Donaldson Company "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Donaldson Company Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Donaldson Company CEO and PRESIDENT Tod Carpenter (no image)
Tod Carpenter
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The company is going through a period where many of the people in upper management are at retirement age(in 8 reviews)

  • "Career growth is limited due to local management thinking(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Dixon, IL

    I have been working at Donaldson Company for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, good benefits, great cultur

    Cons

    As with any job, it has it difficult times.

    Donaldson Company2015-07-18
  2. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Welder in Frankfort, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Donaldson Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for with good benefits and plenty of overtime.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this employer.

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Donaldson Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible with work / life balance.

    Cons

    Management is not the best. Very clicky and gossipy. Mangers are friends with their employees on social media and hang out outside of work. This makes other employees in the group very uncomfortable and there is inside conversation of favoritism. Have to work 12 years to get another year of vacation added.

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2018-10-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "factory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Donaldson Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is not bad and benefits are good

    Cons

    Place says that SAFTEY comes first but fails to follow thru with it. Does not treat all employees the same.

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2018-05-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits, but limited career opportunities at this time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Donaldson Company full-time

    Pros

    They are flexible about letting you work from home, and benefits are good (however, if your spouse has access to health insurance from their employer, then they can't be on your Donaldson benefits)

    Cons

    Work/life balance wasn't great and not a lot of career opportunities to move around within the organization

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2018-03-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The Good and the Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Donaldson Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good benefits and higher-than-average starting pay -Excellent paid holiday time, with the last day of work being the day before Christmas Eve, and the date of return January 2nd. -Steady work with regular schedule, and three 8-hour shifts available -Advancement opportunities -On-site nurse and physical therapist -Overtime (time and a half) after 8 hours -Union environment

    Cons

    -Almost every Saturday is mandatory overtime, and the company only has to give notice by the Wednesday prior, making it very hard to plan ahead in your personal life -There’s a high turnaround rate, and new people are always being trained while the more experienced employees move to day shift (which is harder to get on to - all new employees start on 2nd or 3rd shift). -The training is not very in-depth and oftentimes people are deemed qualified for machine operation jobs when they are not ready. This can make others jobs more difficult and ultimately, in the worst case, cause a safety issue. -Short break times for hourly employees -The company is going through a period where many of the people in upper management are at retirement age. There is a general feeling of unease among employees of all tenures regarding the future of the plant. -The safety of the machines is not always trustworthy. Management seems to worry about safety moreso after there is an incident, rather than preemptively. -The communication between management and hourly employees isn’t the greatest. Although a continuously changing schedule is not unusual in a lean manufacturing environment, it is more of an issue here than it should be.

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2017-11-30
  7. "Business Mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Donaldson Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, loyal to employees, good pay, good benefits, incentives, chance for advancement, empowers employees that have a willingness to grow.

    Cons

    I for one found little or no cons with my tenure at Donaldson. Like most companies, there the normal office politics that take place.

    Donaldson Company2017-07-26
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Hit or More Likely Miss..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Position in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Donaldson Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surprisingly good benefits and wage for newcomers to lower levels, like new college grads. Flexibility in schedule in many cases.

    Cons

    HR is slow, unfriendly, and many are incompetent. They purged and rehired a ton recently, so maybe that'll change. Training is embarrassingly bad. Might as well just tell new people to train themselves in many cases. Management is super petty and typically rose through the ranks without actually knowing what they are doing as managers. If your manager isn't good your time at Donaldson is going to be a nightmare. Of the 7 or 8 I worked with only 1 or 2 were really respected. They spend far too much time fighting between departments for resources and building their empires which leaves far too little time actually helping their customers. I personally left because after multiple attempts to highlight a major problem in my department and trying to get it fixed my manager started getting hostile instead of enabling me to get stuff done. Most managers don't care about what's right as much as they do playing the game.

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2017-07-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "2 years here and I am looking for a new company already."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Donaldson Company

    Pros

    Commission structure is good. Benefits are decent as well.

    Cons

    Have a hard time understanding where all sales numbers come from. Everything is too convoluted and distribution is too wide. Does not make you want to stay here. It's not bad, but also not engaging.

    Continue reading
    Donaldson Company2017-07-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Must enjoy factory life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Machine Operator in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Donaldson Company for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and very good benefits

    Cons

    Management doesn't understand what they are preaching. They talk about lean manufacturing, but they don't put principles into practice.

    Donaldson Company2016-11-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews