Dosh Reviews | Glassdoor

Dosh Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Dosh Founder and CEO Ryan Wuerch
Ryan Wuerch
22 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great community and a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dosh full-time

    Pros

    I have had the awesome opportunity of having all kinds of jobs for all different types of companies and organizations. The thing that separates Dosh from any place that I have worked, is the culture between co-workers. People genuinely care about you here, and I have made several lifelong friends at Dosh. We all come in every day with the drive to not only build something great but build something that is going to help others. The work is fun, the people are great, and the free lunch is certainly a big perk. I enjoy a lot of autonomy in my work because my boss trusts and knows that I am going to get my work done. All of this to say, Dosh is a great place to work!

    Cons

    Every job and workplace has its cons. For me, it has been discouraging to see "big names" get hired at such a small company/startup. In the past, Dosh has hired more for resume and what a person looks like rather than the type of person you are and the work you can do. This was mainly seen on the executive level, however this is starting to change.

    Continue reading
    Dosh2019-11-15
  2. "Fast-paced but high quality learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dosh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working with very intelligent and motivated people - Having clear and transparent business goals week to week, presented by the CFO and CEO - lunches, drinks, and snacks always stocked - Open office

    Cons

    - Historical resizing of the company saw some attrition and negativity in the company

    Dosh2020-01-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's a Startup that's starting to move like one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dosh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comp is pretty great for a startup. Lunch is always nice as well, and the benefits in general or pretty great. You're empowered to explore and come up with creative solutions to the problems that we're solving. This hasn't always been the case, but once we realized we were stifling our own growth, we implemented the necessary changes in order to take people's feedback and change the speed at which we move. Seeing Dosh take employees feedback to make changes like that is pretty promising. It's a company that listens to its employees. It's very much a startup, so if that's what you're looking for then this is for you.

    Cons

    Not everyone that was hired was built for a startup, as can be seen from some of the previous reviews. We pull talent from bigger companies in Austin and not to say they can't adapt, but a 3 year old start up will move differently and have different expectations than companies that have been around for 10+ years. We need to hire for the stage where we're at now.

    Continue reading
    Dosh2019-11-12

    Dosh Response

    February 5, 2020People Operations Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing that you feel empowered to do your job and to help our mission of moving billions of wasted advertising dollars into the pockets of millions of people! Like you said, we are a startup and proud to be. We will continue to focus on talent and projects that align with Dosh’s goals and growth trajectory. We’re excited you’re here!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Simply the most toxic culture I've been part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dosh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wages are usually higher than the average of other Austin companies. There's opportunity to work with a lot of modern technologies in software development.

    Cons

    Dosh is all about theory, when it comes to putting things in practice, everything that the CEO tries to fool on a biweekly meeting with the company falls apart. He's either a liar or he doesn't have a clue about what happens in his company from day to day. Almost all the managers on Dosh are unprepared for their positions. Usually, they are people who spent a couple of years in a technical position and after some point started to call themselves "managers", without having any leadership or skill for dealing with persons. Job security is something that does not exist on Dosh. It happened countless times to me to talk with someone in the office on Friday, to then on Monday the person got fired and all I always heard was "we had a business priority change". A couple of times it was even worse, as they did everything under the hood, so I didn't even know what had happened, that is: transparency is not a word on Dosh's dictionary.

    Dosh2019-10-13

    Dosh Response

    November 15, 2019People Operations Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback and perspective. Whether constructive or positive, feedback is the only way we can better ourselves here at Dosh. While we have had to do some recent restructuring, we remain laser-focused on our mission of moving billions of wasted advertising dollars into the pockets of millions of people. We are a startup which means we recruit and hire young talent. It’s our job to develop them as managers. They are extremely good at what they do and we believe in their future as managers with Dosh. While we do aim for transparency when it comes to company priorities and business challenges, we aren’t always able to share specifics concerning a particular employee’s situation. If you have additional feedback, we encourage you to reach out to our HR team (hrteam@dosh.cash) directly so that we can ensure we are taking it into account as we consider improvements to the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks and mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Success Agent in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dosh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The talent alone is something to be grateful for. Add on the perks, the mission and the compensation and you are set!

    Cons

    Depending on the department, management was subpar. Felt as if you had no direction and favoritism was at play.

