent corporate restructures • The company is willing to lose good people in those restructures

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Work & Life Balance

    Apr 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's not a competitive salary when comparing the other US company

    Cons

    Good work & life balance

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Good

    Oct 21, 2020 - Software Engineering Imaging in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great learning opportunities in the company

    Cons

    work life balance is not that good

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 79 Reviews

Popular Careers with Dolby Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Dolby? Share Your Experiences

or

Dolby Photos

+ Add Photo
Dolby photo of: A Sense of Community
Dolby photo of: Smart colleagues
Dolby photo of: Working out
Dolby photo of: Learning as we go
Dolby photo of: Working lab
Dolby photo of: Cinema inspired
Dolby photo of: Colors
See All Photos