Dollar General "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dollar General Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1,827 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, continuous support, fast paced(in 152 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay great customers great boss(in 117 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open door policy, fast paced, always something new, excellent customers!

    Cons

    Pay could be better. Other than that, good job to have

    Advice to Management

    None

    Dollar General2019-07-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Company has lots of issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dothan, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People - most are great Benefits - they are above average Fast pace - sometimes to fast

    Cons

    Poor work and home life balance expect you to be available 24/7. Growing too quickly, making changes before they are ready. Pay rates are some of the lowest in the retail industry. Constantly cutting payroll to make up for bad upper management decisions. Turn over

    Advice to Management

    Slow down growth concentrate on improving store conditions. Work on providing better wages to retain employees and reduce turnover workload.

    Dollar General2019-12-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "High expectations with very low resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at Dollar General full-time

    Pros

    People, pay, fast paced, easy to learn.

    Cons

    Micro-managed. You are given very little payroll - which means long days for management. Benefits are expensive

    Dollar General2020-01-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Dollar General part-time

    Pros

    Good if you like fast paced work, and doing a mixture of all jobs

    Cons

    Pay isn't great no matter how much you work, also they employ you part time, but work you fulltime and underpay you, employees aren't respected, they say they can work with your schedule if you are a parent or have appointments but you still end up in trouble for taking care of your family.

    Dollar General2019-12-11
  6. "Easy job, but little to no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Nickelsville, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding job, fast paced, variety of different tasks makes each day unique.

    Cons

    Stressful, very minimal room for advancement, very poor pay, inconsistent hours/payroll.

    Dollar General2019-10-17
  7. "Repack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Puller in Jonesville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a fast paced environment! Was always able to speak to management They had a open door policy I would still be there if I hadn't fell ill and went into the hospital

    Cons

    We thought we would have every other Friday off and didnt. Couldn't plan my Dr appointments like that

    Advice to Management

    There was room to grow there!

    Dollar General2019-09-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bandon, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not boring, fast paced, customers are great.

    Cons

    Impossible workload, skeleton crew, unrealistic goals. Constant staff churn.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more staffing. productivity and morale will improve if employees aren't ground to a pulp under a ridiculous workload for the 1-2 people on shift at any given time.

    Dollar General2019-10-14
  9. "Good Store But Bad Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Muldrow, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved my Customers and that it was fast pace

    Cons

    Manager had bad additude. Can't leave during lunch breaks. Illegal

    Advice to Management

    Make sure managers are working scheduled hours. most don't

    Dollar General2019-08-27
  10. "Alright job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate/Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay , fast paced

    Cons

    Sorry district manager, long shifts sometimes without breaks. The managers will use and abuse you.

    Dollar General2019-08-30
  11. "Oh goodness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always changing and fast pace. Works with people with 2 jobs

    Cons

    Put me to pt for being in school 2 days a week

    Dollar General2019-08-10
Found 152 reviews