DraftKings Reviews in Boston, MA | Glassdoor

DraftKings Boston Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
DraftKings CEO Jason Robins
Jason Robins
49 Ratings
  1. "Really great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DraftKings is a group of very smart people who are great to work with. The company handles any of its business challenges with a lot of consideration as to how employees will be affected. They are a family friendly organization that is a fun place to work.

    Cons

    Due to company growth, office space is a bit tight.

    DraftKings2018-03-28
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to work with smart people and make meaningful contributions. Cool perks like massages, haircuts, snacks, beer, etc. Company is growing rapidly and I'm excited to be a part of it!

    Cons

    Requires some mental fortitude to deal with negative external allegations, legal challenges, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing for growth and stick to well-thought-out plans

    DraftKings2018-03-23
  3. Helpful (3)

    "It is What it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Player Advocate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DraftKings part-time

    Pros

    No phone support, good office perks including food and some swag

    Cons

    no benefits, low $, and poor communication from managers, robotic

    DraftKings2018-04-08
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Wait & See"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks are awesome. Snacks, coffee/nitro, beer, catered food on fridays, haircuts, massages, manicures, the list goes on. Most of the people are great. Compensation is on par or above places.

    Cons

    Org and process is pretty bad. Things don't seem to be thought through before decisions are made. A few people that have been here a long time are very stuck in their ways and not open to much change. Work on a lot of things that never get built or get pushed back.

    DraftKings2018-01-10
  5. "Customer experience associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great snacks/drinks/beer - Office environment is great - Help is there when needed

    Cons

    -Absolutely no communication for performance. - No job security - Work all holidays

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with associates on performance, before laying them off.

    DraftKings2017-12-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Annonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time

    Pros

    I love working for DraftKings. Everyone is extremely smart and passionate. The perks are great- manicure, baber, massage- free snacks, you name it, we have it. Good work/life balance too.

    Cons

    Still operating as a startup so something are not stream lined the way they might be in a large organization. Just small growing pains.

    DraftKings2017-11-02
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Great beer, No follow-through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited beer, snacks, and haircuts - Smart and fun software engineers and peers

    Cons

    - Listen to employees, hire a real HR department, start to deal with harassment and habitual non-performers. - Top-heavy management lacks ability to make decisions and plan - Lack of strategy or roadmap turns everyday into a fire-fight

    Advice to Management

    - Hire experienced senior leadership - Streamline middle management

    DraftKings2017-10-17

    DraftKings Response

    November 2, 2017Sr Manager, HR Business Partner

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value and consider all feedback as it helps us understand where we might still have yet to improve, but I want to address your specific concerns here. As a growing, young company, we are always iterating and enhancing how we work as a ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A company w/ a heart learning how to share it's greatness in more meaningful ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Incredible level of engagement. The people who work here want DK to succeed because they truly love it here. -Everyone will take the time to help you succeed, even if you have no clout yet, i.e. new hires, interns, etc. -Wonderfully diametrically opposed to what you'd expect with sports tech: Thoughtful vs. gut reactions, caring vs. "bulldoze everyone to get what you need," etc. -A very unique perks culture, i.e....

      Show More

      Cons

      -Growing so quickly that there we have to play 'musical conference rooms.' That being said, employees are very respectful of each other vs. typical 'stare downs' and glares from the other side of the glass.

      Advice to Management

      Yes, there is a LOT of work to do, but people simply love working here. Just imagine how the enhancements & tweaks will make DK an unstoppable force in tech (beyond just being known for a cool product/service)! Looking forward to our future.

      DraftKings2017-09-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Employer!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I absolutely loved working for the company!

      Cons

      There are no cons. The company is incredible!

      DraftKings2017-06-05
    • Helpful (7)

      "Customer Experience Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Boston, MA

        I worked at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great Environment. Work is not difficult. Although working on Sunday is not ideal, they have RedZone playing.

        Cons

        No room for growth. Hours/days of the week to work are not good. Leadership is not always friendly or willing to help the appropriate way. If you make a small mistake there are some people who will care way more than they should.

        Advice to Management

        Be willing to help those in positions below you, even if they are in a contract position. Work as a TEAM.

        DraftKings2017-05-21
      Found 62 reviews