Downtown Streets Team Reviews | Glassdoor

Downtown Streets Team Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Downtown Streets Team CEO Eileen Richardson (no image)
Eileen Richardson
14 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best Organization to Work for in the Bay Area! Period!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazingly supportive culture from the top down, great benefits, incredibly compassionate group of people who love what they do and are excited to get to work!

    Cons

    Honestly there are no cons about this agency, it's simply amazing!

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-09-30

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for your great and supportive feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "DST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - DST is an amazing community, people really care about others success here and want to see each other grow - You have to be a self-starter to work well here: ask questions, take risks, learn from failures - People here, above all, really care about the folks that we work with -Management takes the time to really get to see what the needs of staff are, and take action to meet those needs - For a non-profit, the benefits are amazing

    Cons

    If you don't take care of yourself properly, you can quickly fall into a burnout state.

    Downtown Streets Team2019-08-29

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for your feedback. Please reach out to our Director of HR if you feel you need support on how to balance work-life.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Company is in need of new leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time

    Pros

    Team Members that we work with are resilient and making best out of their difficult lives. Company offers benefits that aren't normally offered at a nonprofit: insurance (health, vision, dental, life) 100% paid by employer, new laptops, iPhones or phone stipend, 3 day annual retreat.

    Cons

    Job seekers be advised: CEO has tried to make employees write positive reviews about the nonprofit, even tried to implement it as something to be completed by their 6 month review. Leaders (exec staff and directors) model inappropriate behavior for a nonprofit of this caliber: yelling and using profanities at meetings, talking poorly about nonprofits doing similarly important work, engaging in excessive drinking with staff. Direct Service staff and supporting roles do not receive enough support from supervisors or HR- often supervisors don't have the professional development or experience to support or manage. DST didn't have HR department for over 1 year, with a staff of 50+. CEO hires friends of hers as consultants and then quickly brings them on full-time as Directors to avoid opening up the hiring process to the public or current staff.

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-10-29

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. We take all feedback seriously and use it as a way to improve the organization. Employees are able to share their concerns in a confidential way and we would encourage you to reach out to the Director of HR (HR@Streetsteam.org) as a means to do so. Glassdoor encourages employers to request Glassdoor reviews from their current employees. This gives employees an additional outlet to voice positive and negative feedback and allows the organization to see where improvement may be needed.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "You should probably reconsider working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Downtown Streets Team full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some extremely genuine and good people who work here. A lot of people truly care about the mission and want to help. Working with Team Members in an incredible privilege and you do get to make real community impact.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros here. This organization has no idea what a healthy work environment is, with alcohol being present far more often than it should be. Boundaries are very gray, which leads to inappropriate behavior and an overall uncomfortable environment. DST will say that people who complain are just too sensitive or can't handle their fast-and-loose environment. They gaslight employees into thinking that its their issue, and not an issue with the culture. Raises and promotions are often given to "favorites" who are basically yes-men who don't question the status quo (even if multiple complaints have been made about an individual). I've seen countless smart and good-hearted people leave the organization as management does not value these qualities as much as individuals who don't question them. This prevents teams from improving and leads to poor service delivery.

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-07-15

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    We appreciate you letting us know how you feel as we value your feedback and continuously look for ways to improve the organization. We especially value your suggestion to invest in professional development and are making progress in this area. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

    Continue reading
  5. "Incredible, challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The program design is transformative for the population it serves, you will be forever touched by what is made possible with Downtown Streets Team. Creativity is welcomed and there is never a dull day. Next level health benefits and fun/silly staff.

    Cons

    Doesn’t pay anywhere close to the 6 figure salary everyone in the bay needs to thrive. Support can often be lacking/management may not always have the best approaches to addressing employee concerns. Some issues with organization, funding and efficacy as with many non-profits

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-06-26

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for your feedback. We take feedback seriously and will take your suggestions into consideration.

    Continue reading
  6. "A Rewarding Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time

    Pros

    Downtown Streets Team has a mission that makes an impact on the lives of many individuals experiencing homelessness or are on the verge of homelessness. The executive team is supportive and supports all of the staff from the managers of each branch to the direct services. I never feel unheard. There is an innovative approach to how the organization functions. Anytime a new person enters the company, their ideas are brought to the table & we adapt to see if those ideas work. If the idea doesn't work, then we find a way to make it work. There is support for all project managers, case managers, and employment specialists. Each group gets together monthly to share their support and resources. Work-life balance is important to the organization. I never feel like I have no life outside of work.

    Cons

    Due to the growth of the organization, it is tough always meeting every month. When you live far away from a specific location, it's not the most convenient. There should be 2 sets of staff meetings: 1 for the south and 1 for the north.

