Dollar General "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dollar General Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1,838 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, continuous support, fast paced(in 152 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay great customers great boss(in 117 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "No No No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is fair is you can force time to be off.

    Cons

    Upper management has no boundaries and work life balance . Phone calls and emails never stop. RDs try to act like they care but the acting stops there's. DVPs and up are very clear that employees mean nothing unless they hand picked them. Internal promotions have been halted.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2017-08-25
  2. "Too much work with no overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Out the Door in Wilkesboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you meet some of the impossible numbers the manager might get approval to spend a little bit of money out of the store and buy the staff lunch.

    Cons

    The management has a bad habit of staffing the stores on busy days or truck days with minimal staff in order to not fear the wrath that the upper management is going to bring down on them if they even go one cent over payroll.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Hours and upper Management don't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead/Key Holder in Rison, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You can get lucky with a good store manager.

    Cons

    - Upper management knows that your disposable and doesn't reward or acknowledge hard work.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-12-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Company has lots of issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dothan, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People - most are great Benefits - they are above average Fast pace - sometimes to fast

    Cons

    Poor work and home life balance expect you to be available 24/7. Growing too quickly, making changes before they are ready. Pay rates are some of the lowest in the retail industry. Constantly cutting payroll to make up for bad upper management decisions. Turn over

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Females Under Paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Training Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job isn't worth it. Not respected.

    Cons

    Males in management even new will make more money then experanced females. Justification they need to fill positions. Training Mgr. Job.... Dont take position they will make you perform and cover all regional jobs they can't fill. 6 DM''s in 1 year, high turn over without compensation. Demanded to cover preform job they couldn't fill. From regional or corporate your life/family doesn't matter your priority is their stores. Seen to many people with injuries being pushed until they physically unable to work. Even heart attacks. They have a good line but terrible upper management they threaten and degrade you.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-12-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here unless you hate yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers maybe good. The job itself isn't hard.

    Cons

    Upper management sucks the assistant managers tend to be good, but above them sucks. Cooperate cares only about money not about the employees that actually make the company run. They don't care about the GM or DM being crappy unless it loses them money. F this place I hope it closes down soon and all the workers who don't suck get better jobs.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-11-22
  7. "Hopefully it’s better now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I liked the people I worked with. And met a lot of friendly people

    Cons

    Upper management cared only about self

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-10-08
  8. "Lots of internal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started as a cashier so there is definitely room for growth and they like to promote from within.

    Cons

    Not enough support from upper management, your very much doing everything in the store on your own with little help.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-09-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not enough pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate/Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depends on your location. In my opinion, it is a decent place for the elderly to work, to just stay active. a small "employee discount" which is a one-use coupon. The only other pro I can give is that it is a good first-step into the work world. It is pay, and sometimes that is all you need before you look for something better.

    Cons

    Not enough pay to live. Starting pay is minimum wage with annual tiny raises. "employee discount" is a one-use digital coupon. Hard Work hasn't really paid off for me yet. So i'm in the transition of hard-worker to lazy-worker.(why should I work my hardest for minimum wage?) employee turn-over rate is high. (probably because they don't care about their employees all that great) Very understaffed Clopens weekly.(why?! Who in their right mind schedules an employee to close, and then to come back in, in under 12 hours? So, they get less than the needed 8-9 hour sleep cycle.) non-standard, varying hours per week. One week you will work 40 hours, the next week you will work 12. Some weeks youl only work 4. Not because its staffed, but because Upper management doesn't give the stores enough hours to give to their employees. This job needs 3-4 people to do it? Management will make us do it with 1-2 people in less time(unrealistic expectations)

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-09-06
  10. "Decent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a manager you have no life unless you have an awesome team supporting you. Which takes forever to find because the pay for hourly associates.

    Cons

    Not enough hours of payroll to have the back up needed. Everything falls on the manager. You could run a great store and theres no appreciation from upper management from the regional level and above.

    Dollar General2019-08-25
Found 256 reviews