Dollar Thrifty Automotive Reviews | Glassdoor

Dollar Thrifty Automotive Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 216 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Scott Thompson
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work before the merger with Hertz in November, 2012(in 12 reviews)

  • "was family oriented, friendly people, good benefits(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bomb.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay and friendly environment

    Cons

    Crazy hours and horrible customers

    Dollar Thrifty Automotive2019-01-10
  2. "No Thank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits An average amount of breaks if you're working with someone Depends on location

    Cons

    Pay Lack of cars Associates will call out or won't show up so you have to work a double shift Count on working alone Even the agenda of the company is misleading

    Advice to Management

    If you say you going to do something then do it. At least tell us why this is the best direction for the company.

    Dollar Thrifty Automotive2019-06-01
  3. "Awful work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instant Return Agent in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Little supervision Meeting interesting customers Other then that it’s crappy

    Cons

    Horrible management Always changing the work place in front of customers as well Management will throw things away with no communication Management is very dismissive to issues more focused on their phones Only time they acted to care is when the higher ups show up No communication what so ever with the IR agents unless we ask what’s going on Under staffed Kind of stressful

    Advice to Management

    We deserve a raise with all the stress and drama we deal with Try actually listening don’t just pretend And just move everything back to the way it was

    Dollar Thrifty Automotive2019-03-30
  4. "Great Place if customer service and cars are your thing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instant Return Representative in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cars Customers Co-workers Pay Benefits Watching planes take off and land

    Cons

    Having to work outside in winter

    Advice to Management

    Hire management that has prior experience in management

    Dollar Thrifty Automotive2019-02-18
  5. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time

      Pros

      Good pay Good benefits Good hours Loads of downtime

      Cons

      Management is nonexistent Confusing signage for customers Work two or more positions alone

      Dollar Thrifty Automotive2018-11-27
    • "Pros and Cons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Exit Booth Agent in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      weekly pay is good for a single person

      Cons

      keep your personal business to yourself. When you get a new manager, that manager tries to get certain people out of there, but that manager needs to adjust

      Dollar Thrifty Automotive2018-10-10
    • "Most Humiliated Work environment in The country"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RSA in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good pay.......Good Benefits and paid vacation

      Cons

      Racist Management, Poor management, Corrupted environment.

      Advice to Management

      Stop the corruption

      Dollar Thrifty Automotive2018-09-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Service agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Custodian in Fort Bragg, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Like when the drivers from sc bring clean/dirty cars. They was soo nice

      Cons

      I feel discriminated I was cleaning least than 100 cars by myself while the other service agent doing easy work. I’m hearing impaired

      Advice to Management

      Y’all need to hire more than 2 service agent

      Dollar Thrifty Automotive2018-09-23
    • "Customer service rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Commission, competitive opportunity to win bonuses

      Cons

      Management sucks! No run for growth!!

      Advice to Management

      Be more considerate of your employees and stop flavoring certain employees

      Dollar Thrifty Automotive2018-07-05
    • "IRR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Dollar Thrifty Automotive full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      the people here are great, it feels like family. it helps you get through the day

      Cons

      the work environment can be better, and some things could be better organized

      Dollar Thrifty Automotive2018-05-07
    Found 216 reviews