Driscoll Children's Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Driscoll Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated May 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Driscoll Children's Hospital CEO Eric Hamon
Eric Hamon
3 Ratings
  1. "Maintenance for Treyway apartments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Maintenance Tech in Corpus Christi, TX

      I have been working at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working with good people and enjoying what u do having pride

      Cons

      Rudeness confrontation tiredness long hours

      Advice to Management

      Help us employees to be better at what we do

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2018-10-14
    • "Poor leadership, no concern for non-clinicians"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management, Non-clinician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great mission, wonderful colleagues. DCH's heart is in the right place. If you're a clinician, not a better place to be. If you're not a clinician, I would avoid at all costs.

      Cons

      Senior leadership is lost, lacks direction, transparency, and honesty. Puts employees in precarious positions. High expectations with very little support.

      Advice to Management

      Take a peek as to why there is such a high turnover rate in certain departments, it's indicative of poor leadership.

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2019-05-17
    • "Beware the Health Plan"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Corpus Christi, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Get to work with a lot of great people with a lot of potential, who are willing to work hard for each other and their team. THEY are the reason that the Health Plan has so much potential.

      Cons

      Where do I begin? Everything else...especially leadership (director level and above). Leadership treatment of employees would be laughable, if is wasn't so attrociously abusive. Turnover in the Finance dept is especially outrageous, due to incompetent leadership. Benefits are so-so as well. IE: they try to convince you that the sick bank is a great added beneft, but you can't even use it until AFTER you've used at least...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The Health Plan does not follow the culture of "The Driscoll Way" - it's all a facade. It's specifically true with certain directors and VP's. The Hospital seems to have things figured out, but leaves the Health Plan to the mercy of incapable leadership (Director - VP level). My advice is to rein in the Health Plan and provide meaningful leadership development, leadership performance monitoring, and most importantly,...

      Show More
      Driscoll Children's Hospital2019-03-31
    • "Respiratory Therapist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Respiratory Therapist in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Keep people to work with. Nonprofit Hospital so staffing usually fairly well staffed

      Cons

      Like most medical facilities administration does not really know about what front line employees have to deal with

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2018-09-05
    • "NICU Registered Nurse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse NICU in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Supportive management, positive nursing culture, great coworkers

      Cons

      Low pay, large amount of burned out nurses on unit, heavy on administration

      Advice to Management

      Raise pay

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2018-07-23
    • "Truly best place to work! No awards needed!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      DCH is one of the best places to work! No awards needed to show this! The people are warm, welcoming and like family! You are valued each and every day you work there! People matter to the leadership! I have worked in alot of organizations which claim awards from unknown organizations such as DiversityInc and "Best Place to Work" etc. and I can tell you...DCH does not need any fake awards to show why its reputation is...

      Show More

      Cons

      None! Only reason I left was because I had to due to family circumstance.

      Advice to Management

      None! Keep up the good work!

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2018-05-23
    • "Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technician in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working at Driscoll is like working with family members. The loyalty runs deep with people you work with. Most directors are willing to work with set schedules and the rules and regulations are fair.

      Cons

      The only con is that the day vs night shift war is real and can sometimes make working difficult.

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2018-05-22
    • "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Nurse in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Driscoll Children's Hospital part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pros I can think of are the following: Great benefits. Good pay. Good hospital. Guaranteed your hours. Friendly staff will to help out.

      Cons

      Only con I can think of would be little PTO and fighting for days off with co-workers, other than that this company is great.

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2018-03-17
    • "staff RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff RN in Corpus Christi, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      profit sharing for employees, matching retirement

      Cons

      Not enough African American nurses

      Advice to Management

      Consider recruiting more African American nurses. African American nurses in the community complaining that they were not given the opportunity to care for pediatric patients and have to move out of the area if they want to have a career as a pediatric nurse

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2017-10-09
    • "Best Workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Driscoll Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      DCH is an amazing place to work. The environment is family friendly and the staff is fantastic on all levels! I would work here again in a heartbeat.

      Cons

      I have nothing negative to say regarding DCH.

      Driscoll Children's Hospital2017-07-26
    Found 25 reviews