Dow Jones Reporter Reviews | Glassdoor

Dow Jones Reporter Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Dow Jones CEO William Lewis (no image)
William Lewis
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - News Reporter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, motivating, fun, great co-workers

    Cons

    More than 40 hours per week, slow to hire

    Dow Jones2017-10-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Chaotic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in New York, NY

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to work with some of the best reporters and editors in the business.

    Cons

    Highly chaotic work environment. Zero job security, despite the presence of a union.

    Dow Jones2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work, learn at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with smart people, constantly being challenged

    Cons

    Compensation could be higher. Prestige can only go so far.

    Advice to Management

    More diversity in the newsroom and management needed

    Dow Jones2017-10-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, love it here, amazing colleagues and reporting opportunities as a journalist. Terrific and creative, stimulating environment in the heart of the city.

    Cons

    Really cannot think of any. I am new to Dow Jones, here only a few months, but so far the benefits are wonderful and the culture is very inclusive and open.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do the great work you do leading lots of different teams who are creative in the digital and social media, online and journalistic spaces. Great job!

    Dow Jones2017-09-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible schedule, great working environment with employee discounts and activities

    Cons

    Needs better communication about company's short term goal.

    Dow Jones2017-06-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Reporter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay if you've been around for awhile. Not so much if you're coming in new.

    Cons

    No idea or direction of long-term prospects. Frequent layoffs and uncertainty in job status. Nobody is safe in editorial. Hiring of cheap reporters from lesser trade mags with less experience is wide spread now.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what you want to be and get real with employees. Stop trying to break the union and focus on quality journalism.

    Dow Jones2016-08-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Human Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are friendly and kind. Managers are accommodating in the face of personal or family problems and offer flexible terms to work out of home or any other location.

    Cons

    The company used to be slow moving but it rapidly trying to fix that.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pace of decision making.

    Dow Jones2016-02-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "So-So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job expectations are clearly communicated

    Cons

    Few opportunities to move up

    Dow Jones2015-04-01
  9. "Evolving Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Got lots of responsibility, opportunity to work on projects that taught me new things.

    Cons

    Reorganizations create a sense of uncertainty. No budget for training off location.

    Dow Jones2014-10-08
  10. "Stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporting Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned plenty, had fun, and met some of the brightest and coolest people ever. It was a stepping stone that looks good on a résumé, but not a permanent place to work.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, and I was called a "reporting assistant" even though I was in fact a reporter.

    Advice to Management

    Value your talent with better pay.

    Dow Jones2014-08-18
Found 25 reviews