KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

DraftKings

Engaged Employer

DraftKings

Add a Review

DraftKings Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 291 reviews

4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DraftKings CEO Jason Robins
Jason Robins
9 Ratings

What people are saying about DraftKings

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DraftKings and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great WLB, Great teamates, good salary

    Jul 27, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - 8 hour day is typical - Teammates are intelligent and there is not a bro culture - Salary is pretty good - Managers and timelines are realistic - Low stress

    Cons

    - Certain higher level software engineers have an attitude - Release process is lengthy but required

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good people, good WLB, good company

    Jul 6, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great office, collegiality and culture are strong

    Cons

    At the time, there was some high-level disorganization (understandable in hindsight as the IPO was about to happen).

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun product, moving fast

    Jan 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun products, good people, fast paced, really positive business outlook

    Cons

    Fast pace means aggressive timelines and lack of technical foresight

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DraftKings Response

    Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Your thoughts are much appreciated, and we welcome your ideas for improving internal workflows and processes. We want to ensure our employees have a say in shaping the future of DraftKings. Jason

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company Great Team

    Sep 12, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is very open with what's going on. The management works with you to make and reach your goals. Great team dynamics, and cross-team communication. Fun work environment, (miss seeing the team each day since WFH started)

    Cons

    Only down for me, engineers wear many hats, and some of those can really cut into the day. The plan of engineers needing to own the process from design to support is understandable but isn't my favorite. Though not 'put forth' by the company, the people who really excel, never really turn it off, always watching the dashboards etc, it can take you over.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DraftKings Response

    Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your thoughts. It's great to read that your experience is going well so far. We appreciate your candid feedback. It will be shared with our Engineering leaders. However, in the meantime, we welcome you to relay any areas of opportunity to your HR Business Partner and direct manager. Jason

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best company I’ve ever worked for! (1 year benchmark)

    Feb 25, 2020 - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with, Amazing office in Boston, Nice perks, Decent Benefits, Industry Compensation

    Cons

    Medical and Dental benefits can be improved

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DraftKings Response

    Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your thoughts. We're happy you enjoyed your first year at DraftKings. Continue to let us know how we can support your career. Jason

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Smart, Nerdy, and Fun People!

    Feb 3, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laughing and having this much fun around people I work with makes such a big difference. The people here are incredibly gifted. I’ve worked with go-to people at some of the best companies in the country (Google, Netflix, Facebook) but the people at DK are dedicated and the innovation of our technology keeps the people happy. Love the decision I made as I strongly believe this is a premier employer for all men and women in Boston.

    Cons

    We’re defining an industry so expectations as an employee are high but that was made clear early in conversations before I joined. If you’re looking to make a difference like Uber/Airbnb/Netflix did early on, look no further for a fun grind. If you want a 9-5, look somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DraftKings Response

    Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your positive review. We're happy to read how much you are enjoying working at DraftKings. We are here to support your career needs. Please do not hesitate to reach out to your manager or HR Business Partner with feedback to improve your DraftKings experience. Jason

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast-Paced and Fun

    Apr 8, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Constant new development and innovation, starting early on you will be expected to design, build, and test your own systems. - Ownership means learning all about the deployment, maintenance, and testing side of the process as well as coding. - Surrounded by excellent engineers. - Fun office perks and culture. Snacks, beer/wine, extra curricular events help build more personal relationships with coworkers - Flexible schedule and vacation time/work from home policy.

    Cons

    - Incredibly fast paced, and a "bias for action" means projects are often started before they are fully thought out. You will probably build at least one thing that doesn't get shipped or used in production. It can sometimes feel like the team is scrambling without a clear goal. - The engineering org structure is constantly changing, and career paths are not as clearly defined as they should be.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    High octane, high reward, fun place to work!

    Mar 25, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constantly striving to improve processes and self, which usually leads to iterationally better products, better process, better infrastructure. Current and always evolving technology stack including almost all areas of work (cloud, DB, mobile, web, High expectations for developers to deliver, test, and deploy high quality code. Industry competitive pay Great growth opportunities. Employees really treated like they are important and culture is truly wonderful and fun! A lot of passionate excited people who love what they do and the product they work on.

    Cons

    Things move too fast, and often result in unclear objectives. Often, the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing i.e. different teams work on similar pieces and lead to issues.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow

    Dec 16, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast pace environment with a lot of new initiatives that makes it fun to learn and grow with everyone else. Lots of energy in the office and great opportunities to stretch yourself outside of a normal development role.

    Cons

    There are a lot of ups and downs to moving too fast and can get stressful at times. Also some growing pains in regards to leadership and team management, but you can see the effort to improve upon it constantly.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent place to work and grow professionally.

    May 28, 2021 - Senior Front End Developer in Sofia, Sofia (city)
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working from home and my experience is very good, I am working with the best team of all time, so I feel very comfortable there, good tools, good atmosphere, friendly people willing to help you if you need it.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DraftKings Response

    Employer Branding Manager

    Thank you for your positive review! We're happy to read that you are enjoying so much working for DraftKings. We are here to support your career needs so please feel free to contact the People Team if you need any support!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with DraftKings Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DraftKings? Share Your Experiences

or