Dot Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Dot Foods Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
John M. Tracy
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay Good Benefits Good Schedules(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great pay even for a part timer(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Home time is limited because of the volume of loads getting home as promised non exsistent(in 5 reviews)

  • "Long hours, no home time, more rules added weekly, job doesn't feel secure at all(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place, great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce 

    I worked at Dot Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good employer

    Cons

    Headquartered in a small town

    Dot Foods2019-06-03
  2. "Material handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Mount Sterling, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dot Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are descent at best

    Cons

    Not paid enough for the kind of work. The work schedules are terrible. Leadership does not care about the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about your employees! Come up with some better schedules for your warehouse workers, no one wants to work weekends or nights but that’s about the only option. -sincerely, a disgruntled worker

    Dot Foods2019-05-31
  3. "Great Family Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dot Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family Owned - great culture. They care about employees.

    Cons

    Travel and location of main office are a little bit of a hindrance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on employees and they will take care of the customers!

    Dot Foods2019-04-22
  4. "Good place to work, pays nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Material Handler 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Dot Foods part-time

    Pros

    production bonus, and hours, and management

    Cons

    there are no cons I can think of

    Dot Foods2019-04-22
  5. "Great company for drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transfer Driver in Ardmore, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dot Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern equipment. Good dispatchers. Good routes. Get dispatched on wed and friday.

    Cons

    They expect me to run over 3k miles a week and still have the weekend off. I have to pay more income taxes. They dont let me sit in truck stops waiting on loads.

    Advice to Management

    Dont change a thing!

    Dot Foods2019-04-13
  6. "A great place to jump-start a career in trucking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Cambridge City, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dot Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great training, with driver trainers with 20+ years of experience -competitive starting pay in a 'learn-to-earn program,' for drivers just starting out. -great benefits, and flexible schedules allowing the driver to choose a life outside of driving, or to pursue more time on the road.

    Cons

    Other than the normal complaints drivers will have anywhere, there isn't really anything one can think of that's too bad.

    Dot Foods2019-03-19
  7. "Can't Beat Them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transfer Driver in Mount Sterling, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dot Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, Benefits, Hometime, reliable equipment, good support.

    Cons

    Hours of operation at times, management doesn't really listen if you don't have a college degree.

    Advice to Management

    Get over the idea that a degree is required for someone to have a good idea.

    Dot Foods2019-02-18
  8. "Great Company to Work for, a little out of touch with compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dot Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    After 60 + years, you are still able to meet the CEO, President, and others of the family who manages the company.

    Cons

    Because of the HQ location there are certain benefits which are out of touch of the market. For example vacation, salary, and insurance effective dates.

    Advice to Management

    Know current employees are replaceable, yes; but you have invested a lot into what they do, so their relationships with the customers needs to be rewarded. Without customers there is no Dot Foods.

    Dot Foods2019-01-30
  9. "Great understanding company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Dot Foods part-time

      Pros

      Understanding of educational requirements for me

      Cons

      Tech stack is not that modern focused

      Dot Foods2019-01-03
    • "AR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dot Foods full-time

      Pros

      Work from home allowed in some areas.

      Cons

      Department level managers are rarely around.

      Dot Foods2018-12-30
    Found 117 reviews