Downstream Casino Resort Reviews | Glassdoor

Downstream Casino Resort Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Downstream Casino Resort CEO John Berrey (no image)
John Berrey
10 Ratings
  1. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Network Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Loved working at downstream they are incredible

    Cons

    I have no cons I

    Downstream Casino Resort2019-04-09
  2. "Good job, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer/Cook in Quapaw, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good job, benefits

    Cons

    Pay, not much else negative

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    Downstream Casino Resort2019-04-30
  3. "So-So job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Security 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Downstream Casino Resort full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, PTO, overtime allowed

    Cons

    Good ol' boy system in security, lots of favoritism (in all departments), lots of politics. Your voice or opinion does not matter. High turnover rate because it's not a fun place to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect, stop being "friends" with certain employees. Stop being so greedy for money !!

    Downstream Casino Resort2019-04-21
  4. "Beverage Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, reasonable breaks and you can wear comfortable shoes.

    Cons

    Your primary income is tips. Once intoxicated, guess is cut off, they are still allowed to play, so they are now the full responsibility of the beverage server.

    Advice to Management

    If someone is too intoxicated to drink, they should not be able to gamble. They are not capable of making rational decisions when it comes to their money. When someone is cut off due to intoxication, they should be escorted out. In the gaming industry, multiple lawsuit presidents have been set where a player was over served alcohol, then cut off but still allowed to gamble. Once the player sobered up, ... he sued the casino stating that he was too intoxicated to make coherent and resposible decisions while gambling. Only being concerned with how much he could lose, the casino allowed him to continue. With all of this being said, it should not be the beverage servers responsibility to make sure that she does not continue to serve the patron when he has already been cut off by security and the beverage department!!

    Show More
    Downstream Casino Resort2019-01-13
  5. "Electronic Media Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronic Media Specialist in Quapaw, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    401k, PTO and a Employee dining room

    Cons

    Huge turnover with both management and subordinate positions. 1100 employees fully staffed. 3000 employees rotate through annually.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the general manager full control of the property.

    Downstream Casino Resort2018-09-25
  6. "Good benefits and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of perks, good pay.

    Cons

    Poor management, too much favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within to qualified people. Get rid of managers with negative attitudes.

    Downstream Casino Resort2018-09-01
  7. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed the people I worked with, and the details of the job.

    Cons

    Management does not recognize all shifts equally.

    Advice to Management

    Pull your heads out of your butts and recognize graveyard employees and realize long term management does not mean they are good management.

    Downstream Casino Resort2018-03-24
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Downstream Casino Resort

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Employee Dining, Holliday pay, people, food, break rooms. Blah blah blah I'm just filling space due to the 20 work limit

    Cons

    Work holidays and parking and housekeepers are annoying. Blah blah I'm just filling space due to the 20 work minimum

    Downstream Casino Resort2017-09-05
  9. "dual rate supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dual Rate Floor Supervisor in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great people. Advancement.

    Cons

    Too unforgiving at times. Play favorites.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. All rules apply to everyone

    Downstream Casino Resort2016-12-07
  10. "Guess Room Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Guest Room Attendant in Webb City, MO

    I worked at Downstream Casino Resort for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work for besides the pay for cleaning rooms.

    Cons

    Work really hard for only $9.00/hour

    Advice to Management

    Need to pay the workers more for all they do to clean a four star hotel room

    Downstream Casino Resort2016-09-22
Found 21 reviews