Dominion Enterprises Reviews | Glassdoor

Dominion Enterprises Reviews

Updated July 20, 2017
528 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

528 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The executive team creates a great work/life balance, fun and hard working atmosphere (in 25 reviews)

  • Able to work from home when available (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • I enjoy my colleagues and senior management (in 46 reviews)

  • Management has bad track record for new hires (upper management) (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time

    Pros

    The company strives to create an employee focused culture and does a lot of work helping the local community.

    Cons

    No real cons - this is a great work environment and a fun place to work

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Learn about how NOT to manage people.

    Cons

    Level 1 Management is company culture.

    Advice to Management

    Please read and apply "Good to Great" by Lee Collins

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    I invite you to talk to managers within your division, HR, or me. If you're experience isn't in line with our culture, please reach out.

  3. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They have a great environment and friendly people.

    Cons

    I would say the pay isn't enough and I had a MBA.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not so much fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Staff gets you excited to work and make calls.

    Cons

    Calls usually get you knowhere.

    Advice to Management

    Actually help team members and dont just pretend. Just because one says they're fine doesnt mean they actually are. Check stats and figure out for self.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    It was a great overall experience because you learned the inside of a company and digital marketing. There are many networking events.

    Cons

    Biggest con was it is not paid and is repetitive work. Computer work all day doing the same type of data collection

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post! Please consider Dominion Enterprises when your ready to start looking for a full time position.


  6. "DE is actually a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Dominion Enterprises is the best job that I have ever had the pleasure of working for. The Trader Online side of the business is very relaxed and has a strong work/home balance. The TOL days were best as we were well compensated and going to work every day was a joy!

    Cons

    The only con to DE is the middle management. Generally, the promotions are relationship based and not given to qualified candidates, thus making a tense and draining working environment as useless policies and mundane meetings become the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Define a process and stick to it! Hold everyone within the organization accountable for the process that is set forth!

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post and for your feedback.


  7. "Account Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Support Specialist With Dominion Distribution in Chesapeake, VA
    Former Employee - Account Support Specialist With Dominion Distribution in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I really met some great people working at Dominion Enterprises.

    Cons

    Not able to grow within my department.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Its ok - lots of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    High salary and nice office location

    Cons

    Long hours and extremely high expectations of your time.

    Advice to Management

    Respect people's time.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Feb 3, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you for your post and feedback.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I've Worked for Thus Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Executive
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Executive
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dominion Enterprises full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I come from an extensive background of waiting tables to serving on government contracts where you are a production number and nothing more. I've moved up numerous times in the places I've worked, but I was held back by not being able to achieve a long career due to poorly managed short term ideals by management in those places. And then I got the opportunity to work for Dominion. I haven't been here long, but I can tell they're different. My particular team, we're treated like family. I ended up with some health issues flaring up at a really pivotal time for the job I'm working, and when I would have easily been let go somewhere else for having it interfere with my job, my director was extremely and surprisingly kind and wanted to ensure my health was taken care of first. That blew my mind. I'm a good worker, and I certainly strive for excellence, but when this health situation hit me, I know my performance wasn't the best. So far, I'm very impressed with this company simply to recognize individuals as people. The pay is phenomenal, the work isn't difficult, everything you need is provided, and they train you efficiently to be the best you can be.

    Cons

    It's sometimes not as ideal not seeing your team and your directors personally, but that's just the nature of the business and working outside an office does definitely add convenience.

    Schedule is a bit difficult to attend to things like doctor's appointments and other official needs, but they do work with you.

    Advice to Management

    It'd kind of be nice to do training in person, but I understand that isn't always financially possible and not everyone remains with a company in the short term.

    Dominion Enterprises Response

    Jan 13, 2017 – VP/Management Development, Training, Recruiting

    Thank you so much for your post! If you are interested in added training opportunities, please check out our courses and content on DEUniversity.com--you can login through Ask4HR.com too. Wishing... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Assurance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dominion Enterprises full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and progressive mindset. Great work incentives to train and grow.

    Cons

    Pay is low for tech field.


Showing 528 of 543 reviews
Reset Filters