Cover image for DriveTime Automotive Group
Logo
See All Photos

DriveTime Automotive Group

Engaged Employer

DriveTime Automotive Group

Add a Review

DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,104 of over 1K reviews
3.6
66% Recommend to a Friend
DriveTime Automotive Group CEO Scott Worthington
79% Approve of CEO

Found 1,104 of over 1K reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
DriveTime Automotive Group CEO Scott Worthington
Scott Worthington
87 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "No work/life balance.... I'm doing great at my job at the expense of my family(in 87 reviews)
  • "Long hours it makes no sense that the hours the dealerships are open basically have no life.(in 77 reviews)
  • "poor management and working outside in bad weather.(in 58 reviews)
  • "The market managers always take the side of the sale associates, you talk to more voicemails than actual people.(in 33 reviews)
  • "Office politics and changing upper management.(in 32 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DriveTime Automotive Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Great Stability and Constant Development

    Jul 3, 2022 - Assistant General Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a company that really cares about avoiding stagnation. As a member of the team you will always have the opportunity to grow and learn how to manage all aspects of the business. They empower you to take full control of your role and how far you would like to take it.

    Cons

    The unpredictability of the business.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    WOW! This is a stellar review - consider us flattered! Thank you for sharing your experience as an Assistant General Manager. We hold great value in developing our talent from within and we are so glad you are experiencing that first-hand. One of our core principles , "Take the Wheel," illustrates exactly what you said - we want employees to be excited about taking control of their career and driving it forward! There are many ways we support our employees, but ultimately, it is up to each person to own their career. Thank you, again, for your thoughtful feedback and review. We greatly appreciate it! Keep up the great work!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    DriveTime

    Oct 10, 2022 - Retail Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Long work hours for salary position

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Wow, thank you for sharing your experience as a Customer Experience Guide! We're so happy to hear you are enjoying your position with us. We pride ourselves in having a great culture and that's all due to our employees! We understand that working retail hours can be long and we thank you for your dedication to serving our customers. We wish you continued success in your role!

  3. Join the DriveTime Automotive Group team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Drive Away from Drivetime!

    Oct 21, 2022 - Sales Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility at Work, Friendly Co-workers, Lax about Tattoos, Closed on Sundays. Good Medical Benefits. Decent PTO accrual. Startup feel with established company background

    Cons

    Broken commission system, (no commission made for less than 6 sales). This place is nicknamed Starvetime because the you're barely making ends meet from the terrible compensation plan they have in place. The commission plan doesn't pay you until you've sold more than 6 cars (shouldn't commission start as soon as I sell something, anything? lol). Some managers are jerks, many of the vehicles are over 100K miles, some falling apart, meaning if the car is returned post sale, you lose that commission. You'll never be off Fridays or Saturdays unless you have PTO. Minimal lead distribution especially when there's multiple sales advisors.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Customer Experience Guide. We're glad to hear you had a lot of things you enjoyed about your job. We work hard to ensure we are providing our employees with the best possible options we can including our total compensation package, our benefits and PTO, and our friendly culture. It's important to us that our employees feel comfortable showing up as they are - we live out our core principle "All Are Welcome On Our Lot." Additionally, our CEGs are paid a base salary to help take the pressure off making a sale and commission is given based on the store hitting their goal rather than individuals. We find this encourages teamwork and collaboration. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your next position.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A good company that is just a few moves away from being a great company.

    Nov 29, 2022 - RPA Analyst in Tempe, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Individual business units are great to work with. The culture is great.

    Cons

    Legacy systems that bottleneck every proposed automation efforts are still in use. General infrastructure feels sub-par.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an Analyst! We're so happy to hear that after 4 years with us, you're still enjoying your job! We are proud of the culture we built so we are thrilled to hear you're enjoying it too. We appreciate your feedback and wish you continued success in your role!

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to work for!

    Nov 21, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are very supportive to your needs. They will make every effort to help you succeed. They offer great benefits and lots of PTO from the start. Flexible shifts.

    Cons

    You get yelled at, a lot by the customers. They do not have the best reputation as a warranty company but I don’t see why.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Customer Service Representative! We are SO SO happy to hear you are enjoying your role with us - it's our top priority to ensure our employees are happy. We train our leaders to serve their directs and be supportive and we are thrilled to hear this has been consistent with your experience! Due to the nature of the industry and working directly with customers, you may run into some upset customers. We are truly appreciative that you are continuing to help them. We appreciate your feedback and wish you continued success in your job!

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Could be better...

    Nov 17, 2022 - Customer Experience Guide 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PTO accrues fast Fast paced when working with customers 50K salary can be good depending on cost of living

    Cons

    Company is trying to dumb down the sales process where anyone can do it. This can be a good or bad thing. Before Covid Drivetime offered commission on all sales, but now it is a team bonus based on the stores goal. So the top performer gets paid the same bonus as the lowest performer. $80 for every car sold if the store gets 100% to target. $40 for every car if the store gets 85%-99.9%. And no bonus for anything less than 85%.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Customer Experience Guide. We're happy to hear you are enjoying your job, our PTO and compensation package and our fast-paced work environment. As a company, we believe in carpooling to a shared destination - it's one of our core values. Because of this, we switched to a team-based commission to provide a pressure-free sales experience for our customers and a non-competitive sales environment for our employees. We want our employees to work together as a team, not against each other. This is also why we provide a base salary. We hope this clears up our reasoning behind the switch. As you are a current employee, we are always looking to promote from within! Chat with your leader about any open positions!

