Douglas County School District (CO) Reviews | Glassdoor

Douglas County School District (CO) Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Douglas County School District (CO) CEO Elizabeth Celania-Fagen
Elizabeth Celania-Fagen
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great school with great teachers, District provided a lot of PD in Project based learning and other areas(in 8 reviews)

  • "great kids, great families, many devoted teachers, some progressive teaching ideas are viable(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Evaluation system is ridiculous(in 13 reviews)

  • "BOE doesn't support individual schools(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, great schools!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookkeeper/Administrative Assistant in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent working environment, fast paced, organized, making a difference.

    Cons

    Not a ton of training if you’re new, almost a learn as you go. Lots of different programs/software to use and sign into

    Douglas County School District (CO)2019-04-19
  2. "Friendly Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Armed Patrol Officer in Castle Rock, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Flexible, benefits, friendly staff, fail, pay

    Cons

    No professional training, Don't listen to staff concerns

    Advice to Management

    Need to learn how to take criticism

    Douglas County School District (CO)2019-05-08
  3. "Math teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Teacher in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The pros and cons really depend on your school leadership. I work for an amazing principal, so I feel respected and empowered to do my job. Colleagues are helpful and families are mostly supportive.

    Cons

    The pay is low compared to neighboring districts. Facilities need improvement. We have too many teachers in mobile classrooms that are small and not secure. Benefits are inconsistent for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the lead of the district’s best principals (there are many). Don’t micromanage your teachers and encourage professionalism at school.

    Douglas County School District (CO)2019-04-20
  4. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Math Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time

    Pros

    It’s ok but wish it paid more

    Cons

    The pay is low compared to other districts

    Douglas County School District (CO)2019-04-19
  5. "New model for providing SLP services exploits SLPs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Depending on the school, the individuals on the SPED team can be excellent

    Cons

    When two schools need two full-time SLPs, the district instead places one SLP part-time at two schools and then requires that SLP to manage AND CERTIFY THE WORK of two part-time SLPAs, turning the SLP into a working manager with no support, pay, or resources for the extra travel, management, and training responsibilities. District also changes the FTE allocation of the SLPAs from year-to-year, so even if an SLP donates...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This new penny-pinching SPED model exploits professionals and borders on being unethical. Fix it.

    Douglas County School District (CO)2019-04-28
  6. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Douglas County School District (CO) part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great place to work at.

      Cons

      No cons... great place to work at.

      Douglas County School District (CO)2019-04-08
    • "Horrible Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - SSN Para Professional in Highlands Ranch, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Douglas County School District (CO) part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are zero pros in this position.

      Cons

      Poor pay, no training or instruction, treated poorly as a professional educator, injured on the job with no support.

      Advice to Management

      Provide training for working with Severe Special Needs Students. Be honest in the interview process with the type of students being worked with, give support to new employees in this field, and provide a much better learning, supportive environment for the Severe Needs Students, as well as much better pay for a demanding position.

      Douglas County School District (CO)2019-04-08
    • "Loved being a part and able to support such a great school, way to go CSE!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Educational Assistant in Castle Rock, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Awesome team members and wonderful school!

      Cons

      Couldn't think of any if I tried.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Douglas County School District (CO)2019-01-29
    • "Weak leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Douglas County School District (CO) full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great people who care for students for the most part

      Cons

      Too many teacher left due to culture of leadership and salaries

      Douglas County School District (CO)2019-01-24
    • "Ok if you like being treated as cattle."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Lunch Lady in Highlands Ranch, CO
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Douglas County School District (CO) part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Some great team mates. Others were two-faced backstabbers.

      Cons

      Manager is abusive and still allowed to work there, despite high staff turnover. They would rather lose good employees than fix the problem. Pay for performance. I was told if management gave us 4 out of 4 rating, that was not acceptable to the school district because "no one is that good." Not sure if she was telling me the truth or not.

      Advice to Management

      The lunch ladies deserve as much respect as anyone else.

      Douglas County School District (CO)2019-01-21
    Found 165 reviews