Doner Reviews | Glassdoor

Doner Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
David DeMuth
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can work long hours and some weekends with little notice(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management at this location are the most disingenuous, vile humans(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Worked Hard. Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Doner for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy place to work. Good non-automotive accounts for being in the Detroit area. Culture is starting to get better. Nice people.

    Cons

    A little understaffed. A bit old school. Culture and identity could use some improvement.

    Advice to Management

    You can't engineer culture. It must drain down from the top.

    Doner2018-05-22
  2. "Great Agency. Great People. Work could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Doner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people. The organization.

    Cons

    The people. The organization. Repeat.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of talent in Detroit. You need to take more advantage.

    Doner2019-06-11
  3. "Hit or Miss, Depending on Department/Superior(s)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Doner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -A lot of PTO, especially for new hires (4 week PTO to start) -401k match (vested after 3 years) -You can advance and learn a lot but that's dependent on superior(s). Depending on who your EVP/Brand Leader is, you could either be promoted based on merit and trained for leadership or be taken advantage of and ridiculed.

    Cons

    -Frequent Layoffs within Company and no explanation or Town Hall -Work life balance doesn't exist -A lot of longstanding employees who make change challenging. Very strict on old process and longer timelines, in an environment that can't accomodate and with consumers who have little patience. -Hard to move within brands, once you work on one and are good you are kind of stuck. -CEO

    Doner2019-06-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worked there a long time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Southfield, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Doner full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can make your own path/way there if you're smart/qualified! Good benefits & personal time (though you work hard while you’re there!).

    Cons

    Too internally political... Difficult to get salary increases over time, regardless of performance.

    Advice to Management

    Stem turnover by paying people what they’re worth, especially if they have put in some time with the company.

    Doner2019-05-14
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive 

      I worked at Doner full-time

      Pros

      Free Snacks, nice people, not bad

      Cons

      Heavy workload, client stress, small

      Doner2019-05-13
    • Helpful (5)

      "Dinosaur Agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Creative in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Doner full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I wish I had at least one.

      Cons

      This place is beyond behind on times, even the decor is stuck in the past. It’s no wonder they continue to loose accounts here. While working here I have experienced 4 rounds of layoffs. That’s not a good sign. And this is why...90% of the employees here are stuck in TV and print. Including the CCO. They claim they are aiming to do experiential and digital work. Which is a joke. Their idea of digital here is selling...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I don’t have anything to say. Even if I did, they wouldn’t change anything. Clearly they barely have and are moving at a snail slow rate to even do so.

      Doner2019-05-16
    • Helpful (5)

      "COLLEGE GRADS BEWARE!!! Bad reputation for a reason - toxic work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Services 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Doner full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      free beer once in a while (not worth it though)

      Cons

      Do yourself a favor & don’t accept a job at Doner. I wish I could go back and do the same for myself. The first month of the job is fine probably because of the rose colored glasses that get handed to you at the door. You think because of the beautiful decor & “happy” hours that this place is amazing... well just wait. Fast forward to another month of working at this place and you’ll start to notice the low morale...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don’t take out your bad attitude & bad mood on your employees because you are miserable. Learn to teach, train and grow your employees instead of walk all over them. Be more open and helpful and don’t make people feel bad because they don’t know what’s going on. They don’t know what’s going on because they never were trained properly.

      Doner2019-05-02
    • Helpful (5)

      "Great improvement in employee engagement; still a lot of work to do in gender equality"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Brand Leader in Southfield, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Doner full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Casual work environment. Lots of employee activities being offered. FINALLY a legit intranet. Pretty generous PTO.

      Cons

      Still a boys club. Check out the higher positions on the major accounts; really lacking any female leadership. Males a few years out of college and with no leadership experience being promoted because their male EVPs 'like them'.

      Advice to Management

      You need better checks and balances. Why was I not able to review my superior? The current review process of multiple check ins per year (upwards of 6) is not working. The questions asked are repetitive. How much really changes in two months? Does HR not question requested promotions? Someone with less than 5 years experience in the industry has no business leading a team.

      Doner2019-03-22
    • Helpful (4)

      "Good, but could be great."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Doner full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Really nice people Everyone worked well together Entrepreneurial - you can get things done since it's so flat People care Great design chops

      Cons

      Well...there are several big cons: 1. No real account leadership. There's a person in the role, but he's not really performing the job. Also is all about saving his own neck. Not to be trusted 2. Creative leadership is a complete joke from the CCO role. A joke. A joke as many of the reviews have indicated. No professional decorum. No relevant current ideas. No strong direction to his team. Has them spinning in circles,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Bring in leaders who people can rally around If you're so flat, allow open dialogue and conversation. Feels very cliquey Bring people in who understanding digital and social. I mean, does anyone know what ads you can actually make.

      Doner2019-03-05
    • "Its Advertising!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Producer in Southfield, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Doner full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Doner has stood the test of time by adjusting with the times. Great learning opportunities and the "opportunities" you make for yourself. Absorb up all you can. Learn all you can and don't be so sensitive - Its Advertising! No micro-managing if you do your job and great community development and being involved opportunities.

      Cons

      Again, it's advertising. That in itself is a con. Advertising can be a very unstable enviorment and at Doner is no different.

      Advice to Management

      Listen. Just listen. It all-around goes further than just waiting for your turn to talk.

      Doner2019-03-06
    Found 156 reviews