DuPont Research Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor

DuPont Research Scientist Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
95%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
DuPont Interim Chairman and CEO Edward D. Breen
Edward D. Breen
4 Ratings
  1. "Great company where I received 7 of my 10 patents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    DuPont Experimental Station had flex hours. There was an ability to set work experience in relationship to their products.

    Cons

    Work hours in the middle of the night were required for production of some products. This was due to the need for immediately problem solving.

    Continue reading
    DuPont2012-11-19
  2. "Research Scientis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Scientist in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    improve salary and benefits for employees

    DuPont2016-08-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Company been going in the wrong direction would no hope ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time

    Pros

    open culture, regular hours, smart coworkers

    Cons

    no clear path for promotions, no career development, management not open to or producing new project ideas, research is plug and chug and not novel, constantly bleeding talent, raises are minimal and have been cut recently with bonuses, no accountability of management, too much bureaucracy, and no onsite HR

    Continue reading
    DuPont2016-06-14
  4. "Can't survive on past successes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mixture of technologies, certain projects can really change the world for the better.

    Cons

    After 2 years with the company I interviewed for a great management position. After multiple interviews I felt very good about the opportunity. Unfortunately, my boss gave a poor review of me to the hiring manager, even though I had fantastic year-end reviews each year. I guess she didn't want me to leave and ensured that I didn't. The company has been in a worsening turmoil for at least the past 8 years. Things have gotten so bad that the company had to borrow one week's worth of salary from it's employees (interest free). The health insurance is the worst I've ever experienced in 20 years of work. In April 2016, the company switched payroll vendors after a major layoff. Many people were not given their promised paychecks (please google this to find out more).

    Continue reading
    DuPont2016-04-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Changing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has always been a scientifically stimulating and challenging (in a good way) environment. Great people doing great team work on projects that lead to new products/processes aimed at environmental sustainability.

    Cons

    Upper management seems to be more interested in keeping major shareholder happy (not that there's anything particularly negative about that) than staffing projects sufficiently. But then downsizing is the new CEO's specialty.

    Continue reading
    DuPont2016-03-11
  6. "Former employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company with strong safety culture. Great colleagues to work with. Strong legacy of innovation resulting in many major innovative products

    Cons

    Poor leadership and management structure . Company lacked Ability to hold people accountable and make difficult decisions to improve profitability. Was easier to sell off parts of the business, than trim the fat and make the business successful

    DuPont2016-03-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "The end is near"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Facility is in Santa Barbara. Great people working in PDL. Great 401K

    Cons

    Senior leadership missed the boat!!! Believed in their tecknology and didn't pay attention to the market which was going a different direction! Now starting to layoff good people (some of my friends) while they remain fat a happy. Just waiting for my number to be packed maybe have 7 to 9 months. Its a shame. But this seems to be the SOP for DuPont Corp as a whole.

    Continue reading
    DuPont2015-07-30
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Industrial Biotech conglomerate offering experience but no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting technology Trying to "green" the economy Great culture in Palo Alto

    Cons

    No growth opportunities Management cares more about saving money (at everyones expense) instead of investing into new platforms or its employees Old boys club mentality No concrete information on how to get promoted or get good annual reviews

    Continue reading
    DuPont2014-10-06
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Good run for 18 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, work-life balance, most people are good to work with. Great place to work if you work in agriculture and industrial biosciences.

    Cons

    Poor career development - one is on there own here, leadership does not help at all. Leadership quality is highly variable - the company does not do a good job of developing people with leadership potential. Slow decision making processes. This is due to a lack of empowerment at all levels. Too many people are involved in the decision processes and too much consensus is required to get to a decision. DuPont is in the process of transforming itself from a material science company into a agricultural/industrial biosciences based company. As such opportunities and job security for material scientists are becoming scarce.

    Continue reading
    DuPont2014-01-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Scientist in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont

    Pros

    The environment at DuPont is wonderful and many of my colleagues are also very good friends. You feel that the company actually cares about their employees and does everything that they can to ensure a non-competitive environment. The quality of research is very high and the programs are challenging.

    Cons

    There is always bureaucracy in large corporations, which is certainly an issue at DuPont. Things take longer than they should, but they eventually still get done.

    DuPont2011-10-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews