DraftKings Reviews in Boston, MA | Glassdoor

DraftKings Boston Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
DraftKings CEO Jason Robins
Jason Robins
49 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DraftKings for less than a year

    Pros

    Beer Fridays, Encouraged to watch sports, Encouraged to try new things

    Cons

    Cold Weather, Sports, Mac Office, Snow

    DraftKings2017-04-12
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing If You Drink The DK Kool-Aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks can be pretty cool including tickets to games and chances to meet players from time to time. 95% of the people are amazing, but there are a few individuals who lack scruples and they seem to be the ones making decisions. The co-founders are wonderful and their vision is great.

    Cons

    DraftKings is great while you're there and you're drinking the DK Kool-Aid, but the truth is that there is a rampant sexism/harassment problem that is continuously swept under the rug by HR. Promotions are often political and not earned. As far as compensation goes, personally I was paid at just over 50% of my market value and I know I'm far from the only one who was underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Deal with your HR problems, they're out of hand.

    DraftKings2017-05-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fun, Open Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DraftKings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some like to complain about the "Bro" Culture at DraftKings, but I never once saw or experienced that. DK takes care of its employees and is always offering opportunities to grow your career

    Cons

    Some of the upper management employees simply will not accept when they're wrong.

    DraftKings2017-03-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A+ Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fun culture to be a part of Care about employees Great benefits

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind

    Advice to Management

    None

    DraftKings2017-01-25
  5. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings

    Pros

    - Great team environment - Opportunity to work at the forefront of an exploding industry - Work environment is well-balanced. Fast-paced and laid back at the same time

    Cons

    - Growing pains that come with any fast-growing company/industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep rolling with the punches as we continue to grow. Continue to focus on communication within and in between departments.

    DraftKings2016-09-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "High octane, high reward, fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constantly striving to improve processes and self, which usually leads to iterationally better products, better process, better infrastructure. Current and always evolving technology stack including almost all areas of work (cloud, DB, mobile, web, High expectations for developers to deliver, test, and deploy high quality code. Industry competitive pay Great growth opportunities. Employees really treated like they...

    Show More

    Cons

    Things move too fast, and often result in unclear objectives. Often, the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing i.e. different teams work on similar pieces and lead to issues.

    Advice to Management

    Some teams do not deliver the same quality as other teams and do not plan as detailedly - getting this up to snuff would help overall productivity and would make those who do deliver better quality and plan more in detail. Get 401K match in place. Enforce a minimum amount of vacation time taken maybe? Too easy to take too little vacation time, due to pace and pressures.

    DraftKings2016-03-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great company with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - QA Engineer in Boston, MA

      I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      DK definitely asks people to work hard, but they have generous benefits (including tuition reimbursement) and fun extras (in-office massage, haircut, and manicures; snacks; discount tickets to games/concerts) as well as competitive salaries. As part of the tech organization, I get to work on interesting projects alongside some very smart engineers. We have all-hands meetings that are very transparent, and the CEO will...

      Show More

      Cons

      There is a very strong bias for action; this could be a good thing, but sometimes it is pushed too far and results in high stress for little net benefit. The negative media attention can also be a pain -- I work for a great company, love my job and have great career trajectory, but when people ask me about work it is often in this hushed tone, as if they are embarrassedly asking about a relative with addiction problems.

      Advice to Management

      Please keep it up! I have never worked for a leadership team that I believed in so strongly.

      DraftKings2016-03-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "Welcome to the Big Time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Building a groundbreaking industry - Relaxed but professional work environment - Transparency from upper management - Empowered to perform your job - Lot of different opportunities to learn new skill sets

      Cons

      - Some senior management needs to be replaced - There can be an unbalance of workload at certain times

      Advice to Management

      - Find and identify top talent currently at company and move them into bigger roles - Weed out people who no longer want to truly be at DraftKings - Make sure you don't lose sight on the importance of culture

      DraftKings2016-03-02
    • Helpful (4)

      "Love working here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Relaxed work environment - Everyone is friendly and sociable - Fun to work for a company that is growing so fast - Opportunities to go to fun events

      Cons

      - None that I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work. It's awesome to work here and you've created a great office environment.

      DraftKings2016-01-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      young, dynamic environment, take good care of their employees, interesting technical issues, state of the art technology (using c# though)

      Cons

      going through a rough patch now with all the controversy, law suits, un-known future; grew very fast so there is now over emphasis on process (will get better over time though), long hours (problematic if you have kids and family), weekend support during NFL season, on call over night one week a month

      Advice to Management

      so far doing great. some mistakes where done early on but that is expected - young management, new domain, had to draw fire. play down the $mil maker and more emphasis on people having fun and engaged with sports; go international as soon as possible!!

      DraftKings2016-01-22
    Found 62 reviews