DriveTime Automotive Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

DriveTime Automotive Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Show All Reviews >

120 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Operations Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Advisor in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Operations Advisor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunitiesfor advancement
    A lot of young energetic people

    Cons

    No work life balance
    Long hours with little pay
    Management is terrible
    High turn over rate

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Talent

    We're sorry to hear you feel this way. DriveTime offers employees strong career paths, collaborative management teams, and prioritize work life balance. Even though servicing our customers may... More


  2. Helpful (5)

    "Cuts in pay and staffing draining talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Manager in Columbia, SC
    Current Employee - Retail Manager in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Not a bad place to start your career. If you are willing to move to Phoenix, you may have a shot at some work life balance.

    Cons

    Retail stores have gone lean, saving the company while requiring more hours from current management. Pay has decreased with an increased work load. Managing morale is half the battle.

    Advice to Management

    Asking "What does an SM do?" to someone who misses her kids sporting events is insensitive. Most people at SM or above have given up huge amounts of time and sacrificed being with family. Better question, what does a director do?

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Dec 7, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback. We encourage you to express your concerns to your leadership and/or our Talent Support Team.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sr Applications Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work-life balance
    Technology stack moves along with the times
    Great co-workers
    A lot of opportunities for advancement
    Sr Management seems transparent

    Cons

    There's a lot of promoting from within, so while this is a good thing, it can unfortunately have the affect of keeping new ideas stale. Especially if the developer has only ever known the "DriveTime way"

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent

    We are glad you have so many "Pros" and appreciate your perspective on internal promotions. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay. Company vehicle. Mix of inside and out side work. Mix of busy times and slow times

    Cons

    Work life balance. Unreasonable expectations for sales some months. And additional product sales

    Advice to Management

    Look to create a culture for long term vision and growth. And not quick fixes and results

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Nov 16, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We understand that there times when our sales teams dedicate extra hours . However, we're continuously looking at ways to improve work life balance and ensuring our... More


  5. "Great job for adaptable people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are a delight and the job itself isn't all that difficult. As long as I work with and communicate with my managers, I'm able to create an extremely healthy work/life balance. For the most part, management does a great job of pumping up their teams and celebrating wins.

    Cons

    Must have an already established set of "people skills" in order to relate with clientele and overcome obstacles related to customers. Being a woman in this industry can feel uncomfortable and challenging at times.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We're happy to hear you're enjoying working with us! Thanks for sharing your feedback.


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Charleston, SC
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The ability to make great income. Work life balance isn't bad.

    Cons

    To many managers are promoted through friendship of previous manager.Most manager haven't sold over 100 vehicle within the time they were sales advisors. But are able to move up because their friend is apart upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Get the friends out and more qualified managers they don't won't corporate to know what's going on a internal store level. Managers build and alliances so their protected through friends once their not in compliance.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We're happy to hear you enjoyed the work life balance and earning potential! Thank you for providing valuable feedback.


  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent pay (sometimes) and benefits.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Pay can be questionable once you realize how many hours you're actually there. Two many higher ups with their fingers in the pot.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We appreciate the feedback. We understand that servicing our customers can sometimes require additional hours, however our sales teams have bonus incentives that reward the extra time and effort.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Drivetime is a good for what it is in place for to help people get a vehicle."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Advisor in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Advisor in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Tax time commission plus salary. I enjoyed a few of my coworkers. It is good for connections meeting different people.

    Cons

    Work life balance, management, ability for promotions, lunch is only 30 min, micromanage, and lack of appreciation for loyal employees

    Advice to Management

    I worked for this company almost 4 years and I quit because there was no way I could get promoted without being caucasian, I am African American. I have been there for 3 1/2 years and have seen 3 other caucasians get promoted before me even though I was more qualified than them. The management is ok not the best of course they have a turnover like none other I have seen 5 different managers hired and a host of employees. They talk a good game to get people in the door.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Culture is tremendous, managers are well supported and given a lot of autonomy. Not a high pressure sales environment but still able to get high performance. Pay is good not great. Management opportunities are good and you don't have to start from the bottom.

    Cons

    work/life balance. Extreme culture of constant feedback can be off putting at first. Not necessarily longer hours but they are definitely later. Many nights end well after closing and this can wear thin over time. Companies culture is constant change and to an outsider it feels like instability and re-activeness. In order to move up you have to either move to Phoenix where the corporate offices are or wait your turn for an A/D spot to open and for what? More work? More time away from my family? Great job for a single person with few attachments. Pay structure changes literally every year=more instability. Sales Advisors can make just as much as the GM and have absolutely no buy-in to push for more sales at a certain point because their bonuses are guaranteed whereas management's is dependent on hitting a budget. It's all or nothing for our bonus.

    Advice to Management

    More consistency and stability, better base pay for GM's. Company has gone through a tidal wave of change in the past year and the reasons for staying in a competitive job market are getting harder and harder to find. I'm encouraged to push through the current culture of instability and change but again, for what?

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that the changes that have taken place this year were seen as instability. We recognize the challenges that come... More


  10. "DISAPPOINTED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent benefit, opportunity to make good money. Most cars are good. Room to grow. I believe DT is good company.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Working 10-12 plus hours 3-4 days out of 5 is so hard on personal life. Management does not care if you have plans for the evening. They will insist on you taking a customer 45 minutes or less before your off time, which means you are stuck there for 3-5 more hours. GM is lazy, disappears for long times when needed. Sales managers can be mean to you. If you sale good they overlook negative behavior. The F word is used out loud by management when referringn to customers. So unprofessional. I'm disappointed with this place. NO WORK LIFE BALANCE!!!

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the "do as I say not as I do. Stop walking the floor eating your lunch in front of customers. So tacky. Stop treating customers like you are better than them. Respect all of your staff. We make your bonus goals, not you!

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Talent

    We are glad to hear your overall positive view of the company. Our leaders are held to high expectations so we are disappointed to hear that you feel your leaders didn't meet them. We appreciate your... More


Showing 120 of 625 reviews
Reset Filters