    Continue reading
    Dosh2019-09-05

    Dosh Response

    November 15, 2019People Operations Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad that you commented on our ability to bring awesome people through the door! We’re pretty proud of it too! As you know, Dosh is a startup which means we recruit and hire young talent. It’s definitely our job to develop employees as managers but they are extremely good at what they do and we believe in their future with Dosh. Managers are hired or promoted based on their experience and potential. We appreciate the feedback on additional training and we will look at more educational opportunities as we grow and plan for 2020!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Strange whirlwind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dosh full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, location, salary, free food

    Cons

    Toxic culture, mismanaged financials, zero transparency about what the company is actually trying to accomplish

    Dosh2019-10-05

    Dosh Response

    November 15, 2019People Operations Generalist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about working at Dosh! We have made transparency a company goal after receiving feedback in several one-on-one sessions with current and previous employees. Some ways we have tried to change this perception is by having weekly stand ups that include our financial standings, sales progress and a ‘Just the Facts’ section for our CEO. ‘Just the Facts’ is a time where our CEO or other Executive team members speak freely about where we are today as a company. It’s also a time for questions from any employee and no question is too big or too small. Transparency is a goal we will continue to strive for as we make our way into the new year. If you have any additional tips or feedback for how we can make this happen, do not hesitate to reach out to hrteam@dosh.cash.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with big potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dosh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Culture of trust Managers who care Employee empowerment Good executive team

    Cons

    Needs more individual contributors to carry out mission

    Dosh2019-06-22

    Dosh Response

    August 5, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on working at Dosh. We appreciate how you noted our managers who care and employee empowerment. We believe for Dosh to be successful long-term it is a priority for us to allow employees the room to think creatively and be a part of making Dosh a great company with a top quality product. We are so glad you are a part of that!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (24)

    "Dosh is 100% about appearance (great pay & extremely toxic work culture)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bee Cave, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dosh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dosh seems like the dream company. Not only do they have a great, altruistic mission, which is to “improve people’s lives financially by moving billions of dollars to millions of people,” but they also pay extremely well, better than almost any other tech company in the Austin, TX area market, because they want the best after all (I mean, who wouldn’t, right?). And they have the best. Dosh has filled its trophy case to lure in the best talent and some of the most well-known investors in the tech industry. People who work at Dosh are smart, sharp, experienced, and the executive team are the ultimate all-stars—coming from Google, PayPal, Facebook, Nike, and more. And most of the employees are there because they believe in the mission and genuinely want to contribute to the betterment of others, to change the face of the advertising.

    Cons

    Be warned, Dosh is 100% about appearance. Dosh has the most toxic work culture that I’ve ever experienced (and I don’t say that lightly), where merit is not valued nearly as much as appearance. The attitude at Dosh is “get in line, or else.” Essentially, there’s a huge disconnect between the executives and the worker bees—a caste system in which the top is and will always be better than the bottom. And the top executive is the best example of that, as he’s been known to micromanage, belittle, and publicly embarrass his employees in order to maintain white-knuckle control over the appearance of his “fast-growing and highly successful” company. Dosh preaches of inclusivity, transparency, and acceptance, and for a little while, it seems that way. But soon enough, after enough isolation, lack of recognition, and downright mistreatment (which I’ve experienced and have seen across Marketing, Sales, Product, and Operations), people are scared to speak up for fear of backlash and blacklisting at Dosh and throughout the Austin tech community. In summary, there are some really wonderful and extremely talented people at Dosh—they hired the best, after all—but the cons outweigh the pros by a long shot. So, if you’re thinking about working at Dosh, please think carefully about whether that paycheck and potential opportunity to change advertising outweighs the toxicity and caste system that waits ahead.

    Dosh2019-05-28

    Dosh Response

    August 5, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. We agree that it is important at Dosh to have the best possible talent who are aligned to our company mission - that ensures we are all marching towards a goal that can make the greatest impact. It is disheartening to hear you feel the work culture is not a positive one. We offer many ways for employees to offer their direct feedback in a “safe space” - through quarterly pulse/feedback surveys (which are done anonymously), ‘Ask Me Anything’ sessions in our team stand up meetings and 360 feedback during our review cycles. As a startup, it is one of our top priorities to ensure employees have a place to grow and thrive and realize our success is contingent upon the success of our entire team. If you have further feedback you would like to share, please do not hesitate to reach out to me via HR@dosh.cash as I value the input to continue to improve our working environment.

