DreamWorks Animation Reviews | Glassdoor

DreamWorks Animation Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
DreamWorks Animation President Margie Cohn  (no image)
Margie Cohn
15 Ratings
  1. "A very good place to learn new technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time

    Pros

    I have had the best years of my career at Dreamworks Animation. The pay package was good, We have had good management which took care of employees

    Cons

    Nothing I could think of about job or management

    Advice to Management

    Wish you didn't shut down India office.

    DreamWorks Animation2020-01-09
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior FINANCE in Glendale, CA

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented teams across the organization. Good benefits!

    Cons

    Can do with more cross-functional career opportunities.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-12-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast and lunch everyday Beautiful main campus that holds events often for employees Culture is great and people are too for the most part Great opportunities for growth and do to extracurricular activities like clubs, meditation etc

    Cons

    Production seemed a bit hostile, stressful, and unnecessarily competitive. Production blatantly treated as lesser in comparison to artists Very small pay for entry level production Slow growth for promotion Production management bullied multiple members on our crew Clear separation of TV and feature culture

    Advice to Management

    - Management should try to be more personable to their employees rather than treating them like just some cog in a machine.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-12-17
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Producer 

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Lunch Beautiful Campus People are awesome

    Cons

    Not a lot here. Some projects are more desirable than others.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-21
  5. "Movies to feel proud of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, good working relationship with production staff.

    Cons

    Growing pains after acquisition by Comcast with added uncertainty. Currently experiencing a brain drain as talented engineers find other opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Present a clear path going forward.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-12
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time

    Pros

    I sometimes like it here

    Cons

    Low pay and of course the benefits are not good

    DreamWorks Animation2019-11-21
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CFX Artist 

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work /Life balance Free Lunch Activities

    Cons

    Salary stays pretty consistent Can be slow if you're used to Advertisement or VFX studios

    DreamWorks Animation2019-10-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance is their priority. Best bosses I've ever had and will probably ever have.

    Cons

    Not many. Only big one is that there isnt a lot of room for growth because no one wants to leave!

    DreamWorks Animation2019-09-24
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tech 

    I have been working at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love it Great place to work

    Cons

    Nothing it’s great. Seriously

    DreamWorks Animation2019-09-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Development Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DreamWorks Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company culture and people who work there are fantastic. A very stimulating creative environment

    Cons

    I have no cons, my experience there was wonderful.

    DreamWorks Animation2019-09-16
Found 424 reviews