Donna Morgan Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
Donna Morgan Founder Larry Lefkowitz (no image)
Larry Lefkowitz
0 Rating
  1. "Long Time Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Donna Morgan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, great people to work with, learned a lot. Upper management is great at taking people under their wing to learn more about the business. CEO is really flexible and understanding with hours/time off. People who you work with in other departments are a great support system.

    Cons

    Because our backend is connected remotely to a larger company, we have IT issues here and there

    Donna Morgan2018-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Assistant Position"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Donna Morgan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heavily involved in all aspects of sales

    Cons

    Negative atmosphere and poor management

    Donna Morgan2019-07-12
  3. "Creative and Balanced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Donna Morgan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Creative and open to new ideas - Good team work and nice team members - Fast past environment, you have to think on your feet - New projects to work on with different clients/ markets - Really good work life balance - Travel

    Cons

    - No yearly performance reviews -

    Continue reading
    Donna Morgan2018-12-28
  4. "Positive Outlook"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Production in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Donna Morgan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You work with seasoned knowledgeable professionals. Small company, family environment. CEO is very hands on and supportive of her staff. She will always partner with you to find solutions to problems. Kathleen is a great mentor to young people starting in the industry. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Because we are part of larger IT network, response time is slow

    Continue reading
    Donna Morgan2018-11-19
  5. "11111111111111"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Donna Morgan

    Pros

    very helpful, learn a lot

    Cons

    no any cons at all! everything just perfect

    Donna Morgan2018-07-11
  6. "Working at Donna Morgan is by far the best opportunity I have ever been given."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-Commerce Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Donna Morgan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Donna Morgan is truly an incredible company. Unlike many CEO's that have also been in the business for a long time, Kathleen rolls with the changes in the industry. She is always on top of new trends and works side by side with her employees to give the customer what they want. She gives her employees the complete freedom and power to grow in the company and also explore what they like to do and are good at doing. She is willing to do whatever it takes to help you succeed. She wants you to love what you do and to be as excited about it as she is. She appreciates hard work and it never goes unnoticed. I didn't know much (or anything) about the part of the company that I ended up working in, and instead of firing me, she saw my potential. Anyone else would have fired me (or wouldn't have hired me), but not Kathleen. She saw that I was a hard worker and that I really wanted to learn, so she taught me and had my colleagues teach me as well. She not only gave me the opportunity and tools to succeed, she truly wanted me to. I started at the company as basically an intern just trying to learn, and less than two years later was working at a high level in that department, all because Kathleen was willing to teach me and give me the tools I needed to succeed. She cares about her employees and still has many people working for her that have been at the company since it started more than 15 years ago. This is my first time on Glass door, and I'm shocked by what some of these reviews say. Kathleen is one of the most incredible people that I have ever gotten the pleasure of knowing and learning from. It makes me feel like these people didn't even work at the same company that I did. I'm sad to say that if Kathleen were a man, most of these negative reviews would not exist. Due to the fact that she's a woman, even gentle constructive criticism, would deem her as some kind of monster. If she was a man, it would deem her as a wonderful boss. I watched Kathleen give chance after to chance to employees that sometimes didn't deserve it. Please don't let any of these negative reviews scare you, because they were probably written by those people. Working at Donna Morgan is by far the best opportunity I have ever been given, and if you are lucky enough to get involved in the company, I promise you won't regret it.

    Cons

    I have no cons to share. I feel so unbelievably grateful that Kathleen gave me the opportunity to not only work for the company, but to also show my dedication, learn, and grow at the company.

    Continue reading
    Donna Morgan2018-06-19
  7. "Technical designer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Donna Morgan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small, family like environment - exposed to experience all aspects of the business. If one has a great work ethic with very high quality standard of work, you will be much appreciated and compensated for... We have employees who's been here for +10 years, so Donna Morgan can't be all that "bad" as described on some of these reviews.

    Cons

    Due to lack of team in our department, multi tasking is must... and working long hour. Also our boss is known to micromanage but that's normal for someone who is a perfectionist and people who really understand her are not too really bothered by this.

    Continue reading
    Donna Morgan2018-03-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "You will learn who you DON’T want to be."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Donna Morgan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to be around someone as seasoned, knowledgeable and supportive as “Donna Morgan” herself is the only gift in working at this place. My negotiated pay was pretty high. Ultimately, I learned who I did NOT want to be as a designer, business person and human being after working here... which was incredibly valuable.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, all the reviews in regards to the behavior and demeanor of CEO Kathleen McFeeters and those that work directly under her are true. The entire company goes in the office in fear of if they will be the person yelled at like a dog who urinated on the floor. She is an unstable CEO, runs her business off of whims instead of stability, pits employees against each other, allows as well as participates in extensive gossip and fear mongering of employees, easily manipulated by senior employees to get others who are a threat fired. It’s an extremely toxic environment. Definitely not the pro-woman, pro-team environment they will sell you at the interview. If you realize this place isn’t a good fit and reject their employment offer Kathleen will stalk you for months trying to get you to work there. She constantly fires designers and rehires them with “bigger” promises and titles the next go round. Complete chaos. Extremely high rate of employee turn over. Senior employees are very threatened by anyone who has something to bring to the table and will turn on you to get you fired. They will attempt to prove their worth in the company by bashing others, alienating them from meetings, dismissing their good work, putting down their ideas and expertise or taking undue credit all to make themselves look good in Kathleen’s eyes. No team work at all. Every man for him or herself. Kathleen will fire you then try to contact you months later to rehire you. It is truly insane and ridiculous . Massive state and federal work place violations issues. Very unprofessional work environment. It is pretty clear that the positive reviews are written by Kathleen herself. Working here is akin to “The Devil Wears Prada” except it is even more insane and obviously without the glamour. At this point, it is widely known through the industry that this place is awful to work at.

    Continue reading
    Donna Morgan2018-03-13

    Donna Morgan Response

    December 5, 2018founder/owner

    Thank you for your review. Donna retired eight years ago; she would be thrilled to know your experience with her was so memorable. We hope you have found a fulfilling career.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Techncal Design"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tech Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Donna Morgan for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive co-workers and modern design aesthetic.

    Cons

    Bad work enviroment, nasty management.

    Donna Morgan2017-08-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible. The negative reviews are true."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Donna Morgan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A paycheck comes of your work, even if it is small.

    Cons

    Everything else everyone has said is spot on and there is no point for me to repeat it. I will agree that pay is low and Kathleen is psycho. She clearly wrote the positive reviews, look how obvious they are and starkly different they are from the actuality of the negative reviews! Truly insane.

    Continue reading
    Donna Morgan2017-06-13

    Donna Morgan Response

    December 5, 2018founder/owner

    Thank you for your review, The company went through some difficult times we are happy to be on the other side of that now. Please note that management is not allowed to write reviews on Glassdoor.

Found 40 reviews