Dorman Products Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Dorman Products President and Chief Executive Officer Mathias Barton (no image)
Mathias Barton
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "While my individual work/life balance is great, I know what others working at Colmar have to go through(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is a lack of training that makes it difficult to really "come on board" for about a year(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Colmar, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dorman Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Enjoyable work environment

    Cons

    Pay could be better across the board

    Continue reading
    Dorman Products2020-02-20
  2. "Run, run ,run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Colmar, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dorman Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of, unless you like highschool all over again.

    Cons

    Management bullies employees, HR allows this to happen. Very highschool like environment. You're either in the click or your not. Quality of the products are terrible at best.

    Continue reading
    Dorman Products2020-04-02
  3. "Favoritism"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colmar, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dorman Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance, Relaxed Environment, Young Crowd, Great People

    Cons

    Pay is weak. Directors and managers play favorites, and politics are alive and well. 70% of employees slack off and make more than the ones that are putting in the hours. If you have any new ideas, keep them to yourself, nobody here wants to hear them.

    Continue reading
    Dorman Products2020-01-14
  4. "Playing Favorites"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colmar, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dorman Products full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong benefits, good work/life balance, relaxed atmosphere, casual dress code. The worker bees are great to work with.

    Cons

    Favoritism at the top. If you are a part of the in crowd you'll move up within the company regardless if you can do the job or not.

    Continue reading
    Dorman Products2020-01-14
  5. "This place is a joke"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MH2 

    I have been working at Dorman Products full-time

    Pros

    Easy work Weekends off Nice people Lots play time Cornhole

    Cons

    Group leads play favorite. Most leads butch lazy kids with no clue.

    Dorman Products2020-01-02
  6. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Specialist 

    I have been working at Dorman Products full-time

    Pros

    team oriented, high growth opportunities

    Cons

    great place to work, no real cons to working here

    Dorman Products2019-12-09
  7. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colmar, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dorman Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Newer leadership taking the company in the right direction while preserving innovative, fast moving culture. Great place to learn and advance your career.

    Cons

    None that are significant enough

    Dorman Products2019-11-25
  8. "Good starter company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Colmar, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dorman Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is great, people are friendly, and there is room to move up.

    Cons

    People tend to advance through the engineering ranks fairly quickly, especially from Engineer 1 to Engineer 2, but once Engineer 3 is achieved you will be stuck there until a management position opens up. Engineers at Dorman are largely reviewing and inspecting parts that are developed overseas so the depth of engineering work that can be done is limited.

    Dorman Products2019-11-22
  9. "Growth At Any Cost"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dorman Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the relaxed dress code. I also like that at least in the building I work in, it's laid back as long as you and your teams are getting their jobs done. They also do a good sell on the positive aspects of their culture. I really do enjoy the work I do and the people I work with. The work life balance I have is great. The benefits are actually above average too.

    Cons

    The problem with growth at any cost is that the ugliness in a company gets really ugly. Things are often brute forced just to ram rod some new product out. I'm sure there's massive benefit to being the first to market, but there's a cost to that when you have to meet impossible deadlines. This often gets ignored. The reward structure that I have often heard so much about doesn't seem to exist at my level when you do go above and beyond, and you do so consistently. They preach about incentivizing their employees, but I and others I work with in the building have yet to see it. I know I deserve it and have brought it up, even have my boss agree with me, yet I've seen nothing. I also find the pay to not be competitive at all. There was a claim that they did a market analysis and that they were in line with what the local area demanded. If that was truly the case, we wouldn't lose people to warehouse jobs where they could make $4 more an hour. Even at the entry or mid management level, the competitive pay scale is a joke. Below market rate is their goal. I also find it disheartening that working with the people at Colmar is one big game of who can pass the buck to who. I've sat on conference calls where I've listened to this, only for them to try to pin it on people at the facility I work at. I think some of that stems from the fact that they have certain people doing too many things. While my individual work/life balance is great, I know what others working at Colmar have to go through. Some willingly put themselves in that position because they think they get to the executive level that way. Others are just kind of thrusted into it. I also saw another person write that they seem to like people who can make pretty spreadsheets. I've seen that myself and I work in a completely different facility!

    Continue reading
    Dorman Products2019-12-06
  10. "Absolutely fantastic company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping Specialist/Picker in Portland, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dorman Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    10: points per year, multiple ways to get time off, PTO and after 60 days, great pay.

    Cons

    Incentive is tough to make.

    Continue reading
    Dorman Products2019-10-30
Found 121 reviews