Drexel Chemical Reviews | Glassdoor

Drexel Chemical Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Drexel Chemical full-time

    Pros

    Salaries are 'in-line' for the Memphis area. Work environment is pleasant. Yearly reviews are common. Good location/close to downtown.

    Cons

    Area is industrial so getting out for lunch and back within an hour is difficult

    Advice to Management

    Look at expanding break room maybe food options so that people could stay on the premises for lunch.

    Drexel Chemical2016-08-08
  2. "They are trying to get better, but they are in no hurry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Export Coordinator in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to do a lot of different jobs.

    Cons

    You have to learn a lot on your own.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the upper management needs to retire. They run a lot of good employees away.

    Drexel Chemical2019-08-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stepping Stone Job At Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the office staff are nice, and the work is extremely repetitive, and therefore easy. We never worked weekends, or past 5:15 PM.

    Cons

    If you have any amount of professional ambition, you will burn out quickly. There are 6-7 top level managers who make all the decisions, and the rest of the office staff just have to do what they are told. There is no career path of development. If you want a job that you can just work and go home, this is the place. However, if you want to fell ike you are contributing in a meaningful way, you will not get that... sense of accomplishment. There isn't a formal performance management system in place. Reviews for production staff are often done only when someone threatens to quit. Tenured office personnel are kept on staff, even after they become just north of worthless. There is little to no training, both for your job or on safety topics. Privacy and trust is non-existent. Every few seconds, a screenshot of your computer screen is taken, and ALL e-mails send and received are also delivered to multiple managers' inboxes. If you want to be treated like a child in this regard, this is the place. Lastly, the benefits are below average, to say the least. No paid time off for the first year (seriously) and then only one week off for the next two years, and two weeks off annually after that. No sick time, and only 6 holidays a year. The insurance is decent but EXPENSIVE. Family coverage costs the employee around $1000/month for medical only.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The world is changed from the 1980s. The same policies don't work anymore, and the workforce is not the same. If you don't start doing things to attract (and keep) young talent, eventually all that will be left are the octogenarians.

    Drexel Chemical2018-12-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Danger apparthied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff is very warm and easy to get along and work together.

    Cons

    The culture was somewhat haphazard and a confusing web of middle managers have communication and organizational skills that we're bewildering and occasionally irresponsible. Also the benefits and pay we're consistently claimed by revolving technical staff to have influenced their decision to resign.

    Advice to Management

    Expectations of job performance, responsibilities and haphazard and inconsistent expectations on timelines and made striving for success seem pointless because one never knew what surprises the blame game could cook up next

    Drexel Chemical2018-08-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Don't just walk away from Drexel....RUN!! DO NOT WORK THERE!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was decent...but that's it.

    Cons

    Where do I start....They don't care about ANY of their employees. They treat them all like crap. If you're sick...they don't care. They micromanage every little thing that you do. They monitor how often you use the bathroom and how long you stay in there. They monitor your computer usage and will call you out if you do ANYTHING personal on your computer, even if it's just for a few minutes. But the most... annoying thing is they are SO unorganized! There's no clear hierarchy of management. No one knows who to report to. Everyone in management thinks that THEY are the "boss," but no one communicates with each other. They expect you to work like a dog with no break for 8 hours. Don't you dare get back from lunch 10 minutes late!! They'll know!! Also, you get fewer vacation days, holidays, personal days, and sick days than most jobs. HORRIBLE place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Require everyone over the age of 60 to retire. New blood is needed to completely change the horrible culture at this place!

    Drexel Chemical2018-04-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not a Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time

    Pros

    Pay wasn't too terrible. Some of the people who work there are really nice.

    Cons

    Company does not care about you as a person. 5 rude coworkers for every 1 nice one. My boss would follow us if we left the room to make sure we were just going to the bathroom and would time us while we were in there. Also threw a pack of staples at my head when I gave him the wrong size for his stapler. The chemical smell starts to seep into everything.

    Drexel Chemical2017-12-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "There might be worse places to work...but I can't imagine many."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay check never bounced. Some of the people in the office were nice.

    Cons

    Let's see... Ungodly hot in the plants. Little to no training. Horrible safety program. "Legal" workforce barely speaks English. Overbearing/reactionary management. Company is ran by accountants. I could go on. I gave 1 star because you have to give something.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company and retire.

    Drexel Chemical2017-12-10
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Unbelievable. Highly unprofessional. A joke of a company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Tunica, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This place is better than watching tv!! You never know what you will see. Just when you think that it can't get any worse/crazy/dumber, it does. More drama than a mid day soap opera.

    Cons

    Pay is bottom of the barrel. The few people that are in power and make the decisions have no common sense and are in over their head. Way too many serious mistakes. Dangerous place to work at times.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional. Stop micromanaging everything. Get something that you can offer employees to make someone want to work there. Hold people accountable for there actions, even the ones in higher management. Leave the 1940's and enter 2017.

    Drexel Chemical2017-09-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Don't go unless you're desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Worker in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay every week, work hours,

    Cons

    Minimum wage, no hazardous pay, no air in summer , No raises, Unorganized , does not care about you as a human being

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay and realize your employees are human

    Drexel Chemical2017-07-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Drexel Chemical full-time

    Pros

    Most of the employees are very pleasant to be around. The hourly wage is ok.

    Cons

    The benefits are horrible. The medical insurance is very expensive, and there is no PTO offered.

    Advice to Management

    Offer a better benefits package, and maybe your turnover rate will go down.

    Drexel Chemical2016-08-07
Found 13 reviews