Dropbox Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Dropbox Sales Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Dropbox CEO Drew Houston
Drew Houston
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Exceptional Company, Exceptional People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dropbox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that truly values its people. It's so rare to work in such a caring and kind environment. The group of folks that Dropbox recruits are innately collaborative and open-minded. I know that this culture has been maintained by the people in senior management and they have been cautious about adding the right talent. I'm so glad to have been part of the team and look back fondly on my time spent there.

    Cons

    Some career paths are not as developed as they should be. It would be great for more junior folks to have an idea of what their futures could look like.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great visibility to employees in all offices. It was great getting color on how executive decisions are made.

    Dropbox2018-03-28
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Good company, needs to mature though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dropbox for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, an amazing culture of respect and fun. Salary is good.

    Cons

    Grow opportunity is limited. I think the company focuses more on its own growth compared to the growth of its people. Too much politics in the management level.

    Advice to Management

    Set clear goals for the company and stick to it. Stop changing direction and mission every 3 moths.

    Dropbox2017-07-28
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dropbox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and great people.

    Cons

    No way to make your number. Getting destroyed by the competition on a regular basis.

    Dropbox2017-06-28
  4. "Sales Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Compensation in San Francisco, CA

      I have been working at Dropbox full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      great food, great people, great office

      Cons

      expensive parking, and nothing else

      Dropbox2016-08-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fantastic Place to Work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dropbox full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - You get to work with some amazing people. Everyone is affable, intelligent, and focused on their jobs. - Solid products that users love. From a sales perspective, it makes your job a lot easier. - Exceptional benefits and perks. Having worked for Google and Microsoft previously, I can confidently say that we're on par if not better than what's offered anywhere else. - Food. Lots of it.

      Cons

      - I have nothing negative to say about the company so far. Great culture and opportunity outweigh any minor gripes that could potentially come up.

      Advice to Management

      You're doing a great job taking care of your sales people, and giving them a chance to succeed. Keep up the good work.

      Dropbox2016-05-31
    • Helpful (26)

      "Know what you're getting into..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Dropbox full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - My peers at Dropbox are definitely what make the days bearable, especially the "old guard" who were some of the first people to start the Austin office, extremely genuine and caring people. Unfortunately, there aren't many of them left in the office... - The perks are great. It's nice to not have to worry about food, and the health benefits are better than in most companies I've seen. - The office location is in...

      Show More

      Cons

      - For enterprise sales, you are promised high multipliers coming into the company, while less than 10% of the AEs on the enterprise team made their quota in 2015, so very few people ever reach these supposed numbers and most end up making less than they did before they came to Dropbox. The MM reps have the same quota whether their territory is NYC or Kansas (they consider a knowledge worker in one state equivalent to...

      Show More
      Dropbox2016-02-14
    • "Just Do It"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dropbox full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Best culture. Great benefits. Great People. Great sales team. Just the right amount of sales reps in each territory. We don't try to differentiate ourselves by saying we're a "platform" company like our competitors.

      Cons

      The field team doesn't get to travel as much as we would like to. Focused on our territories.

      Dropbox2016-01-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Work alongside happy, motivated self-starters."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dropbox

      Pros

      - Freedom & autonomy in your role starting day 1 - Personality of brand, office culture, leadership and employees is unbeatable - humble, passionate, driven people - Perks are evidence of management's unwavering focus on the happiness of employees

      Cons

      - Fast-paced company trajectory inevitably causes some cross-functional disconnect - Ambiguity of internal career growth

      Dropbox2015-03-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dropbox full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -the security of a stable, name brand company -the excitement directly impacting the companie's trajectory -positive, caring culture

      Cons

      -lack of day-to-day structure -sometimes minimal training -"figure it out" mentality (all of these are not necessarily cons)

      Advice to Management

      Our management is the reason this company is so wonderful. It starts with Drew and Arash. I'm grateful to of had positive, supporting mentors here.

      Dropbox2014-12-12
    • "+++++++++"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inbound Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dropbox full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Aligned with mission: personally, I think it's nice to work in a company that is working to be successful without being an advertising company. For most, the constant obsession with improving the product and our internal procedures is probably the biggest draw. If you have a good idea, MGMT is very receptive to criticism of the status quo, and moves quickly to improve. Sense of ownership over work. -People: Biggest...

      Show More

      Cons

      The rate of change here is very fast -- which is great in many ways (rarely boring, easy to address flaws, etc) and is something I was attracted to at first. However, it is a bit hard to imagine what my career will look like a year out. Again, the unknowing is part of the charm, but can be a bit frustrating when you are trying to plan for the future. It's impossible to know what opportunities will arise (or disappear)

      Advice to Management

      Make sure culture scales with growth...clearer outlines of possible job openings / paths / promotions... not much else. Great job!

      Dropbox2014-12-10
    Found 26 reviews