    Continue reading
  9. "Pretty Good Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dosh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Management, Good Perks, Good mobility

    Cons

    Too many meetings, to be honest

    Dosh2019-04-16

    Dosh Response

    August 5, 2019CHRO

    Thanks for providing your review. We are grateful to have you as a part of our team and appreciate you highlighting the good management and mobility opportunities at the company. We understand the concerns about meetings and continue to adjust our internal meeting cadences, as finding a happy medium between too much and too little communication can be tricky!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Cool tech and opportunity, poor execution from being ego-driven, high stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dosh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're a software engineer, then Dosh is a great place to work. If you're not, well.... Good things about Dosh: -The engineering talent at Dosh is top notch. You probably won't find another company that has such a cohesive & talented team. -The company has an ability to raise money exceptionally well. It's scary how good Ryan is at selling the company. It really is an asset. -Dosh has an ability to quickly grow its overall user base through a referral program. It's probably one of the most successful referral programs out there. They hit #1 in the app store over winter holidays. -Dosh is a big name in the ATX startup scene, which can look good on a resume. If you're into that kind of thing. -Compensation is competitive. -Dosh just renovated its office and now serves lunch everyday. It's a nice facility to be in. -The director of IT & the executive assistant literally are the most badass rockstars I've ever seen. They take care of so many annoying things that you wouldn't realize are annoying unless they weren't there.

    Cons

    Dosh behaves like an ego-driven company. It feels like there's a huge gap between individual contributors and management, like there's two versions of reality. Bad things about Dosh: -Weak product management. The PMs seem to lack knowledge of the architecture & data of their products, and the roadmap is never executed on. Feature/product releases often break things & struggle to meet initial requirements. -Archaic view of data. The data is messy, which is normal. Dosh appears to refuse investing in consuming its own data, which is not normal for a company claiming to be data-driven. Dosh still seems to struggle with basic dashboarding for each of its functions. It makes stakeholders jobs much harder, especially sales & biz dev who get nearly no support whatsoever. There are no advanced analytics or data science happening at Dosh. Not even anything close. Probably the most stressful & least productive part of the company. -employees who have differing opinions are forced out of the company. zero emphasis on constructive feedback or conflict resolution in the company. Extremely high turnover (both firings & people leaving). Multiple VPs have left the company within the last couple of months. Feels like the attitude is "get in line or else". -Toxic culture. Merit is not valued near as much as appearance. If corporate politics are like the monarchy system, then Dosh's politics are like the survivor reality show. Stakeholders are consistently lied to about their roadmaps, to the point where no one believes them anymore. -Sales & biz dev are constantly talked bad about and blamed for company struggles. They severely lack support from data and have little to nothing to show potential clients. Probably the hardest job in the company. -Marketing seems to be on a tight leash. Company believes in eating its own dog food to eliminate wasted ad spend, which apparently means Dosh cannot advertise at all. -There are questionable ethics when it comes to interpreting data. People seem to look for stories they can tell rather than objectively view what the data means. Revenue reporting seems very unethical and feels dishonest. -Remote work is not near as tolerated anymore. The expectation is "butts in seats". -The office is in Bee Cave. It's quite a commute. In general, if you are a Data/Analytics, Sales, or Marketing professional, I recommend you stay far, far away from Dosh. You will find yourself in an impossible position all the time.

    Continue reading
    Dosh2019-04-09

    Dosh Response

    August 5, 2019CHRO

    We appreciate you sharing your perspective. You are absolutely right that we have an amazing team of people and appreciate you calling out the strength in our engineering talent, as well as our IT and EA team members. We are so grateful for the work everyone at the company puts in everyday to ensure our high growth is sustainable and focused. We are disappointed to hear you feel there is a disconnect between management and the broader team. We are focused on building a successful organization but do realize that is difficult and prioritization is a focal point in 2019. We recently implemented regular internal employee surveys and are using the direct feedback from those to improve our leadership and grow the best business possible. As to our data and analytics, the business model Dosh has built to disrupt the advertising model is completely different than anything done previously. We are building tools and solutions that ensure our customers receive the right data at the right time to prove the value of our product and the return on ad spend they expect. As to our location, we understand it can be far for some to commute, and have made our office environment the best possible place to work, grow and thrive. As well, in March 2019, we announced our new ‘Migration Assistance Program,’ which offers employees the opportunity to have Dosh-provided assistance in moving closer to the office.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews
</>Embed