DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews | Glassdoor

DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews

Updated September 14, 2017
581 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
DriveTime Automotive Group President and CEO Ray Fidel
Ray Fidel
339 Ratings

581 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Innovative industry leader! Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I enjoy working for Drivetime. I have always had an interest in selling cars, but the safety of a guaranteed salary made it a no brainer. I work with a great group of people at the Pershall Rd. location, with supportive management. The new 4 day on, 3 day off schedule is a breath of fresh air! My goal is to make it to corporate eventually as a collections manager, and I feel this is a great steppingstone. I'd recommend this company to anyone seeking career growth with a strong employer.

    Cons

    None that I have encountered. Work life balance has become of great importance, and it shows in the employee morale.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. There are many happy employees who appreciate all you do!

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Talent

    We are happy to hear our new flex schedule is making a difference in your work and life balance! Thanks for positive words and encouragement to our leadership and management teams.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "The hearts of men have grown tired and weak."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader
    Current Employee - Team Leader
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    In the inspection center side of this company, hours are fair with most weekends off.

    Benefits provided are also some of the best I've experienced with a company.

    Cons

    Working for DriveTime has shown me the true colors of the illusionist that keep this machine moving. DriveTime will preach growth, career pathing, individuality, but is it truly welcomed? They will use something they call "Emotional Intelligence." to tug at your heart strings and manipulate you into thinking or doing things that are actually not to your benefit, but theirs. I've watched Directors embarrass their employees in front of others for their own personal gain. I've watched general managers praise people development, but speak about them negatively behind their backs. False leadership perpetuates in this organization. Blind to all but power, profit, and gain.

    This company lacks an HR department and has something called "Talent Support." Which I have seen commenting on some of reviews for this originzation. Employees are encouraged to call this number, but when they do, they are attacked and ostracized until emotionally defeated that they quit. If talent support truly cared about its employees, it would actively seek resolutions with the employee itself. Not send directors who are the problem to resolve them. I challenge talent support to be there to help mitigate and solve these problems amicably. Actions speak louder than words as they say.

    Lastly, are this companies AMP candidates. DriveTime has a program that allows individuals not truly expirienced in the automotive world become leaders within the company. These individuals are usually brought in as General Managers or Directors. As I've seen it, these individuals hold these positions very sacred, and will do anything that they can to hold on to them. These individuals are not truly open to feedback or suggestions. There is no teamwork involved, no conversing, and most of all, no leadership. Their intentions when affecting the business are purely selfish. These individuals lack the basic problem solving skills, the cognition, the open mindedness that it takes to operate a successful business. If you are an intellectual, you will be perceived as a threat and immediately socially oppressed, to prevent you from ever achieving personal growth.

    Advice to Management

    Success has made you complacent. You have lost sight of what's truly important in life and have let primitive individuals control your company. Fear has become the weapon of choice.

    Ray, you should be ashamed.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We’re sorry to hear you feel this way and had negative experiences. DriveTime strives to develop a culture that embraces collaboration and does not tolerate retaliation. While you are entitled to... More

  3. "Educational and instructive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Leads are already given to you... you don't have to bird dog. The culture breeds growth!

    Cons

    phone calls, phone calls phone calls!!!!! Long hours (at times)

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Talent

    We are glad to hear you believe in the culture of the company and that it has a positive impact on your career. Thank you for the positive review!


  4. "Another job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Bakersfield, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Bakersfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's nice to get paid hourly plus commission. Traditional dealerships are mostly only paid commission so that's a plus for me.

    Cons

    Poor management, micro managing due to lack of training now the beginning. Don't like the fact that when you make a mistake, you are basically chewed out for it.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Transparency in feedback, both positive and constructive, is a large part of DriveTime culture however we are disappointed to hear your experience... More


  5. "DISAPPOINTED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent benefit, opportunity to make good money. Most cars are good. Room to grow. I believe DT is good company.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Working 10-12 plus hours 3-4 days out of 5 is so hard on personal life. Management does not care if you have plans for the evening. They will insist on you taking a customer 45 minutes or less before your off time, which means you are stuck there for 3-5 more hours. GM is lazy, disappears for long times when needed. Sales managers can be mean to you. If you sale good they overlook negative behavior. The F word is used out loud by management when referringn to customers. So unprofessional. I'm disappointed with this place. NO WORK LIFE BALANCE!!!

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the "do as I say not as I do. Stop walking the floor eating your lunch in front of customers. So tacky. Stop treating customers like you are better than them. Respect all of your staff. We make your bonus goals, not you!

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Talent

    We are glad to hear your overall positive view of the company. Our leaders are held to high expectations so we are disappointed to hear that you feel your leaders didn't meet them. We appreciate your... More


  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Charleston, SC
    Current Employee - General Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Decent compensation package with benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor especially with growth in company

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Talent

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. As a company, we believe in giving employees a good work/life balance however we understand that retail hours, especially with increased... More


  7. "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Advisor
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Advisor
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive Atmosphere
    Want to see you succeed
    Room to grow with Company
    East to relocate to another location

    Cons

    Long Hours during tax season
    Late nights

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We're glad you enjoyed our culture and your time with the company! Tax Season is our peak-time and long hours typically come with higher bonuses for our Sales Teams.

  8. "Cool for starting off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Good employees
    Fun environment

    Cons

    Favorites are the ones that get promoted

    Advice to Management

    Seek out those that are capable of being supervisors not those that are liked

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. We believe in the fair and equitable treatment of employees and strive to ensure that interested employees are given the opportunity to advance.


  9. "Sales Manager/Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great pay if you work at high lead volume dealerships. Base salary ($32k for sales advisor to $40k for sales manager) plus commission (based on the number of units sold). Good benefits from health insurance plans, dental, vision, 401K and PTO. Trips to corp office in Phoenix are fun. You'll meet some great people there, and create long term friendship but you'll also meet very negative people. Employees get good discounts on vehicles and service contracts (warranty). Some senior sales advisors and all sales managers get a company driver, which is great. GREAT training at all levels

    Cons

    Culture is changing from fun and friendly to more of a cut throat mentality. For the past two years the company has been changing their underwriting guidelines a lot. This year, 2017, it seemed that every week there was a change that benefited the company and frustrated its employees. Pay structures changes every year, making it harder for employees to make more money. LONG HOURS!!!! Work life balance is rough due to the fact that you have to stay until every customer is gone. That means even if it is 12am!!! The longest I stayed was 1am and as a sales manager I stilled had to open the next day at 9am!! ALOT of layoffs this year due to branch closings and re-structure of the company. STRESS and ANXIETY!!! not because of how hard the work is but because of the long hours and negative people working there making your work life very hard. GMs and some managers hold grudges if you try to speak up or give constructive feedback about what they are doing bad. Managers turn the blind eye to negative actions if a sales advisor is selling. I saw a lot of people get promoted because they became friends with upper managers. Co-workers still call me to say that they hate it and want to leave Drivetime.

    Advice to Management

    AMPS are not always the best! Specially when tenured Sales Managers having been at the dealership. Stop making so many changes, its hard for employees to adapt to so many changes.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback. This year has been a year of many changes and although the changes are made in an effort to grow and an improve, we recognize that... More


  10. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    New buildings the facilities were nice

    Cons

    The pay kept going down as you moved up
    The Hours were not healthy


Showing 581 of 588 reviews
Reset Filters