DuPont Chemical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

DuPont Chemical Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DuPont CEO Edward D. Breen
Edward D. Breen
1 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and salaries, opportunities to travel globally, smart colleagues

    Cons

    Sometimes demanding, expect to work evenings and some weekends

    Advice to Management

    Focus on long term

    DuPont2017-12-06
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Chemical Engineering in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont

    Pros

    Great company to have multiple experiences. Compensation and benefits are at or above average. You can build a great career with a company like DuPont.

    Cons

    Company has some antiquated systems and management is not putting enough effort to fix these issue. Thought this is getting better the company seem too top heavy.

    Advice to Management

    Hold people more accountable for the job they should be doing

    DuPont2018-02-06
  3. "Chemical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and good team

    Cons

    Slow pace and poor management

    DuPont2017-09-15
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Most leaders are unable to build trust with their workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Quality co-workers. - Some job security for above average performers, but not much. - Core values to the extend they truly believe in them. - Good Vacation package.

    Cons

    - Massive layoffs announced through emails with a picture of the CEO smiling included on the email announcement. - Lack of opportunity for career advancement, massive layoffs have left very competitive candidates with very few job advancement opportunities. - More layoffs are coming after the merger with Dow which is supposed to be completed by October 2016. - Salary freezes for 2016 and no bonuses in 2016 while... CEO could earn $27 million in cash, stock and tax reimbursement payments in 2017 after the newly combined entity, dubbed DowDuPont, is broken up. Executive Vice President for DuPont's Agriculture division, James C. Collins' "golden parachute" could total as much as $16.5 million and C. Marc Doyle, executive vice president of several DuPont business lines, could earn as much as $13.7 million if he leaves. - Mood is depressing at the Chestnut Run Plaza headquarters. Sometimes hours go by without people talking to each other. - Information explaining why some major decisions are made take a long time to trickle down to employees creating more lack of trust with leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Speed of trust is low in the company. I have low trust expectations towards our leaders. Maybe work on true leadership and truly lead with core values, even when it is not convenient. Example: We have fired people for stealing toilet paper from our plant sites, yet our leaders have mislead some of our clients by telling them that our other DuPont plant sites don't have similar safety problems as the LaPorte... facility which had 4 fatalities on November 2014. It is ok to like money as long as you still love people... as long as...

    Show More
    DuPont2016-05-05
  5. "Chemical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning environment and good training usually.

    Cons

    Diversity is only on paper and the company should care about employees too and not the shareholders only. Pay raises should not be delayed or denied but that is happening. Black employees do not have proper representation as whites are mostly employed more than blacks hence a bias based working environment.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees well so you can stop losing them to other companies.

    DuPont2016-03-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "no long term future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer in Deepwater, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    had a good career, good opportunities, but that time is over

    Cons

    management is too short sighted, they'll destroy the future to make this quarter's profit objectives!

    Advice to Management

    quit

    DuPont2015-09-14
  7. "Great company to work for, for an engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer in Orange, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training activities. Organization is very lean and six sigma oriented. Engineers have a lot of upward mobility to look forward to

    Cons

    Cool things out in China. I wanted to work on some of the green energy initiatives but these things were out in China.

    Advice to Management

    Keep some exciting, belly firing innovations in USA.

    DuPont2015-08-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent work environment, good people, safety culture is top notch."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recognition for strong performance, fast track to management, opportunity to move up salary and responsibility. The company in general has a family type feel, and once you are "in" there are opportunities to find your best fit job type where you can be of most value.

    Cons

    Poor manufacturing discipline, low margin products mean bare bones staffing for some businesses, slow management of change process, corporate bureaucracy tends to prevent major changes being implemented. Currently DuPont is undergoing large scale changes in business sector and there will be uncertainty about location and job advancement for the next 5 years,

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance is overall quite good. DuPont treats employees fairly and with respect.

    DuPont2014-10-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience for young engineers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Chemical Engineer Co-Op in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, positive attitude, interesting work. Haven't been there long enough to judge management quality. They pay co-ops based on credits completed towards their degree which I believe is fair.

    Cons

    Very large, has bureaucratic safety policy that most big chemical companies have. If you work at a production site, the work environment can be hazardous.

    DuPont2014-10-03
  10. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Chemical Engineer in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great treatment of employees - Good pay - Great management & coworkers - Geared toward future growth - Future looks promising - Management is willing to green light projects. - Lots of expansion

    Cons

    - None enjoyed the experience

    Advice to Management

    - None

    DuPont2014-08-29
Found 15 reviews