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    General Review

    Nov 29, 2022 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pushed to adapt and learn

    Cons

    Poor Upper Management Job is catered to Men Poor Pay Structure Below Average Benefits Employees are given a choice to push optional products or be let go - This conundrum typically leads to a poor sales experience and even shady tactics

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience. At DriveTime, we are proud supporters of hiring from within so we do push our employees to always continue learning - we're glad to hear that was consistent with your experience. Part of our core values is treated each and every person with the same level of respect and we are sorry to hear you did not experience that. We do not tolerate any sort of favoritism, especially from management, and encourage current employees to take up those sort of issues with our talent support team. We appreciate your feedback and wish you success in your next role.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good managers

    Nov 29, 2022 - Auto Technician II in Morrisville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Almost everything is good with coworkers

    Cons

    Minimal situations are bad here

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience as an Auto Technician! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, your managers, and your coworkers. It's so important to us that our culture remains positive and uplifting! We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your next endeavor!

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Sink or Swim

    Dec 4, 2022 - Title Clerk in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New work spaces, plenty of office amenities and office activities.

    Cons

    Low pay, incomplete training, management miscommunication regarding deadlines, expectations and quality. Things often left to last minute.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the ne work spaces, and our amenities and activities. We work hard to provide an enjoyable environment for our employees! At DriveTime, we expect all employees, including leadership, to uphold our core values - we're sorry to hear that wasn't your experience. Our total compensation packages, including pay, PTO, and benefits are evaluated on an annual basis to ensure we are staying up to date on our employees' needs. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your next role.

  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Only 1yr, Nothing More

    Nov 15, 2022 - Sales Advisor in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Possibility to earn, learn and grow in a customer service and sales role.

    Cons

    Unstable company, low quality products and services, limited support, limited direction into leadership, old school sales tactics, low morale and morality for the customer, micromanagement, limited to no appreciation, poor building upkeep, limited opportunity for growth, busy work, pressure to adopt and practice unethical sales practices, poor leadership, poor development, misinformation and misguidedness, high turnover, liar's, cheaters and scoundrels, extremely long hours. Pay structure changes every year, sometimes mid year, or each month.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a Customer Experience Guide of more than 6 years. We appreciate the time and dedication you put into our company and our customers. We're happy to hear that you see the value we put into developing our employees so they can continue learning and growing. In fact, we have a management course for our employees who are interested in leadership roles so our emerging leaders can learn the DriveTime way of servant leadership before taking on a manager role. Some customers that purchase from DriveTime may not have had the option to buy elsewhere. We work to find a way to get customers into a vehicle that will help improve their lives. During the sales and contracting process, we provide each customer with the Federal Truth in Lending Disclosure which includes the APR, finance charge, amount financed, total amount expected to be paid throughout the loan, and the total sales price. Also, our customers are welcome to utilize third-party financing if they are not satisfied with the financing options offered through Bridgecrest, our finance partner. Unfortunately, we are unable to change your experience while working with us, but we hope this insight and detail helps shape and improve your outlook of our business.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,104 Reviews
</>Embed

DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews FAQs

DriveTime Automotive Group has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 1,141 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at DriveTime Automotive Group to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DriveTime Automotive Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DriveTime Automotive Group. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

66% of DriveTime Automotive Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DriveTime Automotive Group 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DriveTime Automotive Group to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, management.

Popular Careers with DriveTime Automotive Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DriveTime Automotive Group? Share Your Experiences

DriveTime Automotive Group logo

DriveTime Automotive Group

or

DriveTime Automotive Group Careers

Cover image for DriveTime Automotive Group

We are difference makers that believe in doing the right thing – meaning matching the right customer with the right car, and the best...More

  • Our Brands
  • Corporate & IT
  • Get Involved!
  • Perks & Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

DriveTime Automotive Group

25 days ago

Community
We are dedicated to standing together with our #veterans and continuing to educate ourselves on how we can aid and honor those who are serving or who have served and their families. Last Friday we had the honor of walking in the #VeteransDay parade through Downtown Phoenix. We’re grateful for the opportunity to pay tribute to the community and show thanks to our veterans.
Shared image
Logo

DriveTime Automotive Group

51 days ago

Employee Story
Recognizing differences between our lifestyles, both at work and at home, help us to be better to each other and for each other. When we take the time to learn about one another we are saying “I see you and I hear you”. Tune into our #GlobalDiversityAwareness mini-series as we pay tribute to #diversity from all lenses. This episode featuring Gary Trione as he shares the story of his family growing through adoption. #WeStandTogether #LifeatDriveTime
Global Diversity Month | Gary Trione's Story
www.youtube.com
See all

DriveTime Automotive Group Photos

+ Add Photo
DriveTime Automotive Group workplace photo
DriveTime Automotive Group workplace photo
DriveTime Automotive Group workplace photo
DriveTime Automotive Group photo of: Employees across the country repping their We Stand Together shirts!
DriveTime Automotive Group photo of: How cute is our Employee Experience team? Rocking their Best Intern Ever shirts!
DriveTime Automotive Group workplace photo
DriveTime Automotive Group workplace photo
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DriveTime Automotive Group Job Seekers Also Viewed

CARVANA Logo
CARVANA

3.5

1,974 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,141 DriveTime Automotive Group reviews submitted anonymously by DriveTime Automotive Group employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DriveTime Automotive Group is right for you.