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-05-30

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for your feedback. We value our employees' comments and suggestions on how to improve the organization. We will take your feedback into consideration.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Changing lives one day at a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy my position at Downtown Streets Team. Each day is a different experience so it is never a dull moment. The Team Members are what keep me motivated. I work hard each day with the intention of fostering a community of dignity, understanding, and respect. The community I work in is highly invested in ending homelessness and really respects our Team Members. I enjoy working closely with the other employees in the agency who all come from a different background but all work with passion in their heart. We are always learning from one another and I feel very supported. I especially feel supported, heard, and understood by my Manager. My Manager makes an effort to check in with me weekly to see if I need support in my role, helps talk me through difficultly, and provides me feedback.

    Cons

    There are two employee who have been the topic of many issues within the agency and I hope that Management will take an active role in protecting the people who these people targeting. Both people make the work place difficult for many. One person micromanages her direct and indirect reports. The other person is sexist, demeaning, and using his role to get what he wants. They both reflect poorly on the company as a whole and people feel that this is the only way to confidential voice their concerns (hence all the recent negative reviews). If the two people were reprimanded or removed from the company this would be the perfect place to work.

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-05-19

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Please make use of our Director of HR. Email her confidentially on hr@streetsteam.org.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Healthy culture is a farce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The clients. Working with them is the best part of my day. My colleagues are amazing, intelligent and genuine. We all really care about the work we're doing.

    Cons

    These new company changes that are supposed to promote a healthier culture. The fact that I have to address my complaints on glassdoor.

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-05-03

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback - it is important to us and we use it as an opportunity to grow and improve the organization. The organization as a whole supports flexibility and allows employees to have some freedom in their schedule as long as they are working 8 hours per day. If you wish to provide further feedback please email HR@streetsteam.org. Thanks again for taking the time to share this.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Downtown Streets Team full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The gossip and constant drama kept the company interesting. The clients, or rather, people experiencing homelessness were wonderful to work with.

    Cons

    Terrible management --Really, the previous reviews are spot on. Management even pressured staff to write good reviews about this company on this platform! I hear the company is under investigation for workplace disputes? Lack of transparency -- about pretty much everything. From pay, promotions, to hiring practices. Everything was done in a secretive manner, and often was done incompetently.

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-05-11

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    We appreciate you letting us know how you feel as we value your feedback and continuously look for ways to improve the organization. Glassdoor encourages employers to request Glassdoor reviews from their current employees. This gives employees an additional outlet to voice positive and negative feedback and allows the organization to see where improvement may be needed.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Start up abuse, half the salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Downtown Streets Team full-time

    Pros

    Your coworkers will be the best part of your day. They are the only ones who support you, teach you anything and have your back. The pay and benefits are slightly higher than industry standard.

    Cons

    If you’re interested in working for a non-profit that oversimplifies complex social problems, celebrates lack of experience and promotes based on favoritism this is the agency for you. You will be tone policed and bullied by upper management that abuse their power if they don’t like your approach or personality. In San Francisco you can expect to be micromanaged (directly or indirectly) and belittled (or witness to belittling comments) by management as they enjoy enacting their superiority complexes via joking around and making demeaning comments to undercut their staff psychologically. They are controlling and distrustful of staff then wonder why morale is low and force group activity. New/favored people who come off as promising yes men will be supported to move up quickly and others with longer history at the agency rejected for the same roles when they apply. People are told their rejection is due to their lack of experience, yet promoted people have less than 6 months experience. Directors enjoys unchecked raises, promotions, vacations and work from home privileges while the direct service staff who ACTUALLY work with homeless clients and do intense emotional and logistical work each day are kept at or under 50k and their time is monitored closely and micromanaged. The support you'll get? The infrequent Slack message asking if you feel supported and how you'd like to be managed (i.e. tell me what to do, as I do not know how to be a manager). When you do suggest something, it won't be enacted. Don’t expect transparency at DST, especially not in San Francisco. The management in SF will tell people not to "air frustrations" when you are having an issue. It is sad how fake everything is. The definition of toxic. Management operates under total fear based and often absent leadership. The agency likes to hire young because people with years of professional working experience would notice these things as red flags immediately. Why swim upstream when you could work with supportive, authentic, collaborative and mature professionals elsewhere?

    Continue reading
    Downtown Streets Team2019-05-08

    Downtown Streets Team Response

    January 16, 2020COO

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and please reach out to HR@streetsteam.org to share additional feedback in a confidential manner. We are implementing many things that address the issues you have identified including; professional development plans for every employee, professional coaching and resources for managers, as well as a full cycle recruitment process that supports growth from within. Your experience as an employee at DST is important, thanks again for sharing.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews