Dom and Tom Reviews | Glassdoor

Dom and Tom Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Dom and Tom CEO Dominic Tancredi (no image)
Dominic Tancredi
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Fun place to work, great place to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Web Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dom and Tom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dom & Tom, the founders, are the embodiment of integrity, and genuinely care about the software and products that they build. The people and the culture of DO GOOD BE GOOD really is a thing and I promise I am not a shill. For an agency, there are quite a few challenging and interesting projects beyond that of simple crud apps. There is also a genuine interest in emerging technologies and an openness to discuss and use new tech where it make sense. For a Junior - Mid Level Developer - Dom and Tom is an excellent place to learn how to build web applications, deployments, best practices, and sometimes what not to do ಠ_ಠ. There is always a focus on learning something new. Most of the dev here are passionate about something and are willing to teach you. For more Senior Developers, its a great place to learn software life cycle management, sprint planning, client interactions, and software estimations. There are also challenging projects that require architectural or scalable solutions which are rewarding to work on. There are many talented people here (especially the designers, product, and UX/UI people). There is not really a culture of gossip, backstabbing, anything like that, I have never felt that way. The people are what make this company really great.

    Cons

    - Software development process needs improvement, but there have been strides to standardize the development process, in terms of team structure, and frameworks/tools. - Always work to be done, can feel overwhelming at times, but over all its rewarding when everything works and the clients are blown away. - Some not so nice clients, but i think that is just agency life and it comes with the territory. Sometimes you get clients that are just amazing to work with and it's a rewarding experience.

    Continue reading
    Dom and Tom2018-04-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "No respect for employee whatsoever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dom and Tom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible WFH policy Used to be great

    Cons

    A total boy's club - no woman in high level management, no trust in its employees whose titles are not "Director" No transparency in company direction and policy Poor financial state Below industry level compensation

    Continue reading
    Dom and Tom2019-10-05

    Dom and Tom Response

    December 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback! We are striving to make our company the best that it can be, reflecting our personal values while continuing to create top-notch products. We have taken your feedback to our leadership team and are always working to improve how we do business and how we support our teams.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Steer Clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dom and Tom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, opportunity to learn

    Cons

    No real growth, company's doing poorly financially and had to lay off bunch of people last year, no job stability.

    Continue reading
    Dom and Tom2019-08-09

    Dom and Tom Response

    December 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. Every company has it's ups and downs. While sometimes scarifies are made, we have positioned ourselves for success and are excited about the future. We take any and all feedback seriously and truly appreciate your feedback--we will use this to continue to improve. If you feel comfortable sharing in more detail, we are all ears. Feel free to reach out to me at bobby@domandtom.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A fast growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dom and Tom full-time

    Pros

    Management will give you a lot of leeway to try new things during projects. You can expect to work on lots of different projects over the course of a year.

    Cons

    Can juggle a couple of projects at a time which can be stressful if you don't know how to manage your time correctly.

    Dom and Tom2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dom and Tom full-time

    Pros

    Their motto is "do good, be good", and for a very long time, the company really did live up to that. I genuinely enjoyed going to work every day, even through the tough deadlines, because we got to make great things with great people. It is still quite a fun place to work, especially if you're on the young side. It's well-suited for those looking for a "work hard, play hard" environment. I've also personally learned a lot from the CEO. There's no denying he knows his stuff.

    Cons

    Somewhere along the lines last year, it became less about "do good, be good". People mattered less. Personalities mattered more. And this gave rise to one or two non-management individuals with large personalities and loud voices becoming the only voices in the room that management listened to. Favoritism and bias meant that most of us were viewed as expendable, or simply that our opinions mattered less than the loud voices, regardless of our skill level or merits. This effect ruined the experience for most of us. On top of that, management became less trusting and more micro-managing. This all led to a general devaluing of us, and it for sure has affected what was once a great culture.

    Continue reading
    Dom and Tom2018-04-10

    Dom and Tom Response

    April 13, 2018Content Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback and review of Dom & Tom. We are committed to a transparent and collaborative environment for our employees, and we are disappointed to hear that your experience became less favorable toward the end. We agree our agency is filled with passionate and talented people who want to work hard and play hard. With a growing agency, there will inevitably be a significant amount of varying personalities. Some large and some small, but we feel we do our best to listen to everyone and support the growth of each employee and promote a harmonious workplace for everyone. We appreciate your feedback and will do our best to continue to support all personalities at our agency equally and instill trust and openness within our team. We are glad you were able to learn so much from our CEO and hope you can take that knowledge with you to your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Most Dynamic Company I've Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dom and Tom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The production teams I worked with were incredibly talented. We were able to work collaboratively and efficiently because each team member had significant domain knowledge. - It was fast and easy to gain new skills because the client industries varied significantly

    Cons

    - Unpredictable product context switching - Disjointed internal communications - Reactive organizational change

    Continue reading
    Dom and Tom2018-04-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I had a great experience working at Dom & Tom. Learned a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dom and Tom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone that works at Dom & Tom is always willing to help out with anything your working on or any questions you may have. Availability is almost instant via Slack even all the way up to the top to Dom or Tom.

    Cons

    Sometimes when a project ends, your employment can end as well, but this is just the nature of the consulting business.

    Continue reading
    Dom and Tom2018-03-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dom and Tom full-time

    Pros

    Hard working culture that pushes you to learn quickly

    Cons

    Fast moving culture were things get left undone

    Dom and Tom2017-10-20
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Visual Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Visual Design Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dom and Tom for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture among employees

    Cons

    Overcrowded. Too many cooks spoil the broth.

    Dom and Tom2016-11-29
  10. Helpful (9)

    "My experience thusfar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dom and Tom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For young entrepreneurs and professionals looking to pioneer their career, I highly recommend Dom & Tom. Even for those who are unsure what career they want to pursue, Dom & Tom is a company that can provide, teach, and expand the breadth of your knowledge in every facet of the company. Spread across three cities, D&T is comprised of a variety of people and personality, all whom come from different backgrounds, majors, jobs, families, and lives. However, everyone is genuinely interested and invested in not only the company but each other. Now, to real experiences that might be of help to you as you search for your job: Dom & Tom is a place where I experienced and learned about every facet of how a company runs, grows, and develops. Dom & Tom gave me time, mentoring, and the resources to figure out what kind of job was a good fit for me and if there wasn't an already existing job in the company, they curated one that fit my needs and the company needs. You have to be prepared to roll up your sleeves and take your job by the collar and lead it. Dom & Tom provides an environment in which you can pioneer and nurture the career you dreamt of - even as it pivots along the way. The beautiful thing is that Dom & Tom is a young, tech company that learns, grows and pivots with you. When I first started working at Dom & Tom, it was intense. I came straight from college and was unsure of how a real job worked! However, as time passed, I realized that Dom & Tom will patiently wait for you to grow and fill the shoes of whichever position it is you are currently hired for or looking to promote into. However, if nothing fits your goals, Dom & Tom is also there to help you articulate, plan, and execute a career path for you. It's truly a place where you can go to get a unique experience. * I highly recommend intraprenuers to look into Dom & Tom. It's truly a space where you can grow and make an impact - you will never become a "number on a page" or get "lost in the cubicles." Each and every team member is heard and their impact felt.

    Cons

    Due to the fact that Dom & Tom is a vastly growing company, there are frustrations surrounding process and resources. However, Dom & Tom is very receptive and collaborative in finding solutions that work for all disciplines.

    Dom and Tom2016-10-28
Found 31 reviews