Dominion Enterprises Reviews in Norfolk, VA | Glassdoor

Dominion Enterprises Norfolk Reviews

Updated April 28, 2017
222 reviews

Filter

Filter

Norfolk, VA Area

3.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Dominion Enterprises President and COO Jack Ross
Jack Ross
125 Ratings

222 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • The executive team creates a great work/life balance, fun and hard working atmosphere (in 25 reviews)

  • Able to work from home when available (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • I enjoy my colleagues and senior management (in 46 reviews)

  • Management has bad track record for new hires (upper management) (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sales Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great products, decent benefits and fun place to work.

    Cons

    Lacks vision to the future and slow to develop new products.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in businesses you acquire to retain the revenue.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for you post and feedback. Sounds like you enjoyed your time with us. I'm interested in any feedback you'd like to share. Please connect via email or phone.


  2. "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance and for someone fresh out of college to get some experience

    Cons

    Low salaries with not a lot of opportunities to grow. They tend to sell off companies


  3. "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work! Lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    none my experience was great


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Account Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Norfolk, VA

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great management, culture and opportunity to make uncapped commission.

    Cons

    Low hourly pay rate and incentives

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post and your feedback. Our goal for sales people is to provide a rich commission structure based on performance. I'm glad you recognize that great work is rewarded.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking ship"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Casual attire. Kind managers. 2 weeks PTO after 30 days.

    Cons

    Low pay in comparison to other companies. Losing money so there's lots of movement in management and departments and no job stability. Recently laid off a lot of people.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees their worth. Encourage promoting from within and provide opportunities for growth. Adjust with the times and grow businesses so people feel secure.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work community, great facility, provides all resources and supplies needed, great incentives, great managers and supervisors.

    Cons

    This company really has no downfalls, aside from the fact that they don't really listen to the needs of their employees or take into account the stress of the workload/quotas set by other companies, employees, etc.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your review. I'd like to hear your thoughts. Please contact me any time!


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management Practices"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Learn about how NOT to manage people.

    Cons

    Level 1 Management is company culture.

    Advice to Management

    Please read and apply "Good to Great" by Lee Collins

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    I invite you to talk to managers within your division, HR, or me. If you're experience isn't in line with our culture, please reach out.


  9. "DE is actually a great company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Dominion Enterprises is the best job that I have ever had the pleasure of working for. The Trader Online side of the business is very relaxed and has a strong work/home balance. The TOL days were best as we were well compensated and going to work every day was a joy!

    Cons

    The only con to DE is the middle management. Generally, the promotions are relationship based and not given to qualified candidates, thus making a tense and draining working environment as useless policies and mundane meetings become the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Define a process and stick to it! Hold everyone within the organization accountable for the process that is set forth!

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post and for your feedback.


  10. "Account Support Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Support Specialist With Dominion Distribution in Chesapeake, VA
    Former Employee - Account Support Specialist With Dominion Distribution in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I really met some great people working at Dominion Enterprises.

    Cons

    Not able to grow within my department.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Its ok - lots of hours"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    High salary and nice office location

    Cons

    Long hours and extremely high expectations of your time.

    Advice to Management

    Respect people's time.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post and feedback.


Showing 222 of 534 reviews
Reset Filters