Dublin Business School Reviews | Glassdoor

Dublin Business School Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
26%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Dublin Business School Executive Dean Andrew Conlon-Trant (no image)
Andrew Conlon-Trant
10 Ratings
  1. "full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Dublin, Dublin
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dublin Business School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    always far away from management.

    Cons

    very slow work environment not alot to do

    Dublin Business School2020-02-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "DBS Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analytics Assistant Lecturer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dublin Business School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay rate is good but you need to be a really skilled in what you teach.

    Cons

    Hours were less and no chance to get a permanent position

    Dublin Business School2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Part time lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lecturer 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dublin Business School part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is such a collegial atmosphere between lecturers . The opened space work environment encourages great communication . Some of the old timers tend to dominate the room and talk incessantly at times. Don’t they have a lecture to go to or preparations for their contents ?

    Cons

    There is a toxic culture at the core; favouritism, intimidation, sexism, bullying, dishonest part time lecturers stealing notes. Administration is more important than faculty -academics. You spend too much time doing admin jobs rather than doing your job; educating ... So you maybe totally ignorant without degrees but end up doing loads of hours because you flirt with operations department. The HR is totally incompetent and lacks human skills.

    Continue reading
    Dublin Business School2019-12-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dublin Business School full-time

    Pros

    good place to work there

    Cons

    bad bad bad bad bad

    Dublin Business School2019-07-19
  5. "Review of Dublin Business School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Assistant 

    I worked at Dublin Business School full-time

    Pros

    Good staff to work with

    Cons

    Low pay for current role

    Dublin Business School2019-06-28
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic management bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dublin Business School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Frontline staff and students

    Cons

    Micromanaging incompetent leadership - can't let experienced academics do their jobs. Neglectful HR -they've completed positive reviews here berating complaining staff while knowing the poor internal staff morale and low scores on staff surveys. No progression or pay rises - not even to match inflation. No respect or recognition of quality staff or good practice - performance reviews don't go anywhere unless negative. Lack of student focus from management - increasing fees and reducing resources to Frontline staff. Bullying - a number of staff have taken cases.

    Continue reading
    Dublin Business School2019-05-20
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dublin Business School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people in there are really nice and good to work with.

    Cons

    Management, the lack of academics in higher roles, pay is lower than your average college, benefits.

    Continue reading
    Dublin Business School2019-05-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Low morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dublin Business School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good colleagues, centre of town

    Cons

    Management treat staff badly and no training opportunities or HR support

    Continue reading
    Dublin Business School2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Overall a very poor experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dublin Business School full-time

    Pros

    Some staff members were nice to work with . Good location. Nice customers

    Cons

    Felt micro-managed. During my time there I received no feedback on my performance and felt very much ignored and just told to complete tasks. No opportunity to get involved in projects or development. I tried to ask questions to aid my development but was often told not to worry myself with that and get on with work. No support or feedback from manager. Only pressure to work fast. The only feedback that was received was negative criticism for making mistakes however received no guidance or support on how to perform tasks.

    Continue reading
    Dublin Business School2019-04-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Advice - Don't work for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dublin Business School full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to the company

    Cons

    The company advertise a certain salary expectations but offer way less. They micro manage so much. There is no progression in the company. They never give pay increases. I feel they you are just a number to them, they have no respect for employees. You never get praise for your work instead the manager takes all the praise.

    Dublin Business School2019-02-28
Found 32 reviews