DriveTime Automotive Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

DriveTime Automotive Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Show All Reviews >

111 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "DISAPPOINTED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent benefit, opportunity to make good money. Most cars are good. Room to grow. I believe DT is good company.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Working 10-12 plus hours 3-4 days out of 5 is so hard on personal life. Management does not care if you have plans for the evening. They will insist on you taking a customer 45 minutes or less before your off time, which means you are stuck there for 3-5 more hours. GM is lazy, disappears for long times when needed. Sales managers can be mean to you. If you sale good they overlook negative behavior. The F word is used out loud by management when referringn to customers. So unprofessional. I'm disappointed with this place. NO WORK LIFE BALANCE!!!

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the "do as I say not as I do. Stop walking the floor eating your lunch in front of customers. So tacky. Stop treating customers like you are better than them. Respect all of your staff. We make your bonus goals, not you!

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Talent

    We are glad to hear your overall positive view of the company. Our leaders are held to high expectations so we are disappointed to hear that you feel your leaders didn't meet them. We appreciate your... More


  2. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Charleston, SC
    Current Employee - General Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Decent compensation package with benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor especially with growth in company

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Talent

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. As a company, we believe in giving employees a good work/life balance however we understand that retail hours, especially with increased... More

  3. "Sales Manager/Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great pay if you work at high lead volume dealerships. Base salary ($32k for sales advisor to $40k for sales manager) plus commission (based on the number of units sold). Good benefits from health insurance plans, dental, vision, 401K and PTO. Trips to corp office in Phoenix are fun. You'll meet some great people there, and create long term friendship but you'll also meet very negative people. Employees get good discounts on vehicles and service contracts (warranty). Some senior sales advisors and all sales managers get a company driver, which is great. GREAT training at all levels

    Cons

    Culture is changing from fun and friendly to more of a cut throat mentality. For the past two years the company has been changing their underwriting guidelines a lot. This year, 2017, it seemed that every week there was a change that benefited the company and frustrated its employees. Pay structures changes every year, making it harder for employees to make more money. LONG HOURS!!!! Work life balance is rough due to the fact that you have to stay until every customer is gone. That means even if it is 12am!!! The longest I stayed was 1am and as a sales manager I stilled had to open the next day at 9am!! ALOT of layoffs this year due to branch closings and re-structure of the company. STRESS and ANXIETY!!! not because of how hard the work is but because of the long hours and negative people working there making your work life very hard. GMs and some managers hold grudges if you try to speak up or give constructive feedback about what they are doing bad. Managers turn the blind eye to negative actions if a sales advisor is selling. I saw a lot of people get promoted because they became friends with upper managers. Co-workers still call me to say that they hate it and want to leave Drivetime.

    Advice to Management

    AMPS are not always the best! Specially when tenured Sales Managers having been at the dealership. Stop making so many changes, its hard for employees to adapt to so many changes.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback. This year has been a year of many changes and although the changes are made in an effort to grow and an improve, we recognize that... More


  4. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay is decent. When in management, you get a driver so that helps eliminate one bill. If you can create a good sales team, then your job becomes very easy.

    Cons

    Hours and work life balance. Currently work 50-55 hours a week not during tax season. Tax season was even more than that. The company is changing and they have dropped a manager and put them back on the sales floor, causing the managers left to work at least one open to close a week without an addition in pay. Corporate continuously changes underwriting guidelines for loans, making it harder to sell cars while raising budgets. For some stores, it definitely seems like they are trying to not pay us since managers have to hit budget to get paid. And if you miss the month before and your budget goes up the next month, that doesn't look great. Regular inventory is subpar at best. Continually comes off the truck from our inspection center with issues that we then have to fix. DT Select vehicles are a nice addition, but most customers don't qualify or can't come up with a 5k+ down payment. APRs are based on the customers situation but DriveTime could make more money having lower than 20-25% on loans.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the inventory is up to par if we are going to charge customers as much as we are. It's hard to convince someone that this is a good reliable car when the check engine light is on and it has a trans slip issue right after it comes off the truck. Don't be afraid to pay people more for the amount of time that they put in. And don't cut staffs to minimal coverage. We work hard, and I shouldn't have to work open to close four days in a row just because someone wants to use PTO.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for your review. We are constantly improving processes to ensure our cars meet the highest level of quality for our customers. We appreciate your feedback and wish you continued success!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Base Salary is a plus.
    Can make a decent amount of money

    Cons

    No real work life balance.
    Difficult to get deals done because underwriting guidelines change weekly.
    Management not on same page.
    Thinking outside of the box is not 100% embraced.
    The quality of vehicles really suck. No one wants to put down $500 - $1000 today only to have their vehicle go into the shop oneor two days later.

    Advice to Management

    GMs need to be Gms and get everyone on the same page.
    I understand change is necessary at time but underwriting changes every week is a bit excessive.
    Adjust APR scale. There is no way a customer with a 619 credit score should get the same APR as a customer with a sub 500 credit score regardless of the situation.
    Yes we are getting in vehicles with lower miles but they are going to be priced ao high that it is still going tonbe difficult for OUR customer base to buy unless its at tax time.
    Be honest and tell employees about the state of the company. If you are selling at least everyone know sonthey can make their own decision about their future instead od being blind-sided and laid off like some of the former employees where I work and around the country.
    Also be honest on the direction of the company and what type of customer you are trying to attract. The new program is geared towards attracting customers with better credit like tradional dealerships instead of trying to implement new programs for the customer base we have all made money off of.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback. We acknowledged that recently we went through some changes. As an innovative company, we're always looking at ways to better service our customers and attract new... More


  6. "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of freedom to do your job efficiently

    Cons

    Work/life balance could be better. Lots of travel required for this position.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback! We're happy you enjoy the flexibility your position provides.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Good base salary + excellent commission structure. Full Benefits after only 30 days. Can borrow against your own future PTO. Possible room for growth. No need to really find your own leads, business comes to you.

    Cons

    NO WORK/LIFE balance. No O/T pay even on 55+ hour weeks. Company is going through a lot of changes aka demotions/lay-offs currently. From my own personal dealership experience (not all locations may be managed the same); lots of inconsistencies in processes and procedures depending on the advisor it is affecting.

    Advice to Management

    CONSISTENCY. Implement and stick to company guidelines. Hold YOURSELVES ACCOUNTABLE more.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jul 20, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for your review. As a company we make every effort to promote consistency by providing regular coaching and review of company policies and procedures. We appreciate the feedback!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good money, no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    You can make as much as you want. My location had a great team and we balanced each other.

    Cons

    If you have any type of driving record issue, you can get terminated for that. Even if it's out side of work hours. Work life balance is hard. If you have a customer and you supposed to get off at 6 you have to stay until you finish. Even if u have plans.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. And help the team.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Talent

    Thank you for the review and feedback. We are glad to hear you work with a great team and you are fairly compensated.


  9. "sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    great benefits, tuition reimbursement, etc

    Cons

    long work hours, no work life balance

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Talent

    Work/Life balance for our employees is very important to us and we are constantly looking at ways to offset the long hours with incentives and flexible schedules. Thank you for your feedback!


  10. "Overall Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Company allows for a work-life balance

    Cons

    Medical benefits are not ideal

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Talent Support Specialist

    At DriveTime we consistently evaluate our medical benefits to ensure we remain competitive. We're sorry to hear our offerings do not meet your needs.


Showing 111 of 588 reviews
Reset Filters